Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Stages/Hens thread

• 11-04-2011 5:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭

So there's about 15-20 of us landing down for the weekend. I'd like to organize something on the Saturday morning that doesn't involve getting pissed (just for an hour or two :pac:)

Go Karting was an idea but they're all booked out til 17:30 which means that's out the window

Any suggestions?

• Registered Users Posts: 48 NiCiarain

You could try clay pigeon shooting, I think the Glenlo Abbey do it...try their website....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Pure Skill in Knocknacarra seems really good, and appropriate for a stag;)!

http://pureskill.ie/
    What is Pure Skill?
    Pure Skill is the first of its kind in the world. Spanning over 25, 000 Sq Ft the facility offers you a wide selection of sports from all around the world for everyone to enjoy. Come into our sports arena which is split into two main sections, the Pure Skill Circuit and the Pure Skill Interactive Sports room.

In the main Circuit area, you compete over a selection of 10 sports from around the world including, Gaelic, Soccer, Hurling, Rugby, Tennis, Cricket, Baseball, Basketball, Golf Putting and Golf Chipping. Using fully automated technology via your own swipe card, you can gear up for over an hour of non stop action! Upon arrival you receive your own scorecard so you can always aim to improve your skill the next time you visit Pure Skill.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Group of lads goin to Galway for stag weekend? Any ideas good things happening, best pubs etc, obviously we wont be doing much taxi-ing around so city centre would be best please.

cheers everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

As you may suspect this comes up quite often in this forum :)
    You can use the search feature top right on the forum page and search for "stag", it'll give you these hits

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

or we can sum it up.

King's Head or Skeff to start.
    Bierhaus for a fancy pint.
    Strip club.
    Casino across the road.
    Strip Club again.
    Roisin Dubh til close or one of our fine nightclubs (if that's what you're after).
    Cheeky few tins or bottle of wine wandering the streets.
    Charcoal Grill / Supermacs.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭melonstar

We are going to a Hen Party this weekend in Galway for 2 nights. We have Saturday day and night planned. We need somewhere for dinner on Fri evening and pubs/late bars to go to. Can anyone recommend some places? I know the Quays, Taafes, Naughtons and Kings Head. Would most pubs be Hen friendly?

Pubs/bars, just stick to Shop Street - many bars there for Hens.
    Eat, McSwiggans or Tamarind are good for large groups.
    They are located on either end of Shop Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

Was in the Tamarind 2 weeks ago for my cousins hen night, i can't recommend it enough. The food was divine and they also had a great offer, 3 courses for €30!

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

+1 for Tamarind & they also have cocktails.

Or you could head to the g hotel for cocktails also.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Any lookers in the party?

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭celty

Now, now, Red Wake ... she's hardly going to tell you that all her friends are ugly. Or married. Or psychopaths.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭melonstar

Have booked Tamarind, thanks for the recommendation :)

Red Wake - I'm the only one ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭fatlog

I'm going on a stags to Galway and was wondering if anyone would know of a pub around Eyre Sq that might do a BBQ for the whole group on the Saturday evening.

Plus (and i know this is on a few other threads) and good suggestions for things to do that aren't too far out from the city center.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

fatlog wrote: »

I'm going on a stags to Galway and was wondering if anyone would know of a pub around Eyre Sq that might do a BBQ for the whole group on the Saturday evening.

Plus (and i know this is on a few other threads) and good suggestions for things to do that aren't too far out from the city center.

http://www.crowesbar.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 6 colemantw

Hi folks,

Firstly my apologies in advance for not alone the fact that this has been topic has been done to death and also that I live in Galway so I should know but as times change with the fun recession and stuff, what are the stag night friendly bars in Galway that would be happy to take money off sixteen lads dressed as pirates this weekend?

The ones I can think of are Quays, Buscar Browns, Coyotees, Kings Head, Front Door (possibly), the Townhouse and Monroes (possibly)? Are there any other options that I'm forgetting?

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭xo.mary

Club K and Fibbers are stag friendly.

Normally I would recommend the Stage Door, but I think that's actually been shut down, hasn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

The Dáil is stag friendly too. The time I was there a few months back it was a good laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Normally I would recommend the Stage Door, but I think that's actually been shut down, hasn't it?
    The former Stage Door is now Muddy Mahers.
    Coyotes is definitely stag friendly.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Muppet2006

Where would be a good place to go for cocktails for a hen party. My partying days are long gone so haven't a clue but organising for a friend. Any other suggestions? Wouldn't by typical bunch of hens-not looking to get plastered but would like a good time. Something a little different from your run of the mill hen. Not confined to city either.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Muppet2006 wrote: »
    Where would be a good place to go for cocktails for a hen party. My partying days are long gone so haven't a clue but organising for a friend. Any other suggestions? Wouldn't by typical bunch of hens-not looking to get plastered but would like a good time. Something a little different from your run of the mill hen. Not confined to city either.
    Think the G Hotel do a fancy cocktail menu if ye can stretch to it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PennyLane88

or we can sum it up.

King's Head or Skeff to start.
    Bierhaus for a fancy pint.
    Strip club.
    Casino across the road.
    Strip Club again.
    Roisin Dubh til close or one of our fine nightclubs (if that's what you're after).
    Cheeky few tins or bottle of wine wandering the streets.
    Charcoal Grill / Supermacs.

:pac: Apart from the strip club, i would say that's a very accurate night out in Galway for me! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PennyLane88

Muppet2006 wrote: »

Kellys do nice cocktails as well, down on Cross Street (used to be The Living Room)

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Seamu$

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    Pure Skill in Knocknacarra seems really good, and appropriate for a stag;)!

http://pureskill.ie/

[/B]

+1 Have to say I really enjoyed Pureskill. Great craic for a few hours during the day...especially if you're a bit competitive!

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭maggie_cork

Hi

Im am planning a hen for my sister in march and i was hoping to go to galway
    but im wondering is galway a bit anti hen?
    will we get in places?
    we will be a group of 18 people. 23-45years.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,684 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Similar type thread was started a few months ago regarding stags/hens.
    Might be worth a look.
    Link here.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Hi

Im am planning a hen for my sister in march and i was hoping to go to galway
    but im wondering is galway a bit anti hen?
    will we get in places?
    we will be a group of 18 people. 23-45years.
    I don't think there's anywhere that is anti party women. With the way things are they'll be happy to see ye coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭frecklier

I was at a hen last summer in Galway. Think there were around 20 of us. We got an area reserved for us in the House Hotel for drinks, and another area reserved for us in a nightclub - might have been Halo. I'm not sure if whowever booked it actually said it was a hen night, might have said it was a birthday. But we had no hassle at all.
    We booked our meal in Cava, and my only complaint would be that when we went in, they had us at two separate tables. Our sergent-major-type bridesmaid soon got them to join the tables, though they didn't really want to.