Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Best way to display a website to client before going live

Options
  • 10-10-2014 12:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭

Hi all, I'm developing a website and I'm new to web hosting and deployment etc. Just wondering what's the best way to display the site online so it can be tried out? I want to be able to prototype it and show it to the client (who lives in a different country) and have him comment and give me feedback on it before it goes live.

I'm sure this is a common scenario, so does anyone know the best way to do this? Maybe some web hosting companies offer a trial where I could upload the site and have a hidden / temporary url before the site goes live? This could be standard practice I have no idea, so any tips appreciated :)

TIA

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 874 ✭✭✭devildriver

I tend to go for a very simple approach.

If your site is www.mysite.com

I will usually have a holding page at:

mysite.com/index.html

and the preview of the site for the client at:

mysite.com/hardtoguessurl.html

or something similar if you see what I mean.

Nobody without the actual url will be able to see it and if you are concerned about search engines then modify your robots.txt file.

Hope that helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Some_randomer