Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blood bikes

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Blood1

According to the emergency forum they have asked for the blood bikes thread to be removed, the admin asked them to sign up and put forward their side of the argument but they declined……

From what i read on the esf thread there is already a member belong to that group cryan on their, he actually gave a true account of what happened with a fellow member with regard to having no license riding the blood bikes, dont see any further posts from him on this, i think it has been proven by photos and a video what was going on how the heck can they say there is no truth in it.

Then they come on here and try to blame others for problems within their groups and failing to abide by the law on the use of blue lights, Patman can you show any other groups doing similar to what that group was doing ?

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Scatter Cat

Blood1 wrote: »
    From what i read on the esf thread there is already a member belong to that group cryan on their, he actually gave a true account of what happened with a fellow member with regard to having no license riding the blood bikes, dont see any further posts from him on this, i think it has been proven by photos and a video what was going on how the heck can they say there is no truth in it.

Then they come on here and try to blame others for problems within their groups and failing to abide by the law on the use of blue lights, Patman can you show any other groups doing similar to what that group was

very interesting that they want stuff deleted and won't discuss matters. I've never heard of other groups acting the goat.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Schindlers Pissed

You see it's always the same, the vast vast majority of people who volunteer do so for all the right reasons, but there's always a few muppets who ruin it on everyone.

The "muppetry" seems to be confined to one group in particular according to the esf thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Pataman

If you believe everything that was written on that forum. There was a BBE volunteer there that tried to explain what happened. Unfortunately he wasnt believed and I am not going to discuss someones licence on the internet. That is their private business. All I will say on the matter is that the poster was not privy to the full facts.

• Pataman wrote: »
    If you believe everything that was written on that forum. There was a BBE volunteer there that tried to explain what happened. Unfortunately he wasnt believed and I am not going to discuss someones licence on the internet. That is their private business. All I will say on the matter is that the poster was not privy to the full facts.

I think people are actually looking for information regarding the use of blue lights while not carrying out an emergency transport.

Pataman wrote: »

Well according to that forum it includes a statement made by the person in question practically admitting he had a dodgey licence and some nonsense about the RSA just giving him a licence and that volunteer admitted that there were issues with that licence.

Why were this group mucking around on the quays with blue lights not delivering blood but causing an obstruction to traffic?

Talk about taking a thread off topic to suit your own aims!! This thread was setup asking about Blood Bikes in general.
    Amazingly 2 new accounts are setup and twist the topic to blue lights and their use specifically about BBE. I wonder is that a coincidence. I have been involved in Blood Bikes for 2 years now. I dont believe in coincidences.
    For the record most of the groups have used blue lights at some stage, but the difference is they are not highlighted by certain individuals.

BBE have done over 1000 runs saving the hospitals 10's of thousands since we started. Our record speaks for itself.

Talk about taking a thread off topic to suit your own aims!! This thread was setup asking about Blood Bikes in general.
    Amazingly 2 new accounts are setup and twist the topic to blue lights and their use specifically about BBE. I wonder is that a coincidence. I have been involved in Blood Bikes for 2 years now. I dont believe in coincidences.
    For the record most of the groups have used blue lights at some stage, but the difference is they are not highlighted by certain individuals.

BBE have done over 1000 runs saving the hospitals 10's of thousands since we started. Our record speaks for itself.

Consider that thier blue light escapade happened only recently it's very relevant.

Why were this group misbehaving last week with blue lights while not on a blood delivery?????

If you believe everything that was written on that forum. There was a BBE volunteer there that tried to explain what happened. Unfortunately he wasnt believed and I am not going to discuss someones license on the internet. That is their private business. All I will say on the matter is that the poster was not privy to the full facts.

As they say a paper never refuses ink but there has to be some truth in it if he posted it, nobody is asking you to explain or discuss that matter, what about the other posts are you saying that they are untrue as from the photos they say different, what is your role if you don't mind me asking and why would anyone from the group refuse to comment but yet ask for the whole thread to be removed, would you not say this looks a tad suspicious if they have nothing to hide why not ?

From what i have also been informed the bikes should not have been using blue lights at the time, riders not wearing appropriate PPE gear these people are supposed to be professional riders and yet don't conform, looking at the video one of them riders was in the incorrect position which left him in a really bad position to be rear ended by the vehicle that was allowed to overtake and slip in between the bike and the jeep if the push cart had of been any further down either the bike would have ended up on the ground or the vehicle ending up on the incorrect side of the road.

As with all insurance policy's vehicles as far as i know are not covered by Insurance for doing these things, is the policy they hold different and covers that, was their a risk assessment done for doing this ?? and was permission granted from the Gardai for this to be done on a public opened road.

• Pataman wrote: »

I don't have any aims. I've said on the other site you do a good job. But, what training do bbe have to do escorts?

foreign wrote: »
    I don't have any aims. I've said on the other site you do a good job. But, what training do bbe have to do escorts?

And it's not within the thier remit or within the law to be giving a blue light escort, and a very bad one at that!

Why were Blood Bike east using blue lights in them photos?

Here's what that Blood Bike East Vol had to say about the licence.
    "I never seen the guys license nor do I know the details, so the only thing I can confirm is that it has come into question."

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭searescue

I know very little about Blood Bikes in Ireland, just follow them on their Facebook pages.

I just want to throw in though, as the whole blue light issue came up again, what about the others?

What training and use have Civil Defence jeeps, search and rescue vans, communication vans have, if they have no rights?

Coast Guards jeeps aren't supposed to have blue lights used unless you are a divisional officer upwards.

These two organisations are much larger then Blood Bikes yet I don't see the same logic being applied.

I often wonder why CD waste money putting blues on jeeps if they have no exemptions also.

There is definitely a Walter Mitty appeal to flying around in blues that a lot of voluntary organisations attract. However, the only way to deal with it is by putting in place a policy. I saw in the Ring of Kerry cycle that all ambulances were told when getting their call if they were to proceed using lights and siren or proceed with normal driving conditions.

The Irish law needs to be ammended. How many Coast Guard vehicles are there nationally that are blue light equipped yet it is against the law for any of the volunteers to activate them (according to the Act). Why have so many grey areas?

It is leaving the frontline volunteers and their licence open to a lot of sh1t! If the law is to stay the same, either don't equip the vehicles or ensure that no member activates them.

I really get where people are coming from that it would be confusing from a blood bike to proceed through traffic on blues and twos and then to stop at a red light. Maybe it is for the blood bikes nationally to approach the Department of Transport?

I know it was done before for retained firefighters and there wasn't an issue generally but it was the insurance that caught them out.

Anyway, keep up the good work that you are doing in Blood Bikes and I shall now step to the back of the class to spectate ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,971 ✭✭✭✭Esel

searescue wrote: »
    What training and use have Civil Defence jeeps, search and rescue vans, communication vans have, if they have no rights?

I often wonder why CD waste money putting blues on jeeps if they have no exemptions also.
    Total guess on my part here: if the CD were called out to a genuine emergency and used blue lights (in a safe manner), I would be surprised if a prosecution ensued.

searescue wrote: »
    I really get where people are coming from that it would be confusing from a blood bike to proceed through traffic on blues and twos and then to stop at a red light.
    Twos? First time hearing that in this thread. :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Re the 'blue light' angle here, I've seen these 'Gold Wing cowboys' going around with white strobes on the front and coming up quick behind cars to imitate an emergency vehicle. ( They DO get mighty pi**ed off if you don't move over for them :rolleyes: ) . Once a m/cycle rider has the headlight on and drives carefully,he can make his way through traffic. Training/skill and awareness are all that's needed to make safe progress - not using strobe lights of any colour to try to bulldoze through traffic :mad:

Re genuine AGS vehicles and the new 'directive' over qualified drivers - saw Pearse St's Transit (driver on CPD1?) trying to get through traffic to get to an incident on Kildare St without lights/siren - his driving was more likely to cause an accident, down the wrong lane then cut in front of a bus. I believe SOMEONE in the district is afraid to tell GHQ what to do with their directive, unlike his counterpart just north of the river ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭searescue

Esel wrote: »
    Total guess on my part here: if the CD were called out to a genuine emergency and used blue lights (in a safe manner), I would be surprised if a prosecution ensued.

Twos? First time hearing that in this thread. :)

But they still aren't allowed. I'm sure Blood Bikes do every now and then get genuine emergencies and, as permitted by law, should be able to use them. We could say the same about the SAR organisations that use them, I'm being devil's advocate and saying if there is a debate about blood bikes then open up the scope completely to all the state and voluntary organisations that shouldn't be using them.

As for the sirens, it's the same as the lights, just a different act so all the one.

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Capri wrote: »
    Re the 'blue light' angle here, I've seen these 'Gold Wing cowboys' going around with white strobes on the front and coming up quick behind cars to imitate an emergency vehicle. ( They DO get mighty pi**ed off if you don't move over for them :rolleyes: ) . Once a m/cycle rider has the headlight on and drives carefully,he can make his way through traffic. Training/skill and awareness are all that's needed to make safe progress - not using strobe lights of any colour to try to bulldoze through traffic :mad:

Re genuine AGS vehicles and the new 'directive' over qualified drivers - saw Pearse St's Transit (driver on CPD1?) trying to get through traffic to get to an incident on Kildare St without lights/siren - his driving was more likely to cause an accident, down the wrong lane then cut in front of a bus. I believe SOMEONE in the district is afraid to tell GHQ what to do with their directive, unlike his counterpart just north of the river ;)

More likely the lights and sirens weren't working !

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Schindlers Pissed

Very good post searescue......my thoughts are this:

I would assume that the Coast Guard have blue lights because they are a statutory Emergency Service alongside AGS, NAS/DFB and the Fire Service so are entitled to blue lights, the use of them is down to training standards.

The Civil Defence is a government setup agency who are there to aid the statutory services, so I assume they are entitled to have blues? (That's just my opinion, I don't know).

As regards all these other SAR agencies, I think it's ridiculous for them to have blues, there's no need. The vast majority are called in by AGS or the Coast Guard "after the fact", so for example if it's a body recovery what's the rush? It reminds me of a coroners van with lights on it.......WHY?!? They aren't going to get any more dead.

Blood bikes: yes, it's been explained to me, escorts etc. I still can't see the point of having blue lights. If they have no exemptions under the RTA is it not more dangerous to let traffic perceive you are an ES and make them pull over etc? What happens in the event of an accident? These riders are driving on their own license, and have caused an accident by the use of blue lights for which they have no exemptions.......see where this is going?

Even as a member of an ES you are driving under exemptions but AT YOUR OWN RISK. Another point, I'd like to know what percentage of these deliveries are actually blood?? There was a programme on a while back and it was x-Rays, paperwork etc, not a mention of blood.

I just want to reiterate that I think these Blood Bike groups do a great job, but there seems to be one group who are particularly fond of blue lights and drawing attention down on everybody.

All it takes is an accident through misuse of lights etc and it all going to go tits up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ratracer

After reading 6 pages of thoughts/opinions on this, here's mine:

I'm sure each blood bike group has their own 'blue light' policy.

However, if a rider is riding the bike for whatever reason, and he is doing something which is against the law, let a member of AGS pull him up on it if they observe any illegal behaviour, simple really.

Anything else is just a 'he said/she said' p1ssing contest really. It is the job of AGS to uphold the law.

It is the responsibility of blood bike riders, or any other volunteer/emergency driver to uphold the good name of their 'respective organisations.'

Patman seems to know a lot about the group perhaps he will clarify to the reason why they were doing escorts on blue lights, was their a risk assessment put in place before this started if so how was the car able to overtake the cart and squash in between the bike and the jeep, who actually gave the permission for the escort from a voluntary group as i would be very surprised if their insurance would cover this

And there is another video of more blue lights been used another location as well with the bike blocking a road way and no rider on it, did the Garda give permission for this ?.

Yes it seems their is some walters within that group who continue to use blue lights on a whim its like red mist to them, now its casting a shadow on all the voluntary groups for one group acting the maggot.

ratracer wrote: »
    After reading 6 pages of thoughts/opinions on this, here's mine:

I'm sure each blood bike group has their own 'blue light' policy.

However, if a rider is riding the bike for whatever reason, and he is doing something which is against the law, let a member of AGS pull him up on it if they observe any illegal behaviour, simple really.

Anything else is just a 'he said/she said' p1ssing contest really. It is the job of AGS to uphold the law.

It is the responsibility of blood bike riders, or any other volunteer/emergency driver to uphold the good name of their 'respective organisations.'

I think you will find that everything that has been said here is fully backed up by photos and video, just pop over to the esf forum and have a look for yourself.
    w w w.esforum.org/showthread.php?tid=6384

• Registered Users Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ratracer

Patman seems to know a lot about the group perhaps he will clarify to the reason why they were doing escorts on blue lights, was their a risk assessment put in place before this started if so how was the car able to overtake the cart and squash in between the bike and the jeep, who actually gave the permission for the escort from a voluntary group as i would be very surprised if their insurance would cover this

And there is another video of more blue lights been used another location as well with the bike blocking a road way and no rider on it, did the Garda give permission for this ?.

Yes it seems their is some walters within that group who continue to use blue lights on a whim its like red mist to them, now its casting a shadow on all the voluntary groups for one group acting the maggot.

I'm sure he will. For a new poster you seem to be very concerned by this.
    For the record, I am a Blood Bike volunteer, and I would be of the opinion that blue lights are not necessary on any of the bikes. I would agree that they are useful for raising awareness say at shopping centres etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Or perhaps Patman won't entertain that big chip on your shoulder?

I have no probs with them having blues or using them properly in an emergency. But messing around trying to look flash by escorting a charity push or a bike run is pure BS and AFIK illegal. I don't know what they were at but they are seriously damaging the reputation of blood bikes and Volunteers as a whole.

Apperently there are other videos surfacing with similar behaviour.

I think that the blood bikes are a great idea and these guys need to cop on it they are to survive.

Or perhaps he wont because he dont have any answers and knows they are in the wrong, and if you look back i am not the only person asking questions on this thread, there is plenty on here doing the same, how one group can now highlight and cast a shadow over every other voluntary group that has blue lights attached to their vehicles i think that concerns everyone involved in voluntary organizations

Let me explain a few things. Firstly anybody in the blood bike business can guess who Blood1 is! And what his problem with BBE is. No prizes given

We were not giving an escort. We were asked by Bumbulance if we could provide a bike at the front and rear as they were concerned about visibility and safety as the weather was bad. At no time did any of the bikes break lights, stop traffic, pedestrians etc. BUT dont let the truth get in the way.
    The blue lights were switched on momentarily for the camera. In hindsight, given the level of scrutiny we get from the other group(singular) it was probably a mistake.
    The " blocking the road with the bike" was a private road in a hotel carpark and was put there by the manager of the hotel.

Maybe in future before we give any assistance to any other worthwhile charity we should check with Blood1.(I will save his embarassment by not using his name). For the record, also, the gardai were informed by the bumbulance people that we would have bikes front and back and were "delighted" as they couldnt spare a bike/car
    I have personal knowledge of other groups doing the same however you dont hear anything negative about them.
    I have been dealing with Blood1 and his cohorts for 2 years now. I really do not value his opinion as does NO other blood group in the country.

To the poster that asked about carrying blood: we carry blood every night however we have never used blues( we dont have sirens).

Thanks Patman for answering the few questions, i find that hard to believe about not blocking the roads as it clearly shows different in the photos from the bridge or is that just an illusion ?, it also shows in the video where the bike nearly got rear ended in it as it was blocking off a side street and that is not only my opinion but others as well, others have also commented on the Garda giving permission for this as well and i would also be surprised by this, at least you have answered my questions it will be up to other posters if they want to ask theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭lighterman

Folks the video is there to be seen.If people think offences have been made bring it to their local garda station and report it instead of hiding behind a key board. I doubt there'll be one report made but that's just my opinion.

Blood1 A question for you. What will you do with your account when this thread is finished with as it seems your only reason being on boards is to bad mouth blood bikes

lighterman wrote: »
    Folks the video is there to be seen.If people think offences have been made bring it to their local garda station and report it instead of hiding behind a key board. I doubt there'll be one report made but that's just my opinion.

Blood1 A question for you. What will you do with your account when this thread is finished with as it seems your only reason being on boards is to bad mouth blood bikes

I think if you have a look back you will find others have asked the same questions as myself not once have i posted anything incorrectly or wrong, everything i have asked or said is all there in photos and video, did i mention anything about offenses dont think so only you have in your post.

As you ask what will i do after this thread is finished, i presume i will do what you done when you where new on here ask questions about other posters intentions.

Blood Bike do a good job and all for free but should remain professional at all times, if i and others can see the mistakes so should they.