Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Student Demonstrations/violence only the beginning?

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 LolNoob

JFlah wrote: »
    why our democratically elected government elected by us to work for us are clearly ignoring the fact that they are not wanted by their employers i.e. us by refusing to give the people an opportunity to remove them from power forever , what other solution is their but revolt?
    They were voted for by us, they were voted in by a majority of Irish voters. Just because it doesn't suit you, doesn't mean it's some national conspiracy and the frauds must be ousted. If you're not happy living in a democracy, I suggest you pack up your bags and move off to a nice dictatorship, where those in power got there not by being wanted, but by violent force. I'm sure you'd be happy in Korea or many parts of Africa.

In short, you're talking absolute nonsense. Arise people of Ireland? Utter nonsense.

Also, like it or not, Fianna Fail are the best party to Govern this country at the moment, and this is coming from someone who was quite opposed to them 6 months ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

never said it was the same as Iraq or Serbia , you don,t have to be a genocidal lunatic to be a traitor ... i,m grand and copped on they,ve ruined a nation its treason and they have to go and face trial

Yes fine, call it treason if you so wish, let them face trial,

but calling for a revolution and mass violence, beatings, destruction of property etc... is the type of reaction reserved for situations such as was experienced in the regimes of Hussein and Milosevic.

FFS, pay cuts, a decrease in quality of life, cuts in services, ecnomic difficulty etc... have hit us here, yes protest, yes remove Government, yes expect betters, but we're not living in the slums of Calcutta or something - we are not in a situation that requires the type of revolution you promote. Have some prespective on life will you.

Uriel. wrote: »
    Yes fine, call it treason if you so wish, let them face trial,

but calling for a revolution and mass violence, beatings, destruction of property etc... is the type of reaction reserved for situations such as was experienced in the regimes of Hussein and Milosevic.

FFS, pay cuts, a decrease in quality of life, cuts in services, ecnomic difficulty etc... have hit us here, yes protest, yes remove Government, yes expect betters, but we're not living in the slums of Calcutta or something - we are not in a situation that requires the type of revolution you promote. Have some prespective on life will you.
    Let who face trial? And where does the blame trail stop? I do laugh at how these moronic radicals (not you) seem to assume it automatically stops at the Government. If you're going to prosecute the Government for doing what they thought was best at the time, you may continue down the line and prosecute those who've now got mortgages on houses they just had to have and now can't afford, those who've overspent on credit cards and aren't paying them back, the bank staff who granted the loans, the bank sales staff who sold the loans, anyone who has abused the social welfare system etc.

In fact, lets fill our jails with everyone except for those strange few who didn't indulge during the celtic tiger years. Then let those few weirdos who are left figure out how to foot the bill.

Moronic. Really. The country ****ed up the country. The Government didn't **** up the country. Yet, we Irish just love to point the finger. Cripes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

FFS, pay cuts, a decrease in quality of life, cuts in services, ecnomic difficulty etc... have hit us here, yes protest, yes remove Government, yes expect betters, but we're not living in the slums of Calcutta or something

Relativity is everything...we might not actually be eating rats but some people are in dire economic difficulty and face losing the roof over thier heads..people are dying on hospital tolleys...crime is endemic in some places,junkies are everywhere..the country is on its knees and the scumbag FF cabal want to finish us off to save thier buddies who caused this mess.
    That is corruption that wouldnt be countenanced in most third world countries..there'd have been civil unrest years ago..still we put up with it.

Walk up marlboro st any day of the week and you'l think you are in the slums of calcutta.

The people who did this are walking away scott free and as a last spitefull conjurers trick they'll bankrupt the country and walk away with thier millions untouched.

The same people who allowed hundreds of millionaires to escape the tax net completely are now going to tax some poor bastard making 200 quid a week.

They deserve to hang..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭The After Hours Troll

Lets get serious here for a second. When is the next protest, the date exactly. Also:

1) How long do we have to drink beforehand?

2) Is there off licenses nearby?

3) Will the off licenses be open on the day?

4) Will the off licenses be dear?

5) Will drinking on the streets rule be allowed for the day?

6) Will there be weapons available nearby?

These my friends, are the most important questions to consider.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Lets get serious here for a second. When is the next protest, the date exactly. Also:

http://www.ictu.ie/press/2010/11/04/congress-calls-major-national-demonstration-for-27-november/

Knock yourself out!:D

I'm not in a trade union but I might tag along if there will be craic. Isn't there one on budget day?

Wherever there is the most potential for violence, I'll be there.

Wherever there is cheap alcoholic beverages, I'll be there.

Wherever there is misunderstood women, I'll be there.

For I am Super Troll.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JFlah

LolNoob wrote: »
    They were voted for by us, they were voted in by a majority of Irish voters. Just because it doesn't suit you, doesn't mean it's some national conspiracy and the frauds must be ousted. If you're not happy living in a democracy, I suggest you pack up your bags and move off to a nice dictatorship, where those in power got there not by being wanted, but by violent force. I'm sure you'd be happy in Korea or many parts of Africa.

In short, you're talking absolute nonsense. Arise people of Ireland? Utter nonsense.

Also, like it or not, Fianna Fail are the best party to Govern this country at the moment, and this is coming from someone who was quite opposed to them 6 months ago.
    I,m not sure it is a democracy when the clear will of the people is being ignored when constituencies are left unrepresented because of a government failing to hold a by election in their desperation to hold onto power ??? i may be wrong but surely a democracy means people having elected representatives which some members of this nation at present don,t . Besides all this does the arrogance of our government at the moment not just gall you , do you seriously think they give a damn about you me our families anyone besides themselves??

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JFlah

Also, like it or not, Fianna Fail are the best party to Govern this country at the moment

LMFAO ............................... arrrghhhh are you SERIOUS ???

Degsy wrote: »
    Relativity is everything...we might not actually be eating rats but some people are in dire economic difficulty and face losing the roof over thier heads..people are dying on hospital tolleys...crime is endemic in some places,junkies are everywhere..the country is on its knees and the scumbag FF cabal want to finish us off to save thier buddies who caused this mess.
    That is corruption that wouldnt be countenanced in most third world countries..there'd have been civil unrest years ago..still we put up with it.

Walk up marlboro st any day of the week and you'l think you are in the slums of calcutta.

The people who did this are walking away scott free and as a last spitefull conjurers trick they'll bankrupt the country and walk away with thier millions untouched.

The same people who allowed hundreds of millionaires to escape the tax net completely are now going to tax some poor bastard making 200 quid a week.

They deserve to hang..

Oh Jesus!

So it's all the Government's fault? The guy who is "losing the roof over his head" has no responsibility? He didn't live within his means?, save for a rainy day?, manage his finances?

Crime is being dealt with as best it can by AGS, what do you propose to do with Junkies? shoot them?

You say we put up with corruption etc for years without civil unrest? Why? Because the vast majority of people, the joe soaps, never had it so good. AND that is the problem, the nation, overall, touched the gold plated rainbow and clung onto it and thought it would last forever and our now pissed that it couldnt.

I do walk up marlboro street most days and it resembles nothing of a slum.

You speak bull**** tbh.

All the Dubs sticking up for each other it seems....

Ugh. Want anymore of my money King Dub?

Absolutely serious.

Fine Gael, who I once supported, are an absolute mess and proved their true colours not so long ago when the party "split" before a crucial moment for them, high ranked members voiced their disdain for Enda Kenny and yet two days later they were back suckling from his nipples when he invited them to. Every single elected member in Fine Gael is only out for one thing: to promote their own interests. They do not care about this country AT ALL. Not to mention their fancy sounding policies that they've no idea how much it will cost or the effect of them. It'd be an absolute disaster if they got into Government. You think a the current ruling party can't follow the will of the people? FG can't follow the will of the people by getting rid of Enda Kenny. If they do get elected, it will be from sheer desperation and they'll be out the door at the next opportunity once the country realises what a sham they are.

Labour are too linked to the Unions to ever do what is needed in this country. It'd be a complete non-starter.

Green party are a joke.

Sinn Fein are a bunch of scumbag knackers.

That leaves who?

Anyway, I'm done addressing you on the issue. It's clear you haven't the fainest idea what you're talking about and are living in some fantasy land. You've yet to string together one coherent point on this topic and keep blurting out "radicial" bull****. Good luck with your "fight" against the "traitors". Lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Oh dear God. If you actually believe this, it is very disturbing. Seriously my friend, seriously, stop talking, it is getting embarrassing if you compare slums in Calcutta to Marlboro Street.

Whatever your political views, each to their own, but these comments are just "something I can't write or a Moderator will give out to me if I say the actual words I am thinking".

All the Dubs sticking up for each other it seems....

Ugh. Want anymore of my money King Dub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Dublin4Life

Things really got out of hand on Wednesday, those ****ing socialists arghhhhhhhhh!!!

Myself and a few of the guys were at a lecture when we got a call from one of my mates about a riot so we came running down the road towards the riot, but when we seen it was the socialists who were getting a few slaps, the guys were to jump and help the guards, but we were told to keep back so we just looked on and we never Laughed so hard, then we went for pints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Exactly my situation after the Budget i reckon have a nice hoodie scarf and gloves ready !!!! see how our law enforcement like tackling grown adult men

When you're a student, aged between 18-23 or so, you're still not an adult man ? Do you get a special injection when you graduate that makes you grow up overnight ?

I do walk up marlboro street most days and it resembles nothing of a slum.
    Oh dear God. If you actually believe this, it is very disturbing. Seriously my friend, seriously, stop talking, it is getting embarrassing if you compare slums in Calcutta to Marlboro Street.

Don't know about this Marlboro Street you all talk about, presumably it's all full of smokers or something, but it's sounds horrible. I'm just glad it's nothing like the Marlborough Street I use on a daily basis which seems like the it's paved with gold in comparison to that other street with a similar name.

Things really got out of hand on Wednesday, those ****ing socialists arghhhhhhhhh!!!

Myself and a few of the guys were at a lecture when we got a call from one of my mates about a riot so we came running down the road towards the riot, but when we seen it was the socialists who were getting a few slaps, the guys were to jump and help the guards, but we were told to keep back so we just looked on and we never Laughed so hard, then we went for pints

aaah, tis great to be a student :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Guys every other party want FF too bring in this budget as they know if they dont ,then their party will have too do it.

Also while I do think the socailists who hijacked the protest are a bunch of ignorant basterds,the guards who started beating peaceful students are ****ing eejits as well.Do they get off on hitting peple who more than likely less than 10 years ago still believed in santa or somthing,Its la grown man/woman beating a****in child,its not right.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Seloth wrote: »
    ,the guards who started beating peaceful students

that didnt happen there is no video of this happening
    Its la grown man/woman beating a****in child,its not right.

i doubt the students(18yr olds plus, im 24 for example) would appreciate themselves being considered anything other then adults

also a friend of mine made a decent point i feel.

back in the 60's/70's when civil unrest by students and the population in general was more common(civil rights marches etc) the speeches that were heard were so moving and inspiring and the people were so knowledgeable and articulate

compare that with the interviews with the students that went out on wednesday (admitedly its nowhere near as big a deal as equal rights for everyone etc) and it makes you feel ashamed to be associated with this group. i dont expect everyone to be able to give an awe inspiring moving interview off the cuff but it would have been nice to see even one natural leader take over and give an articulate explanation of why they were there in the first place

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Sungodbr

I hear aldi are doin a special on rioting gear on Thurs!