Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

My job as a: Garda Traffic Corps

• 10-11-2009 5:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭

Qualifications held: BA (Policing Studies), Dip in Forensic Psychology, National Qualification in Emergency Medical Technology to EMT level, Standard/Advanced car course, Motor bike course, Mountain Bike course, Van course and a range of Garda/Traffic related courses including Stinger, Speed detection etc.

Previous Jobs: Cant remember..... I was always a Garda!!

Daily/Weekly/Yearly Routine: Our shifts differ slightly from regular units. Our nights are 8pm to 4am, lates are 2pm to 10pm and earlies are 7am to 3pm. Every week we work two nights followed by two days followed by two earlies. So we start back Monday night, tues night, weds is a late, thurs is late, fri is an early as is sat. We are then off until Wednesday when it all starts again. Thats the gist of it. Thats a country roster....there is also a city roster that is different.

Age bracket: Late 20s.

Day In The Life:

Day in the life. Thats a hard one. No day is the same. Tomorrow I could go in and may go do a checkpoint....tomorrow I could be dispatched to a collision when I start work. It all differs. In regards what we do though it is wide and varied. Members of the Traffic Corps are still Gardaí. We can do anything a normal Garda can do. It is considered a specialised unit within AGS and you must complete 3 years on normal duties to apply for Traffic. In Traffic we specialise in....Traffic of course. Road Transport (trucks), modified cars, defective vehicles and serious/fatal traffic collisions fall to us. We also carry out checkpoints and speed checks. Our goal is to reduce the incidence of serious/fatal road traffic collisions.

General comments: Traffic have a wide and varied fleet of vehicles both marked and unmarked from 2ltr petrol Mondeos to 3ltr petrol mondeos, 4X4 Landcruisers, Vectra estates, Subaru's, Skodas and of course 750cc and 1300cc motorbikes. Some of our vehicles are equiped with the new Automated Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) system that can detect number plates and tell us if the vehicle is taxed, insured or is a suspect vehicle. Traffic is renowned within AGS for its vehicles and equipement which are normally a lot better than regular units.

I dont see AGS as a job. You must be cut out for it. Its quiet hard at times but is very rewarding personally. AGS Traffic Corps is something that is either for you or not. If you dont have an interest in vehicles its not for you.

I hope I covered most things. Questions are welcome!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

Q1 Just wondering how often you do checkpoints, speed, alcohol ect?

Q2 How many would you catch on a standard day?

Q3 How long do you have to spend in an office doing paper work each day?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

padocon wrote: »
    Q1 Just wondering how often you do checkpoints, speed, alcohol ect?

Q2 How many would you catch on a standard day?

Q3 How long do you have to spend in an office doing paper work each day?

1- Normal checkpoints can be done at any time, its up to each member. Same for speed checks. Mandatory Alcohol checkpoints are authorised by an inspector and so ye are directed to do them. Normally three/four a night.

2- I prefer the word detect. Catch is a harsh word. It really does depend on the day and what happens. Some days you detect no offences...more it could be up on 15-20. Everyday is different

3- Approx 1 hour per day. Roughly. Again some days we could sign on and their may be an RTC to go to. Its all relative to whats happening on that day.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,218 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Q- Do "ordinary" (not sure of the correct term, non management?) members of the Traffic Corps have any input into the location of speed traps?

Q- Are there any aspects of your job that really annoy you/ you disagree with?

Cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

Without bringing any bad memories whats the worst RTC you were at and how do you deal with the more serious one on a personal level?

Q- Do "ordinary" (not sure of the correct term, non management?) members of the Traffic Corps have any input into the location of speed traps?

Q- Are there any aspects of your job that really annoy you/ you disagree with?
    Cheers.

1- Speed detection zones are picked by the member themselves. Nobody tells us where to do the detections. The location of GATSO van however is directed by a Sergeant and must be in a pre determined area. See Garda website for details of these sites. We usually pick places that are collision prone zones (red, yellow and green zones) or areas that that member has attended an RTC that has involved injury.

Not really however im very slow to use the GATSO van....in fact I refuse to. I must prefer interaction with the public and allow themm to explain a reason if they have any.
    Without bringing any bad memories whats the worst RTC you were at and how do you deal with the more serious one on a personal level?

Without going into it a double fatal where both persons were decapatated. I knew one and thats what made that one hard.

Personally it doesnt bother me. I guess it begins to seem normal to you. When you see you first few you get a shock but after the first few you normalise to it. I know that sounds like we dont care but we do.....its just the way of dealing with it. Its a job....we have to do it.

If members are effected by something we have a three tier system. Firstly we have peer support where you can talk to a Garda who has senior service. If that doesnt resolve it we have a welfare officer in every region. and finally if that doesnt help the welfare officer can refer you to a psychologist for assistance.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Are promotions to other branches of the AGS hard to come of, example; if I got a forensic science degree and after three and a half years decided to apply for the Garda Technical Bureau, what would be the chances of me getting into the Garda Technical Bureau be

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭monaghanmissus

I know you're in a completly different section and I understand if you can't answer my question, but what does work in the forensic section involve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 S9M95

Do you need to pass Honours Irish to become join the Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

I know you're in a completly different section and I understand if you can't answer my question, but what does work in the forensic section involve?
    Take a look at this link first and if you have anymore questions feel free to ask....!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

S9M95 wrote: »
    Do you need to pass Honours Irish to become join the Gardai?
    No all you need is a D3 in Ordinary level Irish or a C3 in foundation...

What are the educational requirements?
    Candidates must have obtained in the Leaving Certificate:
    • A grade not lower than B3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level in Mathematics, and
    • A qualifying grade in 2 languages, 1 of which must be English or Irish, as follows:
      English: a grade not lower that D3 at Ordinary Level
      Irish: a grade not lower than C3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level
      Other language: a grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, and
    • A grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, in not less than 2 other subjects
    Or
    The Merit Grade in the Applied Leaving Certificate

unknown13 wrote: »
    Are promotions to other branches of the AGS hard to come of, example; if I got a forensic science degree and after three and a half years decided to apply for the Garda Technical Bureau, what would be the chances of me getting into the Garda Technical Bureau be

A Forensic Science degree would mean you would be certain to get into the Technical bureau. Time would be the only factor. Its the same as Traffic etc, we only take on people as we need them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 lplater

Can I ask what exactly is the penalty for driving without an accompanied driver but with my plates up? I know its a rule but I can't find anywhere that says what the penalty is.

Also if you stopped someone who was an older, sensible driver who had been driving safely without their driver would you be inclined to take their car away?

I have been getting loads of lessons and sat loads of pre-tests and passed them all just waiting on my test day to come up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,406 ✭✭✭RedXIV

My dad was a traffic cop, So I know all the different kinds of crap you have to deal with. So just saying: Keep up the good work! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

I have a cousin who is an ordinary Guard based in a Dublin station. She is of the opinion that the traffic corp should be split from AGS and set up as a completely seperate policing body with it's own rank structure & uniform retaining full police powers responsible for roadways and Motorways, like many state police organisations in America. What's your opinion?

lplater wrote: »
    Can I ask what exactly is the penalty for driving without an accompanied driver but with my plates up? I know its a rule but I can't find anywhere that says what the penalty is.

Also if you stopped someone who was an older, sensible driver who had been driving safely without their driver would you be inclined to take their car away?

I have been getting loads of lessons and sat loads of pre-tests and passed them all just waiting on my test day to come up.

There is no penalty for not being accompanied or no L plates. The prosecution for the above is actually No driving Licence, Section 40 RTA 1961/06

We have no power to take a car from someone who is a learner permit holder.
    MajorMax wrote: »
    I have a cousin who is an ordinary Guard based in a Dublin station. She is of the opinion that the traffic corp should be split from AGS and set up as a completely seperate policing body with it's own rank structure & uniform retaining full police powers responsible for roadways and Motorways, like many state police organisations in America. What's your opinion?

NO!! If that happened Traffic Corps would only be looking after traffic as a rule. At present, while Traffics main role is road safety and enforcement, they also respond to serious calls and calls for assistance by other members of AGS.

The structure for AGS TC is grand at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

At a checkpoint one night, a garda asked me my occupation and whether i was employed or unemployed!! Any idea why??

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

how hard is it, once you become a Garda, to get into Traffic corp? is it a case of who you know, or what do you do to get in?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Do ya get much abuse or attitude from joe public when stopped for an offence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 funnyMan101

Hooch wrote: »
    There is no penalty for not being accompanied or no L plates. The prosecution for the above is actually No driving Licence, Section 40 RTA 1961/06

We have no power to take a car from someone who is a learner permit holder.

so are you saying you take their license off them or them or you can only prosecute them if they do nat have a license ?

also another quick question can a garda of the traffic corps dip any diesel vehicle at any time? or can it only be done at a designated checkpoint ?
    also can ye only dip commercial vehicles?

as it seems many people are still getting away wirh using green diesel ?

:mad:

Apologies for the very LATE replies!! Don't know how I missed these
    yourpics wrote: »
    At a checkpoint one night, a garda asked me my occupation and whether i was employed or unemployed!! Any idea why??

No idea
    zuroph wrote: »
    how hard is it, once you become a Garda, to get into Traffic corp? is it a case of who you know, or what do you do to get in?

Extremely hard, generally there are 20/30 applications per place (but thats stopped now.....Traffic isn't being replenished at the moment due to the recruitment memorandum). Its not who you know, its what you do and how well you do it.
    racso1975 wrote: »
    Do ya get much abuse or attitude from joe public when stopped for an offence

No. Can only count a handful of times.
    so are you saying you take their license off them or them or you can only prosecute them if they do nat have a license ?

also another quick question can a garda of the traffic corps dip any diesel vehicle at any time? or can it only be done at a designated checkpoint ?
    also can ye only dip commercial vehicles?

as it seems many people are still getting away wirh using green diesel ?

:mad:

No we don't take their license of them, learner permit is not a license nor was the old provisional. We prosecute them in court for not holding a drivers license.

We have a power to dip vehicles but generally thats left to customs Officers.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭jwilco

1 : Do you have a quota to catch a certain number of speeding drivers each time?
    2 : If someone is over the spreding limit by less than 10% of the speeding zone do you let them off or is it down to each member to decide?

jwilco wrote: »
    1 : Do you have a quota to catch a certain number of speeding drivers each time?
    2 : If someone is over the spreding limit by less than 10% of the speeding zone do you let them off or is it down to each member to decide?

No we don't have quotas

Its down to each and every member to use their discretion as they see fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭jwilco

Thanks for your reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

1. Probably a stupid question but do you like/love your job?

2. Do you have any advice for anyone thinking of becoming a member of AGS?

big syke wrote: »
    1. Probably a stupid question but do you like/love your job?

2. Do you have any advice for anyone thinking of becoming a member of AGS?

I love it. If you don't love it, then its not a job for you.

Because of the memorandum all you can do is continue to college or do a few courses that would benefit your application. Join the reserves if you have the time to commit to it. And visit any open day at your local station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Hi Hooch,

I was wondering - what happens if you are pulled over with front window tint on a car.

What fines/penalty points do you get? Is it just a matter of ripping the window tint off?

Thanks a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Gulfstream757

Hi Hooch great thread,

I wanted to ask, have you ever pulled over another garda? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Dream Car and/or Dream Bike?

Pov06 wrote: »
    Hi Hooch,

I was wondering - what happens if you are pulled over with front window tint on a car.

What fines/penalty points do you get? Is it just a matter of ripping the window tint off?

Thanks a lot.

General penalty under the Road Traffic Act. Summons to court and up to €2,000 fine.

Generally I'd give the driver the option of removing
    Hi Hooch great thread,

I wanted to ask, have you ever pulled over another garda? Thanks

Of course. Several unmarked cars
    Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Dream Car and/or Dream Bike?

For work? The good auld Pan!! For me? BMW R1200gs

Car, I'm a simple man of simple pleasures. BMW 5 series estate for work. Audi R6 was always the car for me!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Do you consider it a waste of all your time training to do tax/insurance/nct checkpoints? (of course maybe you are checking vehicles for other reasons?)

Surely most of these could be easily automated now, perhaps with ANPR cameras fixed on motorway bridges etc, a lot of speed checking on the motorway could be done by average speed cameras too.