Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

I learnt about shooting from that.

• 20-12-2004 10:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 40,055 ✭✭✭✭

Okay, so for those of you who ever read Pilot, the title of this thread should be familiar. For the rest, the idea of this thread is to post the mistakes you've made so everyone else can learn from them. These could be mistakes in competition, or mistakes in safety procedures, or mistakes in logistics or mistakes in general shooting; all are fine. But hopefully, the more honest we are here (where we're happily anonymous, by the way), the more mistakes we may prevent from occurring in the future.
    So just one additional rule for this thread - no ridiculing people for making the mistake! There's no such thing, after all, as a human who never makes a mistake. (If you can think of a better preventative measure, that's valid though).

• Registered Users Posts: 40,055 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

And I may as well start it off with a competitive example I suppose.
    The first time I shot a 25 yard card and put ten tens down the range at it in competition, I learnt that you always check your target through the scope when shooting those ten-target cards, no matter how sure you are of where you are on the card...

normal_25yd_AlmostTun.jpg

And for a logistical example, there was the time I went to a Comber Open event with the club's new Walther KK200 rifle and left the sights in Dublin. Lesson learned - have a checklist in your shooting diary listing every piece of equipment and keep it updated.

And for a safety point, perhaps my most embarressing story (and if this doesn't prompt people to post their experiences, I'll be most disappointed).

After I got my new air rifle from Anschutz, the sights were obviously totally unaligned (they're sold as a seperate item, seperately packaged and so on). So I went down to the range to set them up, as you would. I took the firing point on the far right side as it was my usual spot, got into the shooting jacket and trousers, and spent half an hour getting the buttplate and cheekpiece roughly set to fit me. Then I took the first shot. Thing about the DURC range though, is that halfway down the air rifle section of the range, there's a small (a little over a foot wide) protrusion from the wall where what had been two rooms was knocked into one to make the range. Normally, that protrusion is almost a yard off to the right of the target, and is perfectly fine. Unfortunately, between the lack of alignment of the sights and the rough setup of the stock, the rifle's actual and apparent points of aim were so far apart that the pellet hit the protrusion, richocheted back and off the side wall and came right back and hit me in the derriere. Happily it did so with insufficent energy to get through the canvas shooting trousers, or even to leave any significant bruise, but nevertheless, I can now say that I've managed to shoot myself in the rear end with an air rifle while aiming at a target ten metres away (which is a rather dubious honour at best, I'm afraid).

Anyway, the lesson learnt was that if you don't know how badly your sights are misaligned, shoot from the middle firing point until you get it aligned, and take account of possible ricochets. And if it's a cartridge rifle, well, be even more careful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Zakalwe

Sparks wrote:
    And I may as well start it off with a competitive example I suppose.
    The first time I shot a 25 yard card and put ten tens down the range at it in competition, I learnt that you always check your target through the scope when shooting those ten-target cards, no matter how sure you are of where you are on the card...

You think that's bad? I shot the guy next to me's target by accident TWICE while shooting air rifle!

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 foresight

Hi guys and gals,

Years ago in the FCA, I shot the target next to mine also, great grouping, but the company sargent wasn't too pleased. So for the company shoot in 1977 or 78 Sorry Sarge!

Another one I'm afraid, Came home from target shooting and left my semi auto .22 rifle on bench as I washed my hands and went to boil the kettle. Semiauto was 'mt' but bolt closed and 'mt' mag inserted. Rifle still cocked though. Older brother arrives in for visit, sees rifle picks it up....'Nice rifle'..click...squeezed trigger! Never checked. 'That was a silly thing to do' he said. I agreed. We both learned a very good lesson.

I think this thread could be very good, a kind of confession and purification. Please please please always take care

Another one, I'm safe honest! Three mates, including me, used to go plinking at tin cans. This day fourth guy arrives friend of one of the others, gets out of car, takes semiauto .22 out of boot, inserts mag and lets 10 shots into the sky beside us. to warm the barrel! We were very safety aware and could not believe what this dolt had just done. The three of us all suddenly remembered urgent appointments and all left without even taking our rifles out of the car. Dimwit above was never invited back.

I've been thinkin about this thread and the more I do the better idea it seems to me to be. I shoot rifle alot but I have loads of friends who shoot shotgun both clay and hunting and I hope they all put up their stories ecause there are some very funny ones and some really scaryones too. Remember 'Hill Street Blues' the guy used to tell the cops going out on the beat to be careful out there. (Which film had the quote 'be careful out there among them english'?) no disrespect to our fellows over the way.
    anyway 'nuff digression. What I mean to say is that with the new pistols and that coming back and the fact that we do not have widespread experience in using them can those who have experience with them, from other countries,or army or what ever tell the rest of us how to handle them and what is acceptable PC concerning them. and point out the pit falls and so on. I'm sure we dont want the streets to be like the wild west and I don't want to see my local barman shot just cos he put some guy out or what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jaycee

Great thread .....!

Once...many years ago I used to do some rough shooting with a friend,
    It was good fun and we considered ourselves pretty safety concious.

One day , while waiting for the cocker to clear some scrub ,I closed the gun and made ready for whatever would be flushed out.
    My friend pulled out a ciggy ..his lighter would'nt work , so I transferred my gun to the crook of my arm and reached into my pocket to offer him mine..the shotgun I was now carrying underarm slid downwards ..and the trigger hooked one of the empty loops in the cartridge belt ..

To our shock the gun discharged and blew a hole in the ground a couple of feet in front of us . A freak event to be sure but we learned three important lessons.

1. Never take the safety off unless you are pointing at the target.
    2. Be aware that "Safety catches" don't always work.
    3. Protect or cover the trigger guard and remember that lots of things besides
    your finger will pull the trigger ( Clothing ,Belts, Bushes, anything...etc..)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

What I mean to say is that with the new pistols and that coming back and the fact that we do not have widespread experience in using them can those who have experience with them, from other countries,or army or what ever tell the rest of us how to handle them and what is acceptable PC concerning them. and point out the pit falls and so on.

No range worthy of the name will let you shoot pistol without having done a safety course. Courses are being organised for ranges where pistol shooting is planned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Irishglockfan

civdef wrote:
    No range worthy of the name will let you shoot pistol without having done a safety course. Courses are being organised for ranges where pistol shooting is planned.

Civ
    just a quick note,any details on any clubs or ranges that are planning such ?PM me
    will post my tale later
    Glock

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭les45

I made a very silly mistake earlier this year. I loaded a .40 round in to my .45 mag, I can hear the gasps , very easy to do , round will cycle !!!!, lesson learned dont mix ammo.

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭macnas

Never put anything on the roof of the car especially in the dark.

Returning to the car after a night flight, being more concerned about taking off the wet wellie, put the shotgun on the roof. Fresh socks, dry boots, drove home.......about 6 miles........pitch dark.........pouring rain..........narrow, twisty roads..........into the house......... had dinner...........half way through a spud.............OOOH B****X!. And was it on the roof when I ran out........Nope. Rang the Gardai told them what had happened and went out lookin'. Tried to remember where on the road I had heard that metal on metal sliding noise and suprise, suprise not far away was my Beretta lying in the mud at the side of the road. Not a scratch!!.
    You would have thought I'd have learned my lesson from that but no, left my Buck Zipper on the roof, drove off and never saw it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Irishglockfan

Well Gouda,
    thing is folks are admitting they are fallible.Everyone is,you mean to tell us that YOU have never had a close one while shooting??
    I have and I openly admit it. To say that arguement that the burrocrats can pick this coloum[even if they know it exists!] for arguements to ban guns is not necessarily true.As Sparks said he got the idea from PILOT magazine,in which pilots tell their stories of close ones or whatever.Does that mean that the FAA or the DOT will use that colum to demand tighter restrictions on issueing a private pilots liscense??No it is actually encouraged so as pilots can learn from mistakes of others.As pilot[read human] error is one of the biggest causes of air disasters.Plus being a pilot is 100% more restricted than gun ownership anyday.Getting a gun lic compared to your commercial ticket or private ticket in ireland is a complete doddle,I can tell you.

There is also a coloum dedicated to this in guns&weapons for law enforcement,a mag that was freely buyable in Easons up to recently.Called cop talk,again it was about cops and the situations they got into dealing with armed crime .
    Ditto a coloum on bodygaurding tactics.Now no doubt there are some who would say that that shouldnt be allowed as that might give the"wrong people" ideas.Trouble is "the wrong people" dont generally read magazines to learn things.or they are pro enough to know this as old hat already,and the people whom this information is pertinent to are then denied this learning tool.

[maybe this the reason Easons dont stock it anymore,they were scared this info might be used wrongly.Nanny state knows best again]

Now I suppose if a coloum was published in "Irish Little Boy Racer monthly" or" Arrogant Junior Executive BMW driver".THEN the transport minister might have a ligit arguement,as I think that colum would be blocked solid for years on end with total day to day idiocy and incompetance stories.

Anyway onto my tale.
    When I was ten ,my cousin was given an airgun in Germany[back in the seventies an allowable thing].Once an uncle of ours who was the firearms training officer with the local police force took us down to our duck pond for some practise at floating bits of wood and a good talking to on the weighty matter of gun saftey,their dangerousness and responsibility of use and possesion of air weapons by youngsters.After delivering this solmen sermon,he said that now lets have some fun ,lets spook a bothersome duck that kept swimming between our floating targets.His idea was to put a shot in front of the duck in the water.Unfortunely he scored a direct hit in the ducks head,thussly ending the ducks existance and depriving his sister in law of a beloved pet and good egg layer.After the deceased had been retrived and brought shamefacedly to his sister in law,whereupon a sound Germanic bollicking was issued,uncle was orderd to pluck,gut and prepare said duck for next days dinner.A disagreeable task on a hot day in July.Uncle, not to let a educational opportunity go,promptly lectured us again on gun saftey and irresponsible use.To cap it,the story got back to the police force whereupon uncle was botherd by butts of jokes for many a year about duck hunting without appropiate liscenses and firearm saftey.

I learned five things from this;
    1]Air rifle pellets of .177 cal even out to 50plus meters are deadly to ducks
    2]Dont shoot at things you dont intend to hit or kill.
    [3]Even professionals in their field will screw up and make mistakes
    4]Dont lark around with guns,even somthing as "harmless" as an air rifle,deact etc.
    5]Germans,even they are in the total wrong ,if they are older than you, they are always right,and will labour a point to death :D:p

"They say one learns from one's mistakes.I prefer to learn from the mistakes of others as it is less costly,and a lot less embarassing or painful!"
    Otto von Bismarck

Sparks wrote:
    And for a logistical example, there was the time I went to a Comber Open event with the club's new Walther KK200 rifle and left the sights in Dublin. Lesson learned - have a checklist in your shooting diary listing every piece of equipment and keep it updated.

How did you do in the competition in the end??

This isnt directly shooting, but first time that I went duck shooting, i just wore jeans and a coat.

Missed all the duck (1st time!) , jeans got soaked and I ended up sick for a week

Moral of the story - wear good, dark, oilskins / waterproof pants!!

How did you do in the competition in the end??
    Horribly!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

macnas wrote:
    Never put anything on the roof of the car especially in the dark.

I have always left something on the roof of my car when shooting at night be never a gun thankfully. i usualy just lose a magazine (very easy lose them when lamping) or a box of sgotgun cartages.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

i usualy just lose a magazine (very easy lose them when lamping)

One countermeasure for this is to attach your mag to the gun with some paracord or similar material.

Three new ones to add to the list, more from a competitive side than a safety side;

Showed up in UCDRC for the most recent air rifle match, having gone through my checklist that morning for my gear. Had all required bits'n'bobs. Then tried to assemble the rifle, only to realise that the key to the trigger lock was sitting on my bedside table at home. Happily it was only 15 miles away, and I was after dropping off other people for the competition so I had two hours to retrieve it, but lesson learnt; your checklist is a living document and it should take into account even the blindingly obvious stuff...

(Also, helping out the rifle club by ferrying juniors to a match can pay off :D )

Shot in Bisley for the first time for the airgun championships last week. I'd been to Bisley before and walked around the air rifle range (it's not used much for air rifle outside of competitions :( ) to get familiar with it. "Hoo boy", thinks I, "you've got the drop on this match pressure yoke, haven't you?". Day of the competition arrives, and it's the same range - only now there are 200-odd people on it, shooting, range officering, spectating, adjudicating, there's Chris Hector a few spots away (the best male air rifle shooter in the UK at present), there's so-and-so, and there's another big name, and now we have to go through equipment control and on and on it went - by the time I got to the firing line, I was so thrown out of it, I dropped twenty points off my average.
    Lesson learnt - match pressure is at it's most dehabilitating when you think you have it beaten and don't take the standard precautions (having a match plan, having contingency plans, knowing where your backup and coaches are and using them, and so on).

And lastly, on the trip home, we got through Gatwick (while being observed from the balcony by some gentlement with MP5 submachine guns - keep the fingers outside the trigger guard, would you lads? - just in case we took our single-shot air rifles and tried to go on a rampage in the airport :rolleyes: ) and even got a little congratulatory announcement on the plane on the way back, so everything was going swimmingly and we were all relaxing and letting the guard down - and then we caught the baggage handler throwing our rifle cases off the conveyor belt and onto the carrying case. And I mean throwing - you could hear the impact clear across the baggage reclaim area, it was that bad. Even after yelling at the man that those boxes were worth €2500 apiece, he kept on going...
    Anyway, one of the brand new cases was destroyed as a result. Lock busted, a fracture on the end - but at least the rifle was still intact. Multiple lessons learnt:
    • You're not home until you're home!
    • Send someone from the team to escort the rifles off the plane or meet them as early along the chain as possible in future.
    • Check your cases and rifles in baggage reclaim, in case they've been damaged. Otherwise, how do you prove it was baggage handling that smashed them?
    • Get a very sturdy case for international travel and preferably one that you wouldn't cry over if it got smashed, as it probably will.
    • When packing a rifle for international travel, even for a foam-lined case, bubblewrap is your friend and ally. Especially since the barrel/action and the stock will have been seperated to prevent differential thermal contraction from stripping out the bedding bolts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

I was climbing over a style back home - chasing after a dog that had killed numerous sheep and had a taste for blood - and didn't remember to unload the barrel when going over the style. The trigger got pulled by a twig and blew a hole into the back end of the style, making me fall flat on my face into a pile of brambles.

I could have easily lost my foot doing something as STUPID as that, so from now on if there is a dog worrying sheep, i'm going to take my time and cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Number6 wrote:
    I was climbing over a style back home... and didn't remember to unload the barrel when going over the style. The trigger got pulled by a twig and...
    This, unfortunately, is probably the most common cause of 'accidental' firearms injury and death :(
    Going by anecdotal evidence, anyhow.

All it takes is a moment's inattention and non-application of 'The 4 Rules' (whichever version you subscribe to (religious discussion! :D )) for bad things to happen.

If anyone remembers the Ear to the Ground firearms item a while ago (see this thread), I'm pretty sure the technique was demonstrated there :(:(:(

(Edited to add-)
    The 'technique' I mention above was 'climbing over a fence with a closed gun and bad muzzle discipline', NOT 'someone shooting themselves (or one of their buddies) while threshing around in the briars'.
    Just thought I should add that.
    I'd imagine the programme would have had a higher profile if it had been the latter :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭gouda

Sparks wrote:
    Three new ones to add to the list, more from a competitive side than a safety side;

Showed up in UCDRC for the most recent air rifle match, having gone through my checklist that morning for my gear. Had all required bits'n'bobs. Then tried to assemble the rifle, only to realise that the key to the trigger lock was sitting on my bedside table at home. Happily it was only 15 miles away, and I was after dropping off other people for the competition so I had two hours to retrieve it, but lesson learnt; your checklist is a living document and it should take into account even the blindingly obvious stuff...

(Also, helping out the rifle club by ferrying juniors to a match can pay off :D )

Shot in Bisley for the first time for the airgun championships last week. I'd been to Bisley before and walked around the air rifle range (it's not used much for air rifle outside of competitions :( ) to get familiar with it. "Hoo boy", thinks I, "you've got the drop on this match pressure yoke, haven't you?". Day of the competition arrives, and it's the same range - only now there are 200-odd people on it, shooting, range officering, spectating, adjudicating, there's Chris Hector a few spots away (the best male air rifle shooter in the UK at present), there's so-and-so, and there's another big name, and now we have to go through equipment control and on and on it went - by the time I got to the firing line, I was so thrown out of it, I dropped twenty points off my average.
    Lesson learnt - match pressure is at it's most dehabilitating when you think you have it beaten and don't take the standard precautions (having a match plan, having contingency plans, knowing where your backup and coaches are and using them, and so on).

And lastly, on the trip home, we got through Gatwick (while being observed from the balcony by some gentlement with MP5 submachine guns - keep the fingers outside the trigger guard, would you lads? - just in case we took our single-shot air rifles and tried to go on a rampage in the airport :rolleyes: ) and even got a little congratulatory announcement on the plane on the way back, so everything was going swimmingly and we were all relaxing and letting the guard down - and then we caught the baggage handler throwing our rifle cases off the conveyor belt and onto the carrying case. And I mean throwing - you could hear the impact clear across the baggage reclaim area, it was that bad. Even after yelling at the man that those boxes were worth €2500 apiece, he kept on going...
    Anyway, one of the brand new cases was destroyed as a result. Lock busted, a fracture on the end - but at least the rifle was still intact. Multiple lessons learnt:
    • You're not home until you're home!
    • Send someone from the team to escort the rifles off the plane or meet them as early along the chain as possible in future.
    • Check your cases and rifles in baggage reclaim, in case they've been damaged. Otherwise, how do you prove it was baggage handling that smashed them?
    • Get a very sturdy case for international travel and preferably one that you wouldn't cry over if it got smashed, as it probably will.
    • When packing a rifle for international travel, even for a foam-lined case, bubblewrap is your friend and ally. Especially since the barrel/action and the stock will have been seperated to prevent differential thermal contraction from stripping out the bedding bolts!
    Firearms regularly draw this kind of attention from baggage handlers, or so my informed sources tell me, a lot of them are apparently anti-shooting. Also,if you have stickers,markings on the outside of the case such as eley,Anschutz etc. it only serves to advertise that it contains firearms. Some people put innocous stickers or no marking at all and have found the case treated slightly better. I also feel that handlers compete among themselves as to who can throw heavy cases furthest from the conveyor without spilling the contents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

Yeah, I noticed this happened to a few friends of mine who went over to 'Merica. Baggage claim wouldn't pay for the cases saying it was "natural wear and tear of transit". This is going back a few years now mind, the law has changed since then regarding damaged baggage.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

If this is a 'learning experience' thread, I once witnessed a woman who had shot a 50v10 on Century at Bisley.

She must have converted a sighter or two, and had a round of 7.62 left over because when getting her trigger weight tested she fired straight up the air when the weight pulled her trigger.

Silly bugger had one up the spout :D

Shouts of 'Cease-Fire' were heard for miles as everyone took cover. I ran a 100m time that would have pushed the Olympic record.

No-one died, God knows where it came down. Needless to say the woman did not need her 50v10 score as she disqualified on the spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

An archery story, hope its applicable.

Me and a few other lads out shooting in my own range. We were all on the junior national squad at the time. After a few hours at the standard distances, we get bored of this, start shooting at unusual distances, swapping bows, the usual fooling around. Then one guy gets the bright idea to fire an arrow straight up. Now this is an Easton ACE, coming out of the bow at around 250 foot/sec, so it goes fast and high, and we lose sight. For a second or two we look at each other. Then we *run* - legged it into a nearby barn and cowered. Arrow came down a few seconds later around 10 metres from the spot it was fired. Lad who shot it endured a severe larting from his team mates.

Moral of the story - if youre getting bored whilst youre shooting, go do something else for a while, dont go messing around with your weapon.

Regards

Ewan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

There are so many things we can all learn from this-
    http://media4.big-boys.com/content/SLOWHUNT.wmv
    (5MB download)
    (Fairly worksafe- contains stupidity and strong language)

:eek: :D :eek: :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I thought I might just throw this in here for those interested. It seemed the most suitable spot.

Guns: Facts & Fallacies

http://www.totse.com/en/politics/right_to_keep_and_bear_arms/guntruth.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Babble

I recently witnessed a troubling incident at the range over here. There was a novice (I presume) handgun shooter at the station to the right of me. He had just picked up a brand new Sig P226 in 9mm and had a more experienced shooter friend at the station on his right. Shooter obously had taken apart the handgun for some reason because he had forgotten to close the takedown lever.
    He pops in a full magazine and hits the slide release, the slide moves forward and chambers a round but because the takedown lever is still open the slide see its chance and makes a break for freedom taking its sidekick the 9mm round with it.
    From the corner of my eye I see a brand new Sig slide fly through the air with gusto, I almost thought it was going to reach paper and put an impressive hole in the target. But alas it quickly falls to earth and goes click clink clink as it hits the concrete and bounces around.

Oh boy did i get a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach because I had an identical handgun sitting in front of me and I shuddered at the thought of the scrapes and gashes, I had to turn away :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Babble

I just read this on the Canadiangunnutz forum today.

Happened yesterday at my local range, Posted by the guy I did my safety course with
    Wear your %$&**# safety glasses and don't shoot crappy old milsurp guns.

I had the opportunity to do first aid on a guy at the range today who had a KB! with his broomhandle mauser. The bolt sheared right off the frame and struck him on the head. He ended up losing his right eye. I'm not sure if safety glasses would have helped, but we will never know now.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

As a follow up to Sparks airport baggage handing story, a member of my club arrived in Belfast having been away shooting smallbore for the weekend, I think it was Bisley.

As he sat on the plane watching out the window whilst the cattle all made a dash for the exit (as per usual) he saw his gun case come out of the hold where it was handled gently onto the truck/trailer that moves the luggage, right at the top of the pile where it would be safe.

He watched the trailer go across the tarmac and into the little bit where they offload the bags and put them on the belt, at this point he gets up and leaves the plane.

5 mins later his gun case comes out of the chute, opened and with his rifle in 2 pieces!!

Now far be it from anyone to speculate what went on behind that chute but both locks were busted off the case and the aluminum stock had become seperated from the action. Funny that?

After creating a stink with police, airport security, the handlers, the management of the airport and just about anyone else he could find, he got a brand new rifle.

Moral of the story, baggage handlers are the scurge of society!!