Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Tallaght not as bad as you think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

bumper2k11 wrote: »
    To all those slagging Tallaght i have lived here all my life and you will only get attack in Tallaght if you arnt from here and they dont like you like all those from Clontarf and those posh areas like that so dont bad mouth Tallaght when yous know nothing about it Clontarf is not so good its self with all the drugs and all like evreywhere else so but out most of us in Tallaght are lovely people and dont come near us if you are going to bad mouth us !!!!!!!!!

So basically, if you're not from Tallaght you'll get beaten up ? Talk about shooting yourself in the foot.
    hobochris wrote: »
    Having lived in Tallaght and Blackrock, I prefer the people in Tallaght,they are nice and friendly, as apposed to the ignorant, ill mannered, ****wads I encounter on a daily basis(In this supposedly better part of the city).These supposedly superior people(in their own minds) would step over a person having a heart attack, if it meant they could get to an appointment to have the stick pushed further up their own arses a few moments sooner.

Blackrock would be a nice place to live if it wasn't for the people.

Here, that's not fair. I lived in Blackrock for a long time and the people are honestly fine, no better or no worse than anywhere else. There's always going to be pricks but they're everywhere. I'm suprised you've had such an experience. I'm really getting fed up of this' working class/salt of the earth people are so much friendlier and more helpful than middle class people' attitude. The biggest dicks I know come Killinarden and Finglas but I'm not going to plaster the whole area's as a bunch of unfriendly arseholes as a result.

I find this sort of reverse snobbery a lot more common in Dublin than the original.

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

Here, that's not fair. I lived in Blackrock for a long time and the people are honestly fine, no better or no worse than anywhere else. There's always going to be pricks but they're everywhere. I'm suprised you've had such an experience. I'm really getting fed up of this' working class/salt of the earth people are so much friendlier and more helpful than middle class people' attitude. The biggest dicks I know come Killinarden and Finglas but I'm not going to plaster the whole area's as a bunch of unfriendly arseholes as a result.

I find this sort of reverse snobbery a lot more common in Dublin than the original.

So agreed.

I'm from a pretty 'posh' area of Dublin and have, on a few occasions, come across this.
    I'm in ucd and went to a party before with one of my friends from my class. She lives on the northside of Dublin and I was staying her house. Honestly, some of her friends were absolutely obnoxious to me. Constantly mimicking and slagging my accent, making fun of me, etc. We were in the taxi and I asked how much it was gonna be each and one of the girls goes "why the hell are you asking, aren't you from foxrocccck". And another girl goes (totally serious) "we usually wouldn't hang about with someone like you".

The point was though that it wasn't in a funny' slagging way. It was in a genuinely bitter nasty way and one point my friend actually took me into the bathroom and was apologising to me.
    Funnily enough, it was only (of few of) her girl-friends that were nasty to me. Pretty much all the guys were really nice.

I want to point out also that I don't have a horribly 'd4' accent or anything like that.
    I just thought "God, I would never be that obnoxious". And honestly, where I'm from, I don't think anyone would ever treat someone from the northside (I know i'm generalising) like that. Admitedly, they might say it behind their back (which is arguably worse), but I've never seen such outright bullying when it comes to accents/backround.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

stovelid wrote: »
    Bit of a draconian sentence just for wearing PJs? Did they have skids in them?

string of assaults and robberies and she had a heroin addiction, she was really nice to me but she was a dangerous manic,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

YUP YUP, RUN AMOK, TALLAGHT LADS DON'T GIVE A ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Heard some awful stories about this place. Was told it was a dreadful place to live in.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,614 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Rocket19 wrote: »
    So agreed.

I'm from a pretty 'posh' area of Dublin and have, on a few occasions, come across this.
    I'm in ucd and went to a party before with one of my friends from my class. She lives on the northside of Dublin and I was staying her house. Honestly, some of her friends were absolutely obnoxious to me. Constantly mimicking and slagging my accent, making fun of me, etc. We were in the taxi and I asked how much it was gonna be each and one of the girls goes "why the hell are you asking, aren't you from foxrocccck". And another girl goes (totally serious) "we usually wouldn't hang about with someone like you".

The point was though that it wasn't in a funny' slagging way. It was in a genuinely bitter nasty way and one point my friend actually took me into the bathroom and was apologising to me.
    Funnily enough, it was only (of few of) her girl-friends that were nasty to me. Pretty much all the guys were really nice.

I want to point out also that I don't have a horribly 'd4' accent or anything like that.
    I just thought "God, I would never be that obnoxious". And honestly, where I'm from, I don't think anyone would ever treat someone from the northside (I know i'm generalising) like that. Admitedly, they might say it behind their back (which is arguably worse), but I've never seen such outright bullying when it comes to accents/backround.

Yes yes,

But are you a little rocket ?? Wahey ! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Everywhere has its bad parts - end of!

I've lived in Tallaght for 5 months now and I like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Heard some awful stories about this place. Was told it was a dreadful place to live in.

;) Says keith from the north of Ireland :D

Keith in all fairness there are still parts of the six counties that would make kabul look like a good tourist destination.

listermint wrote: »
    Yes yes,

But are you a little rocket ?? Wahey ! :D

Psssssssh. What's with everyone and thinking the rocket thing is dirty. Psssh.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,614 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Psssssssh. What's with everyone and thinking the rocket thing is dirty. Psssh.

i never said dirty, I said rocket :P

Tallaght is a huge suburban area, and I kid you not there is talk of making it a city in the future, like all sprawling suburbs it has its problems,no better no worse than a lot of similar places.Haven'T got a problem going there what so ever, any part of it.

listermint wrote: »
    i never said dirty, I said rocket :P

Ha! Touché.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Heard on the radio the Dominos Pizza in Tallaght is the most profitable branch IN THE WORLD per head of population. Nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,584 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Lorrs33 wrote: »
    A town shouldn't be judged just because it has scumbags, you're going to get them everywhere. So tell me what it is.

Scumbags!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

realies wrote: »
    Keith in all fairness there are still parts of the six counties that would make kabul look like a good tourist destination.
    I don't agree. Its lovely up here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

My former servant boy came from there, a jolly sort but always had his eye on my gold framed picasso.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

My former servant boy came from there, a jolly sort but always had his eye on my gold framed picasso.

Sounds more like you had your eye on his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,215 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm really getting fed up of this' working class/salt of the earth people are so much friendlier and more helpful than middle class people' attitude.
    And it's bloody patronising too - "Ah in fairness, most people I know from Finglas are salt of the earth". What the hell does "salt of the earth" mean? Sounds really condescending.
    My brother lived in Ringsend, old-skool inner city Dublin, up to recently and had initially expected it to have a lovely sense of community etc but found it really unfriendly and clannish - not "rough", nothing like that, an overall nice area, but unwelcoming to blow-ins. "Stuck-up" he said, which is normally something you'd associate with posh people. Now he's moved to Dundrum and expected it to be awfully snobby and way more unfriendly, but it's actually a lot friendlier.
    The vibe of an area is determined by varying stuff, not just "social class".

Yeah, I know that people from areas with a bad rep can get an awful, unforgivable doing, but in other contexts middle-class people (not snobby twats) are seen as fair game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭lifelongnoob

ive been to tallaght...it is as bad as i think but not as bad as clondalkin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

Had a pint or three in Clondalkin village last night. Used to socialise there quite regularly several years ago.

It was fine then, and it was fine last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

This is one of the funniest posts I've ever read. Obviously written by a pure bread scumbag. Very difficult to read as it is so illegible but basically saying Tallaght is a grand place just as long as you're not from there and find yourself there for whatever reason..then your fuc.ked.....the irony!

Fair play bumper, at least ye knackers have a sense of humour..

"pure bread scumbag"? This from an eejit who can't even spell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

I agree, Tallafornia is a lot better than the grey towns, sectarian estates, backward attitudes and economic black hole that is northern Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

So agreed.

I'm sure the irony of the fact that discriminating against you based on perceived class was an act of snobbery was lost on these morons.

However, as northsider living on the northside I naturally have a fair few northside mates. Some of these go or went to Trinity and UCD and have told me about cliques of stereotypical southside rich kids who'll have absolutely nothing to do with anyone who hails from a particular side of the Liffey. It certainly does work both ways; I guess one's more inclined to pick up on prejudice when it's levelled against them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Omg Clondalkin is far worse than Tallaght, I don't know one person from Clondalkin who isn't a scumbag!

It's sad though because It's just my generation, I'm sure the elderly in these places are lovely people

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Clondalkin is not that bad. I can tell you the other ****eholes of dublin are far worse, i.e tallaght, crumlin and the whole of the northside.

Clondalkin village is a great place to have a few pints. the scanger population is very low and the pubs have good standards.

Clondalkin is not that bad. I can tell you the other ****eholes of dublin are far worse, i.e tallaght, crumlin and the whole of the northside.

Listen to the Clondalkin head giving it the large wan on boards :rolleyes:
    the scanger population is very low and the pubs have good standards.

Lol. I can't believe you're refering to Clondalkin in the above quote !:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Im blaaaaaaaaeeeeeeeeeeeeden booooooooouuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrsten for a h'Yooiyt!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    Lol. I can't believe you're refering to Clondalkin in the above quote !:D

Go into any clondalkin pub on the weekend and count how many people you see in tracksuits / stripy tops/ baseball caps or looking like their about to take a bat to you for 'looking at them'. you wont find any little toe rags like that. All the pubs have been refurbished over the last few years and are a pleasure to drink in.

I cant say the same for any other suburb in Dublin.

Go into any clondalkin pub on the weekend and count how many people you see in tracksuits / stripy tops/ baseball caps or looking like their about to take a bat to you for 'looking at them'. you wont find any little toe rags like that. All the pubs have been refurbished over the last few years and are a pleasure to drink in.

I cant say the same for any other suburb in Dublin.

Nine times out of ten when I drive into Clondalkin there's always guards about...they're there for a reason. I'm not been judgemental but I am stating a fact. Don't get me wrong - I have a few friends in Clondalkin and they're sound (some of them) but the stuff they get upto I wouldn't really be into! Most of them are boy racers who intimidate other drivers...hang out in the local estates performing rings and whatnot.

If I told my parents I was going to Quinlans or somewhere on a night out - they'd freak! Understandably so...as I said it's all about it's reputation and Clondalkin defo doesn't have the best one going...