Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Sherlock confirms that ‘Irish SOPA’ has been signed into law

• Registered Users Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

bubblefett wrote: »
    Picture uploaded by a hero on Sherlocks facebook

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/64098_10150593905632399_637447398_9468793_1733713046_n.jpg

Don't worry, it's not copywritten

clearly stolen from me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

So, I'd just like to get one this straight. Will it still be alright to watch porn without the government finding out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Spoonman75

A great quote from that facebook page that made me snort into my tea:

[/B]

There's alot of great quotes.

Including this on Febuary 22 from some group calling themselves "Anonymous"

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sean-Sherlock-TD/185032148201312

• Registered Users Posts: 608 ✭✭✭chocksaway

So, I'd just like to get one this straight. Will it still be alright to watch porn without the government finding out?
    the burning question that needs to be answered! heard the other day that 1/3 of the internet is porn... they can hardly monitor all of it :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

bubblefett wrote: »
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Sean-Sherlock-TD/185032148201312

His official facebook page is taking a battering

It certainly is, and rightly so, but then I suppose with his chances of being re-elected virtually nil right now he is gonna go with as big a splash as possible!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Spoonman75 wrote: »
    There's alot of great quotes.

Including this on Febuary 22 from some group calling themselves "Anonymous"

Including my own letter a few posts back. Made me giggle :pac:

There won't be any free copyrighted material left.

You'll have to film and upload your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

A great quote from that facebook page that made me snort into my tea:

[/B]

That was me. I'd credit you, but putting -fluorescence at the end doesn't make sense. And I don't want to mention Boards, as I wouldn't like to cause any potential legal troubles. I'll delete the post if you like!

ottostreet wrote: »
    That was me. I'd credit you, but putting -fluorescence at the end doesn't make sense. And I don't want to mention Boards, as I wouldn't like to cause any potential legal troubles. I'll delete the post if you like!

No it's grand, I said anyone could use it :D It just made me laugh because I noticed all the grammar mistakes I made :pac:

I couldn't have written it any better!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

The ECJ once again rule intermediaries cannot be held responsible for monitoring or filtering content (this time in specific relation to Social Networks).

EU Court of Justice: Social Networks Can’t Be Forced to Monitor and Filter to Prevent Copyright Infringement

Another ruling that completely and explicitly demonstrates that this legislation is not in accordance with the intention of the EU despite what Sherlock says.

Seachmall wrote: »
    The ECJ once again rule intermediaries are not responsible for monitoring or filtering content (this time in specific relation to Social Networks).

EU Court of Justice: Social Networks Can’t Be Forced to Monitor and Filter to Prevent Copyright Infringement

Another ruling that completely and explicitly demonstrates that this legislation is not in accordance with EU law despite what Sherlock says.

He hasn't a clue what he's on about - it's painfully obvious from his comments to the media.

• Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Paypal's going to love this (even if it's not directly affecting them, they'll see what kind of decisions - whether it's right for the people or not - go through in Ireland).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Funny that there's no mention of any of this on the News section of his site.
    He won't get voted in again, but he'll sit of a few quango boards that require a week a year of actual work. He'll get something out of this.

My parents just watched the 9 o clock news, and were blissfully unaware of what's going on. It's criminal how much this has been kept hush hush. Not that the RTE demographic would really give a **** what happens to the Internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

RIP Sean Sherlock's career. I'm guessing his constituency office will have a riot outside it soon.

smash wrote: »
    RIP Sean Sherlock's career. I'm guessing his constituency office will have a riot outside it soon.

Have you seen the comments on his Facebook page yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Internet threats are all very well, but won't make any difference.

What "we" have to do is target the re-election chances of politicians who go against the wishes of the people. For example, I'd be willing to put my hand in my pocket to donate to a google ad campaign reminding voters of what he has done. People in his constituency need to get out and canvass for his opponents.

I've noting personal against the guy, but unless a politician feels an electoral impact for going against a group of people it won't make a blind bit of difference to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Let the exodus of IT jobs and companies begin.

Sure it's not like his supporters and voters in Cork need IT jobs

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0229/blizzard.html

The games company Blizzard Entertainment is to seek around 200 redundancies from the 880 people it employs in Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

anyone have this lads address / home phone number / car reg, I think they need to be posted....just for the craic like

edit, im sure this is his office but :

Address:
    Davis Lane
    Mallow
    Co. Cork

Tel:
    Phone: 022-53523

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Have you seen the comments on his Facebook page yet?

Yea I saw them. To be honest I don't think people should wait for an election. This crowd should be forced out. Enough is enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

Yea I saw them. To be honest I don't think people should wait for an election. This crowd should be forced out. Enough is enough.
    It would be a good idea to force them out if there was an alternative. Fianna Fail are an evil shower of psychopaths, and Sinn Fein/ULA are idealists with some terrible ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

That's what I was partially referring to.
    I wonder if it's possible for them to actually back out at this stage. Not saying they should (as people wouldn't get jobs, and might lose jobs they already have in some sectors that they've already populated), but that - or something similar - is probably the only thing that'd actually get these fools to realise the problems with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Haelium wrote: »
    It would be a good idea to force them out if there was an alternative. Fianna Fail are an evil shower of psychopaths, and Sinn Fein/ULA are idealists with some terrible ideas.

Could we just pull 160 randomers off the street, and hire one of them full time to shout "CHANGE PLACES!" when we need a new government?

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

Sent Sean this lovely email just now. I wonder will he ignore it?
    Hi Sean, it's great to see politicians doing what they do best - ignoring the people who have elected them. The vast majority of ordinary, everyday Irish people did NOT want this law signed, and very many people have objected to it, yet you ignored all the complaints and signed it in to law anyway.

Thanks to you I have lost any inkling of faith or trust that I might have had in the Irish political system and Irish politicians. You, and your cronies in Leinster house are very obviously NOT working in our advantage. It amazes me how quick you are to sign in to law an EU directive, which is not actually necessary to be in compliance with Europe, purely because it benefits the politicians and the 'big business'.

Yet Ireland ratified the UN Conventions on the Rights of the Child in 1992, and have to date FAILED to give children rights beyond the right to education, in this country. Governments have failed to legislate for legal abortions on the grounds of risk of suicide in the past 20 years. These are issues which affect normal, everyday people, and we have consistently been neglected and ignored by governments. And that's totally ignoring the current recession that we are going through.

Ireland in 2012 isn't a great place to live in, it's not even close to being a very good place to live in. Our education system is getting worse, our public health care system is a joke, and the private health care system is going down that route as well. The morale of the people of Ireland hasn't been this low in years. The Irish people's faith in the government is at 35% as of January, but your actions have more than likely decrased that trust even further.

I only wish that the people of Ireland could vote 'no confidence' in their government, because I have absolutely no confidence in you, or the rest of the government at this time. I really hope you read this, and take even some of what I have said to heart. Please stop ignoring the people of Ireland. We gave you your job. We pay you for the job you do for us. And we can take that job away from you at the next election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Dostoevsky wrote: »
    Unfortunately, this will be shown to be true. No doubt about that. But both sides would have been offering it.

There is no balance of power within the government that reality only bit me arse yesterday when i was watching Adams stand alone in questioning the upcoming referendum.

hmmm wrote: »
    Internet threats are all very well, but won't make any difference.

What "we" have to do is target the re-election chances of politicians who go against the wishes of the people. For example, I'd be willing to put my hand in my pocket to donate to a google ad campaign reminding voters of what he has done. People in his constituency need to get out and canvass for his opponents.

I've noting personal against the guy, but unless a politician feels an electoral impact for going against a group of people it won't make a blind bit of difference to them.

Agreed. The 80,000 concerned citizens (registered voters) including myself who signed the online petition won't forget this. And I don't mean just Sherlock himself. I'm talking any Labour candidate that canvasses to me. The Labour Party can go to hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Why dont we protest to have him out of government?

There's a resign page after going up!