Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

04-05-2013, 23:55   #241
scriba

Sat 4/5/2013

18.00 km or so in 1:45:00 or so.

Nice easy run. Lower calf on the rhs felt tight this morning. It was the left side yesterday. Lots of painful rolling sorting it out. My tracking device went a bit crazy, or else I've now running sub one minute kms. Thankfully it was a familiar route, so I know the rough distance, hence the even numbers. Rounded down and up to the nearest km and min.

While out there, I spent a bit of time thinking about 4 weeks time. Can't believe I'm so calm about it. Going to do another 15-18k tomorrow, and a long MP run on Monday, calf muscles allowing. More nice weather, please! I need the exposure.

Week (18) P&D wk 14 Sessions WTD MTD YTD
Apr 29th - May 5th 2 30.85 km 30.85 km 903.32 km
06-05-2013, 08:33   #242
ncmc

Just noticed on the CCM thread that your gold/silver/bronze times are pretty similar to mine. What's your strategy, are you going to go out with the 3:45 pacers and push on or just stay ahead of them and do your own thing? I was hoping to go with option B as I think I'd have too much time to catch up with option A, but I'm worried I'd head out too fast and have a blow up. Seeing what a tough time everyone had in limerick has left me pretty nervous.
(2) thanks from:
07-05-2013, 16:46   #243
scriba

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncmc View Post
Just noticed on the CCM thread that your gold/silver/bronze times are pretty similar to mine. What's your strategy, are you going to go out with the 3:45 pacers and push on or just stay ahead of them and do your own thing? I was hoping to go with option B as I think I'd have too much time to catch up with option A, but I'm worried I'd head out too fast and have a blow up. Seeing what a tough time everyone had in limerick has left me pretty nervous.
Heya. I haven't seen the reports from Limerick yet, I think now I'll give them a skip.

My plan was to go run my own race originally, but I'm think 3:45 pacers now. I've been busy, sick and injured for most of the last two weeks, so only 2 of 10 possible sessions run. I'm looking for a full week this week, get my third 20 miler out of the way, and then to taper well. With my calves the way they are at the moment, I'm looking to get to the start line in one piece, and I should have enough done to hit 3:45, at least keep that pace for 20 miles. I'd love to say that I'll kick on at that point if I've anything left, but a) I won't be motivated to go quicker to shave all of a minute or two off, esp. since I have no marathon time to beat in the first place, and b) I won't have anything left

I don't want to blow up, but I don't want to go too slow either, which I'll find extremely difficult psychologically if I do. So 3:45 is looking like the start option at the moment. Plus no shortage of people to hang on to when the going gets a little tougher.
Thanks from:
07-05-2013, 19:44   #244
Steroo

I might be joining yis! Is there a 3:45 pacer? I didn't think so, not sure why.
07-05-2013, 20:37   #245
scriba

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steroo View Post
I might be joining yis! Is there a 3:45 pacer? I didn't think so, not sure why.
Now that you mention it, that rings a bell. We'll have to draw straws!
08-05-2013, 14:26   #246
ncmc

Crap, is there no 3:45 pacer? That's a major pain. The more I read from Limerick, the more I think sticking to 3:45 is a good idea. Better to push on and finish strong than blow up and hobble home. We have to break the P&D curse in Cork!
(2) thanks from:
08-05-2013, 15:10   #247
scriba

Quote:
Crap, is there no 3:45 pacer? That's a major pain. The more I read from Limerick, the more I think sticking to 3:45 is a good idea. Better to push on and finish strong than blow up and hobble home. We have to break the P&D curse in Cork!
The pressure! We need to rope in a pacer. Perhaps a suitable reward to entice one, like... a ham?
08-05-2013, 15:20   #248
docjewel

There were 3:45 pacers last year
2012 pacers Cork

So don't loose faith just yet
08-05-2013, 15:35   #249
menoscemo

Quote:
Pretty sure there will be 3:45 pacers...
08-05-2013, 16:00   #250
scriba

It'll be grand.
08-05-2013, 22:51   #251
tomred1N

Quote:
this 3.45 spot is starting to look like some form of sanctuary for faster runners...will there be room for everyone on the lifeboat

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion