Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Strange Laws of Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

No it's not?

Yeah he's correct.

Under the intoxicated liquor act 2003 it is illegal to be admitted to a licensed premises while drunk and it is illegal to be served in a licensed premises when drunk. It is also an offense not to leave a premises when requested by a member of staff if you are drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ Ford Fit Mall

Yeah he's correct.

Under the intoxicated liquor act 2003 it is illegal to be admitted to a licensed premises while drunk and it is illegal to be served in a licensed premises when drunk. It is also an offense not to leave a premises when requested by a member of staff if you are drunk.

So then in no way is it illegal to simply be in a licensed premises while drunk... Not that hard to deduce. It's illegal for the premises to allow you in if you're already drunk, and to be served while drunk, and to refuse to leave. Also perfectly legal to be drunk in a public place.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

So then in no way is it illegal to simply be in a licensed premises while drunk... Not that hard to deduce. It's illegal for the premises to allow you in if you're already drunk, and to be served while drunk, and to refuse to leave.

I may have overestimated your familiarity with licensing law.

The statute makes it illegal to display the behaviours that people would associate with a person who is drunk. Thus the legislation makes it illegal to be drunk on a premises while removing the need for license holders to have evidentiary breathalyzers to measure blood alcohol amounts to hand before ejecting patrons.

That is the purpose of the act.
    Also perfectly legal to be drunk in a public place.

You're correct . . . if you're using a definition of legal that mean illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Barristers do not shake hands
    This is because they are "honourable gentlemen"
    Shaking hands goes back to the days of showing someone you are unarmed.
    As barristers are noble gentlemen they have no need to do this

In fact if a barrister tried to shake another barristers hand it could be seen as an insult

If a barrister calls someone "my friend", that's cool
    If a barrister calls someone "my learned friend", that's an insult. You're saying that are not learned at all

Upward only rent reviews were not only possible but were the done thing in Ireland :confused:

Any ships pilot or captain who wrecked a boat in Dublin Bay would have their eyes put out with a knife. Henry VIII brought in that.
    Before the North Wall Dublin Bay would silt up and boats were constantly getting wrecked.
    Wonder would SIPTU would say about this rule!

Adulteration Of Coffee Act 1718
    Remember coffee was always an import and it wasn't so easy to get this around the world.
    It was illegal to use sheep droppings to bulk up your bags of coffee beans
    Actually, that's not a dumb law, that's a good one
    Had to google it there but I did a night course in DIT and remember the lecturer talking about that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ Ford Fit Mall

I may have overestimated your familiarity with licensing law.

The statute makes it illegal to display the behaviours that people would associate with a person who is drunk. Thus the legislation makes it illegal to be drunk on a premises while removing the need for license holders to have evidentiary breathalyzers to measure blood alcohol amounts to hand before ejecting patrons.

That is the purpose of the act.

You're correct . . . if you're using a definition of legal that mean illegal.

The 2003 Act gives interpretations, “drunken person” means a person who is intoxicated to such an extent as would give rise to a reasonable apprehension that the person might endanger himself or herself or any other person, and “drunk” and “drunkenness” are to be construed accordingly;

s.4 (1) A licensee shall not, on the licensed premises—

(c) permit drunkenness to take place in the bar
    (d) admit any drunken person to the bar.

As you have said this places a restriction on the behaviours of people in the bar. It does not mean drunk people are not allowed to be in the bar, and there are two ways to prove this;
    If they had meant that drunk people are not allowed in the bar they would have made ss.
    (c) allow drunken persons to be in the bar
    instead of what it actually is and secondly, if drunken persons were not allowed on a licensed premises there would be almost no pub industry in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

It is illegal in Waterford to bathe more than once a week.
    True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Bell Butter

Germany has the ability to micro manage our economy. What a strange law indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Beer Baron wrote: »
    Holders of the freedom of Dublin have the right to pasture sheep on common ground within the city boundaries. This includes College Green and St Stephen's Green. (this right was exercised as a publicity stunt by Bono when he brought sheep in to St. Stephens Green).

God.. Bono's a prick :pac: Big show off:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

You can legally beat your wife as long as the stick you use isn't thicker than your mickey.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Sure there are Nazi's in Waterford

The deise want to create lebensraum in Kilkenny

Nothing lower then a land-grabber
    They beat the Brits and they'll beat out the Suirsiders

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/local/waterford_city_council_compared_to_nazis_as_boundary_row_hots_up_1_2152735

City looking to expand shocker. Hillbillys scared

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

If you fiddle with children it is legal if you spent a few years in maynooth

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

It is illegal to have certain weeds growing on agricultural land in Ireland punishable by a fine. One is the, im unsure of the spelling bohalan, a yellow flowered weed.

It is also illegal to cut down a tree more than ten years old.

To do it legally involves informing the local Gardai who then place an automatic preservation order on the tree and then applying for a felling licence to cut down the tree.

Needless to say these laws are rarely enforced or observed.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    It is illegal to have certain weeds growing on agricultural land in Ireland punishable by a fine. One is the, im unsure of the spelling bohalan, a yellow flowered weed.

It is also illegal to cut down a tree more than ten years old.

To do it legally involves informing the local Gardai who then place an automatic preservation order on the tree and then applying for a felling licence to cut down the tree.

Needless to say these laws are rarely enforced or observed.

Your never tried to take down a protected tree. Have one beside my house that was causing a risk to our house meaning insurance was expensive. We got a tree surgeon out and the best he could do was prune it. He walked into the house with a lump of wood he cut off that was black to the core and was going to fall any day

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,911 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

SafeSurfer wrote: »

Ragwort, also known as ragweed, buachalán and buachalán buidhe.

Ragwort is a highly poisonous plant if eaten. Ragwort is toxic to cattle, horses, deer, goats, pigs and chickens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Slightly off topic but in the U.K. any person found breaking a boiled egg at the sharp end will be sentenced to 24 hours in the village stocks (enacted by Edward VI).

Sounds like something Baldybollix Noonan would come come out with.

Silage season soon

The farmers and contractors often put flashing amber lights on their machinery, helps them to be visible

Illegal.
    Yet there is always moaning about badly lit tractors on the roads.
    They try to do something and get told not to :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

There's no law against being stoned yet there is a law against possession of the substance that gets you stoned..

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭Buyingcar2012

charlemont wrote: »
    There's no law against being stoned yet there is a law against possession of the substance that gets you stoned..

S4 of the Criminal Justice Public Order would disagree.

http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/bills28/bills/2006/4606/b4606.pdf

Nucleur Test Ban Bill 2006

Not allowed explode a nuclear device in Ireland
    Damn nanny state

Doing this will land you in District Court.
    Don't they have drink driving and TV licences to deal with?
    summary conviction to a fine not exceeding €5,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months, or both.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Cool Story Bro

They removed Articles 2 and 3. That was strange. Considering they were correct and lawful Articles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

S4 of the Criminal Justice Public Order would disagree.

I see, Just show's how out of touch the law is then. F'king idiot's...

Sure how would anyone even know a person is stoned. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

charlemont wrote: »
    Sure how would anyone even know a person is stoned. :P

Just lock up anyone caught coming out a shop with a Cornetto and bag of Hula-Hoops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a pregnant woman has the right to have a piss in a police mans hat. or something

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You can receive a fine of up to €127,000 and up to 5 years in prison for using a smartphone in a cinema.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

From a book I have a book on Irish Brehon laws.

If a youth incites a pig by shouting at it for sport, and the pig charges at idlers in the farmyard, the pig is exempt from liability for injuries.

If a woman makes an assignation with a man to come to her in a bed or behind a bush, the man is not considered guilty even if she screams.
    If she has not agreed to a meeting, however, he is guilty as soon as she screams.