Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal people drive like LUNATICS-says Gay Bryne

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

amacca wrote: »
    either that or someone comes up with a reality show where unwanted retired "personalities" are put in a gigantic blender when they say they are going to retire from public life and subsequently dont.

If Donegal drivers are such lunatics then I'd much prefer a show where Gaybo has to walk slowly along the back roads and boreens of Donegal on dark, rainy nights dressed all in black.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Obviously it's a sweeping generalisation and Aunty Gaybo is a little bit out of touch generally, but he has a point.
    Younger Donegal folk tend to be mad about their cars and drive around the ****ty roads like wannabe rally drivers.
    Donegal must have some of the most dangerous roads in the country.
    People shouldn't be so sensitive about how it was phrased.
    The public figure for road safety in this country has issued concern about the observations he has made about Donegal drivers, and you can't really argue the point if you've driven in rural parts of Donegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Maldesu

If Donegal drivers are such lunatics then I'd much prefer a show where Gaybo has to walk slowly along the back roads and boreens of Donegal on dark, rainy nights dressed all in black.

Sure they won't see him if he dressed all in black. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭amacca

Obviously it's a sweeping generalisation and Aunty Gaybo is a little bit out of touch generally, but he has a point.
    Younger Donegal folk tend to be mad about their cars and drive around the ****ty roads like wannabe rally drivers.
    Donegal must have some of the most dangerous roads in the country.
    People shouldn't be so sensitive about how it was phrased.
    The public figure for road safety in this country has issued concern about the observations he has made about Donegal drivers, and you can't really argue the point if you've driven in rural parts of Donegal.

yeah yeah....but enough about that and back to the Gay Byrne bashing!

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Salt001

Ok so Gay is generalising a bit but he has a point and here is another generalisation, its not just in Donegal that people drive like lunatics.
    People in rural areas all over Ireland drive like lunatics, some on roads that aren't fit to take a donkey never mind a car going at stupid kph.
    They know the roads like the back of their hand so therefore they drive like they are on a formula one race track.
    They are not all boy racers either :mad:.
    Although the brat that speeded up yesterday and swerved towards me as I struggled to get myself and the dog up on to a ditch was :mad::mad::mad:.
    He thought it was funny :confused::confused::confused:.
    Do these gob****es ever watch the news and see all the fatalities that are happening due to idiots behind the wheels of cars.
    No of course they don't or if they do they think it will never happen to them because they know what they are doing and they are world class drivers :rolleyes:.
    Sorry for the rant but it really drives me insane :mad::(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

urban areas too ^^^^^^

I'm thinking Howth Hill in Dublin at night and also the N6 in Ballybrit in Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

I heard the gaybo say a few years ago you cant beat the dort, all you do is sit there without a care in the world, no problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

amacca wrote: »
    yeah yeah....but enough about that and back to the Gay Byrne bashing!

Feckin right.

Seeing as hes managed to lose his dosh twice, he won't be fucking off any time soon.

Plus I blame him for Joe Duffy.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Salt001

If you thought too much about the kinds of idiots that are out there on the roads you would never get into a car again .:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Donegal has an awful lot of road accidents for it's population.

Gaybo's not wrong here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Piss off gay byrne ya oul establishment prick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

I think hes right i remember being in donegal town some years back one summer,and it was dreadful,all souped up cars revving up their engines at night youd swear they were planes about to take off the speeds they were going..Youd only hear them at night and i remember not sleeping very well hearing all that noise..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭amacca

Nodin wrote: »
    Feckin right.

Seeing as hes managed to lose his dosh twice, he won't be fucking off any time soon.

Plus I blame him for Joe Duffy.

and you'd be right......Joe Duffy is his illegitimate love child from a relationship with a travailing circus curiosity act:eek:

whom he never taught how to shave or even present a radio show properly

tis shockin Joe, shockin what ya went through!...our thoughts and prayers are with you on this cold wet evening

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

WTF!:confused: So you spent a month there one weekend?

Fúck, have you managed to manipulate the space-time continuum? Because that's much bigger than the higgs-boson imo.
    Is your favourite car a Ford Escort?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

There is an element of truth in that. The boys racers are complete gob****es.

All this complaining about bad roads, yet (take the back roads out of the equation) the roads are no worse than other areas of the country, road to Sligo - Derry is sound. That complaint is often a cop out

Why do the cops do damn all. The boy racers blantly meet up on Sunday night without any pretence and speed around the LetterKenny to Derry Road
    Try and take a spin on the roads in west Donegal and then come back to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

pragmatic1 wrote: »

Inishown as well, no National Roads at all in a region probably about the same size as Louth or Carlow.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

paddy147 wrote: »
    Gay Byrne is live on TV3 right now,and hes absolutely lambasting Donegal People,and claiming that they are the worst drivers in Ireland and drive like "lunatics".

Well done Gay Byrne,great way to make friends with Donegal people......:eek::D:D

he's no lyin though...

if you're not speeding in donegal, prepare to be rear ended...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Behind those twee little accents, who'd a thunk there sits an utter maniac behind teh wheel

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

I didnt think that hot water/coolant gave off "smoke"???;)

I dont know who worse in that video..the young lad or the 2 gardai.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Never buy a second hand DL reg

Though plenty of the cute hoor locals are on yellow regs while complaining about being the forgotten county

I'm not sure if the above comment is accurate as I purchased a DL reg car 2 years ago and I never had a problem with it as it's still running great and it's a very reliable one, never let me down. It all depends on the previous owner/owners on how they looked after it, not because it has a DL reg.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭Markcheese

K-9 wrote: »

Inishown as well, no National Roads at all in a region probably about the same size as Louth or Carlow.

No natioal road because of the small, relatively dispersed population, and yet it's synonymous with young lads dying on the roads --- And yes I was young once, am from a mainly rural area and had a share of people I knew crash or die on country roads, it wasn't the roads were ****e, everyone already knew the bad bends, dodgy junctions .... It was speed, usually weekends, in the wee hours ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭validusername1

That's just stupid.. There are bad drivers and good drivers from every county..

There are loads of petrol heads in Donegal and the place I'm from has a big amount of them but that doesn't mean every driver in Donegal is bad, and it doesn't mean it's the only place that has bad/crazy drivers. People who generalize and stereotype just automatically show their severe lack of intelligence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

The Conditions are no different to roads elsewhere in the West, yet, the the death figures are not so high.
    What about the Letterkenny to Derry Road, main road, what is wrong with that road , yet accidents happen there far too often? (I know that is not West Donegal)

That argument is a complete self serving cop out by Donegal people.

Many of the deaths are caused by speed and careless driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Many of the deaths are caused by speed and careless driving.

I dunno, speaking as a Donegal person, I prefer the people who drive with a bit of speed but are considerate of other drivers and on rural roads (which make up 90% if not more of Donegal) keep to their own side of the road, than the ejits I've seen drive around twisty, steep, dangerous roads at 20mph right in the middle or on the other side of the road, not pulling in for anyone, even an approaching car.

Yes, we have a few good roads (one or two) but the rest are ****e with the council seemingly having the attitude of ''Oh there's a big pothole? Ah, stick a bita tar in it. There's a big bump there now? Be grand!''

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

I wonder if Gay Bryne would pass the current thoery test and actual driving test??

Seen as he has so much to say and so many road safety opinions for us all.

What you reckon??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

The 3 lads i know from Donegal are all lunatic drivers. And these are lads in their late 20s, not the typical young boy racer type. I swore i'd never get in the car with any of them again. There is certainly an element of truth in what Gay Byrne said. Rallying in the north part of this island is huge, none more so than in Donegal. A lot of young guys from there obviously think they are Eugene Donnelly or Bertie Fisher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Has anyone thought that perhaps maybe he is right? Donegal is a big county with a small population and a huge network of roads. Such an environment lends itself well to boy racers, or "gobshites" as I prefer to call them. They are a law unto themselves up there.

I have yet to encounter anyone a honda civic with blacked out windows being driven with manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Have I entered a time warp? Is this 2008? Donegal roads are nowhere near as dangerous as they used to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Where To wrote: »
    Is this 2008? Donegal roads are nowhere near as dangerous as they used to be.

No it's 2012, welcome to the future.