Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Brothers wreck pub,90k bill in Damages....WTF??

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Waits for the PC Brigade.

And waits.....................

And waits....................

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

K-9 wrote: »
    Waits for the PC Brigade.

And waits.....................

And waits....................

Nee naw nee naw

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

PeakOutput wrote: »
    so we have pikeys who think they can do what they want

Lot's of people think they can do what they want.
    gardai who cant overwhelm a couple of drunk lads in a confined space
    Gardai retreated until the public order unit arrived at 8.20 pm and while they attempted to gain entry David sprayed a fire extinguisher out through a broken window. They successfully reclaimed the pub at 8.45pm.
    and a load of eejits standing around with nothing better to do then record it and stick it up on youtube and face****

sometimes......i despair for ireland

No law against what they(the eejits on the street) did, and if the Gardai had done anything you'd have people on here complaining about Po-lice brutality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭col.in.Cr

Gypsies,gotta love em

(take 2)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Scum:mad: Years ago I was walking through town late at night heading for "the" nightclub along with my friends 2 sisters. Walked around a corner and straight into a punch in the face. Wore specs at the time so they were broken and I was bruised and shocked. It was 3 travellers who had been doing this to guys walking alone or with girls.
    What they didn't realise was just behind me were 4 of my mates, all 6 ft plus, handy and 2 of them boxers he he he
    Man we wiped the streets with those scumbags. 20 years later that memory still makes me smile and I doubt they have forgotten it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I have bought a campsite in balbriggan. I plan to surround it with high fences and some walls, where i shall hunt the deadliest game of all...

Man.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

Jesus - that clip. Scumbags doesn't cover it!

Wagon wrote: »
    I have bought a campsite in balbriggan. I plan to surround it with high fences and some walls, where i shall hunt the deadliest game of all...

Man.

See thats where your wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

thebullkf wrote: »
    Hi folks dunno if its already been posted but...

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/euro90000-bill-for-repairs-as-brothers-wreck-local-pub-2250264.html

Question[B[/B]

wtf is wrong with people?[/qts" quote]

Some people are asshats. just happens to be a fact of life

i assume they're travellers.....[.quote]

They screamed "Travellers Rights " so that is a safe assumption.
    do they deserve their bad reputation?..

No doubt the reputations of the men involved will be damaged by the events.

..whats your view?

the actions of these men should be condemned.

only 9k compo between them....*gets violently sick*

justice system is a failure in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I am sick of waiting for the PC police so i will attempt it and by the way i am not trolling sir. You should not think that all people are the same, I blame the pub, its the against the law for the pub to serve drink to a person who is drunk which if they had the fifth pint they clearly were and in protest which got a little out of hand a bit of cosmetic damage was done to the pub nothing a lick of paint wouldnt fix

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

PC police

The PC Bridge are holding them up

I am sick of waiting for the PC police so i will attempt it and by the way i am not trolling sir. You should not think that all people are the same, I blame the pub, its the against the law for the pub to serve drink to a person who is drunk which if they had the fifth pint they clearly were and in protest which got a little out of hand a bit of cosmetic damage was done to the pub nothing a lick of paint wouldnt fix

Any chance you could put that in English?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The people who did this are pure scumbags.
    I read this article a few days ago:
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/ian-odoherty/ian-odoherty-travellers-must-solve-their-own-problems-2243184.html
    If you can't be arsed reading the whole bit, here's a good line that sums it up: "What sort of bar owner wants to lose money? Have you ever met a publican who would happily lose a day's takings simply because his loathing of Travellers is so intense that he is prepared to cut off his economic nose to spite his racist face? It. Doesn't. Make. Sense."

You know what? You probably think that you're a good, kind, liberal soul who is kind to children and small animals, but there is a very good chance that you are, in fact, nothing but a racist bigot and you should be ashamed of yourself.

How do you test this?

Well, here's a simple way -- when police raided the Dunsink halting site a few years back, they found thousands of euros worth of stolen power tools; counterfeiting equipment; illegal diesel; stolen cars and a large cache of illegal fireworks (in fairness, we've all used fireworks at some stage, so there's no point in getting on our high horses over that one).

Six people were arrested in the operation.

Now, do you think that was a good day's work from the gardai? Well, then you're a racist, because that operation directly targeted a particular group in society.

Or how about the practice of setting up shop on football pitches?

It's a bloody infuriating scam involving Travellers demanding money from parents to move on so their kids can simply play a game of ball. Now, do you think that's a scam or simply a desperate attempt by a noble, nomadic tribe to find somewhere to live?

I remember talking to Vincent Browne about this a few years ago and he exploded with his tiresome, manufactured outrage that anyone who objected to Travellers setting on pitches was racist.

But what about all the other fields that were adjacent to the pitches in the incident I referred to? That wasn't the point, he harrumphed; I, as a kid who just wanted to play football and any of the parents who objected to being blackmailed were, you guessed it, racist.

This kind of mind-boggling stupidity was at the heart of a rather farcical and unsuccessful RTE TV debate earlier week.

According to Travellers' spokespeople, any objection to their way of life was simply an exercise in bigotry, prejudice and racism.

Using the 'R' word is the first resort of the intellectually feeble.

After all, we're all part of one society and the constant beating of the same drum about racism and bigotry detracts from the argument.

Indeed, their constant arguing for recognition of separate ethnic status is little more than a cynical ruse to pave the way for more compo claims on the basis of racial discrimination.

But while they are utterly wrong on the race card, they are equally as correct when they complain about facing prejudice.

The problem there, however, is that the prejudice they encounter is often of their own making.

One of the most common complaints is how they're not allowed into pubs and hotels, and one particular source of annoyance is the fact that when there's a Traveller wedding or funeral, pubs in the locality will close.

This, we are informed, is another example of marginalising their community.

But let's try something new and exciting for a moment, shall we? Let's try to use a bit of logic.

What sort of bar owner wants to lose money? Have you ever met a publican who would happily lose a day's takings simply because his loathing of Travellers is so intense that he is prepared to cut off his economic nose to spite his racist face?

It. Doesn't. Make. Sense.

The problems within the Traveller community can only be solved by one group -- Travellers themselves. Not the State; not the countless quangos set up to protect them; not the half-wit sociologists who reckon they can make a name for themselves by conducting spurious research in the name of ethnology; and certainly not the settled community, who just want to be left in peace.

And the answer to the problem lies in education.

The only way they can escape the cycle of ignorance and poverty is to take a large sandblaster to that chip on their shoulder and realise that whingeing about people being mean to them is not going to solve anything.

Let's put it this way -- some Traveller leaders like to appropriate the language of the American civil rights movement in their use of laughably ridiculous phrases such as "the white, settled community".

Well, while we're at it -- take a look at Bill Cosby.

Cosby tore his own black community a new one a few years ago when he slammed parents for not ensuring their kids went to school -- as he famously said, "We have millionaire black basketball players who can't write a full paragraph" -- and he utterly castigated the speed with which blacks and their leaders blamed Whitey for all their problems.

What the Travellers need right now is their own Bill Cosby; someone from the inside who will stand up, say enough of the bull****, it's time to start talking some uncomfortable home truths.

But I won't be holding my breath.

And, obviously, I'm being racist . . .

- Ian O'Doherty

Irish Independent

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 8,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rhyme

I was around there when that was going on and it was mayhem. I don't hold it against the Gardai that they waited for the public order unit, running into a pub without a riot shield while a gang of these sorts of people hurl glass bottles and bits of furniture at you wouldn't have been the smartest of ideas.

They got off way too lightly, remorse my arse.

If anyone was curious, the pub is re-opened now, don't know who owns it but it's not a bad place. Before the 'lock-in' it was pretty dingy.

But yeah, PC brigade or not, the specific people in question are scum. They weren't being served drinks for a reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭thebullkf

90k worth of damage....

some tin of paint...think ill stick to whitewash:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

TheZohan wrote: »
    Lot's of people think they can do what they want.

edit; it still makes me despair

Gardai retreated until the public order unit arrived at 8.20 pm and while they attempted to gain entry David sprayed a fire extinguisher out through a broken window. They successfully reclaimed the pub at 8.45pm.

it took a full riot squad 25 mins to take back what looks like a small pub. i wonder how much damage could have been prevented if the first couple of gardai on the scene went in strong and did the job they are meant to do(they would have probably been up in front of the ombudsman alright but thats not right either)

No law against what they(the eejits on the street) did, and if the Gardai had done anything you'd have people on here complaining about Po-lice brutality.

i didnt say the cops should have done anything about it or that it was illegal im saying those eejits have nothing better to be doing then shouting at gardai trying to do their job and thinking they are hilarious shouting ' take them from behind' 25 times. people are ****ing stupid

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Padraig Nally would know what to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

The_Thing wrote: »
    Padraig Nally would know what to do.

The man is a hero.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Wagon wrote: »

Man.

Sure there's already one just outside of Balbriggan
    Rhyme wrote: »
    I was around there when that was going on and it was mayhem. I don't hold it against the Gardai that they waited for the public order unit, running into a pub without a riot shield while a gang of these sorts of people hurl glass bottles and bits of furniture at you wouldn't have been the smartest of ideas.

They got off way too lightly, remorse my arse.

If anyone was curious, the pub is re-opened now, don't know who owns it but it's not a bad place. Before the 'lock-in' it was pretty dingy.

But yeah, PC brigade or not, the specific people in question are scum. They weren't being served drinks for a reason.

Sadly that pub (John D's) served a useful purpose before the 'lock-in', it kept the folk of Balbriggan who you would not like to socialise with corralled into the one pub, now they've infested the other decent boozers in the town.

Agree with you the new pub (The Millrace) is indeed now a quality boozer, new owners I believe. Actually feel quite sorry for the owners of John D's as they were making great strides towards making it a decent pub in the months before the 'lock-in'.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

F'in pikeys. Was around my local shops an hour ago getting a take-away, when i hear a smash. I look out side and a drunk pikey oul one had crashed into my car. i got her to stop and pretended to be nice to her to get her details off her fone num, reg plate, name and address(there well known in the area and i know were she lives).anyway i was sly'ly recording her with my fone so have her admitting everything.
    After that i told her i was ringing the guards, to come and sort it out. She went ****in mad jumped in her van and drove off. She had no licence,insurance,tax and was drunk. Scum like that should be hung drawn and quartered. And to the PC brigade dont even bother trying to stick up for travelers they bring nothing but misery, SCUM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

rovert wrote: »
    Im not trolling just making fun at people's outrage over a type of sentence that is more serious than they think.

explain how it is more serious than an average AH'er would think?

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

F'in pikeys. Was around my local shops an hour ago getting a take-away, when i hear a smash. I look out side and a drunk pikey oul one had crashed into my car. i got her to stop and pretended to be nice to her to get her details off her fone num, reg plate, name and address(there well known in the area and i know were she lives).anyway i was sly'ly recording her with my fone so have her admitting everything.
    After that i told her i was ringing the guards, to come and sort it out. She went ****in mad jumped in her van and drove off. She had no licence,insurance,tax and was drunk. Scum like that should be hung drawn and quartered. And to the PC brigade dont even bother trying to stick up for travelers they bring nothing but misery, SCUM.

sympathies with you. there's no way you'd get away with such a thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

aDeener wrote: »
    explain how it is more serious than an average AH'er would think?

I think what he means by a suspended sentence is

suspended by the fcuking neck

• Registered Users Posts: 25,057 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

And just in time for a Pikey bashing thread!.. you should count yourself lucky. Not many would have the good fortune to go on such a rant with such recent bullshit at hand

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

bull sh!t my eye, im fuming here and wanted to vent my anger, and this thread was the perfect place for it. now run along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

I DEMANDSZ THE RITE TO DISKRIMINATEZ!
    I PAYZ MEIN TAXES!

Classic – we pay our taxes to fianna FAIL and the do gooder lying about climate change YELLOW party (set up to remove our money through taxes toward an unanswerable elite with the lie about climate change LOL)

there are always three sides to every story

yep

1. owner - tax PSRI and rate payer
    2. woker entitled to safe working environment
    3. gippo

Let tier these rights

They screamed "Travellers Rights "

justice system is a failure in this country.
    "no one has the right to do this to someone elses property"
    How can you say such a thing? It's their CULTURE, so they have every right!:(

yep thanks to do gooders they are entitled to kill, rob, beat and denigrate the rest of us 'settled' community ...

sure we are entitled to less rights than they are...
    The guys with the camera phones weren't breaking any laws or destroying anybody's property.

gaysus there must be a do gooder law somewhere against recording such expression of rights

10 year ban on alcohol consumption.
    10 year ban from any venue that sells alcohol.
    And then send them to some strict islamic country.

Now that's justice.

Bud why would you inflict these chaps on anyone else when our liberal do gooder politicians can inflict them upon us?

Folks they are generally criminals whose culture is criminality why not call it as it is?

Lets start jailing these non travelling criminals out to sea on an island and refusing them the dole on a pro rata basis?

Sure why don’t I give my job, rent, buy a caravan, become a repeated criminal, claim discrimination along with my dole and place on the housing list and every other benefit given by those that repress by my criminality?

I think along the lines toward neutering our mentally ill we should neuter these guys too, remove them to the islands (around Greenland) and remove their kids into care in Australia.

Why mess around and let this sort of sh1te continue for our children and our vunerable parents living on the west of the island?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

"no one has the right to do this to someone elses property"
    How can you say such a thing? It's their CULTURE, so they have every right!:(

No it isn't

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's enough now.