Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

A little story with pics

• 17-06-2010 10:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭

27952_121970971167993_100000652713415_175702_4367816_n.jpg

27952_121970984501325_100000652713415_175703_6885453_n.jpg

27952_121970987834658_100000652713415_175704_1939355_n.jpg

27952_121970994501324_100000652713415_175705_5665193_n.jpg

27952_121971004501323_100000652713415_175706_4440239_n.jpg

32502_121973507834406_100000652713415_175719_8011412_n.jpg

32502_121973524501071_100000652713415_175720_6002963_n.jpg

Props to the guy who took them and put them on facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

that first picture, is very bizarre. The dude on the left, WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

It is like he was telelported from the 50's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I LOVE the spanish arch :D

#facebook page is funny where he labels the black fella 'shawshank redemtion guy'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

No stab vest eh>?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Props to the Garda - when/where were these taken ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I seriously can't stop laughing at the Morgan Freeman looking mother fúcker :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

SugarHigh wrote: »
    I seriously can't stop laughing at the Morgan Freeman looking mother fúcker :D

I wish I could tell you that Andy fought the good fight, and the Sisters let him be. I wish I could tell you that . . . . . . but prison is no fairy-tale world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

What's the story with these pics? When/where were they taken???

The Morgan Freeman-dude is cool tho. Just sits there and looks so cool, like a 1930's jazz musician or something.

And fair play to the Garda; that clown went for him, and looks to be trying to get him around the neck. Screw that, mace the fúcker and ram the ASP Baton up his arse!!! That'll learn him!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Theres something really poetic about the morgan freeman guy being the only one looking at the camera.

I seriously can't stop laughing

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I LOVE the spanish arch :D

#facebook page is funny where he labels the black fella 'shawshank redemtion guy'

They called him Red.

Something to do with being Irish...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

LOL that black guy is like the observer in Fringe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

They called him Red.

Something to do with being Irish...
    In the book he was Irish. There's a line in the film where someone refers to Red as being Irish and it makes no sense because he's not Irish in the film:D

I think they just left it in for the laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Tinker13

This story is screaming out for captions....

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Tinker13 wrote: »
    This story is screaming out for captions....

Agreed, next weeks caption comp perhaps? :D

HAHA!

I was there when it happened! It went like this:

A lot of people were down the Spanish Arch drinking. Suddenly this guy started taking off his clothes and getting down to his boxers (like in the pictures). So the guard tried to stop him, only the dude started fighting back and tried to push the poor guard into the Claddagh. At which point he took out his mace, sprayed him in the eyes, took out his baton (as you can probably see in the second last picture there), and hit the guy once or twice.

Once he hit the guy, a group of about 20 people who had been sitting on the steps drinking, stood up and started yelling for him to stop. Probably came very close to a mini riot had the guard continued.

After about 5 minutes backup arrived and everything went back to normal.

I should probably add that what you can't see in the pictures is that the guard almost went into the Claddagh. Maybe about 2 steps more and he would've been in.

@Morlar - it was probably about a week or 2 ago now.

Oh and the guard was also by himself when this happened. And once the guy got maced, a small crowd gathered around - must have been pretty scary for the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

HAHA!

I was there when it happened! It went like this:

A lot of people were down the Spanish Arch drinking. Suddenly this guy started taking off his clothes and getting down to his boxers (like in the pictures). So the guard tried to stop him, only the dude started fighting back and tried to push the poor guard into the Claddagh. At which point he took out his mace, sprayed him in the eyes, took out his baton (as you can probably see in the second last .picture there), and hit the guy once or twice

nice one, but looks like hes trying to shove the baton up his arse :D

any idea whats the craic with the morgan/john coltrane chap, looks like he's sitting on old fifties style suitcase too, brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

27952_121970971167993_100000652713415_175702_4367816_n.jpg

Sense: This picture makes none.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

What is the Guard holding in the picture?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    What is the Guard holding in the picture?

A fat guy.

nice one, but looks like hes trying to shove the baton up his arse :D

It sorta does, doesn't it? Though I was looking at that picture a bit carefully, and you can actually see him being hit with the baton pretty hard - look at the leg.

hittingleg.jpg

It must've hurt like a mofo! It's also pretty funny to see the smug look on the face of the guy wearing the sunglasses

smug.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Darksaga87 wrote: »
    A fat guy.
    No he isn't. In the picture. In his left hand

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    No he isn't. In the picture. In his left hand

In which picture? In one he's holding a can of pepper spray and in another he's holding a baton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

discover-ireland.jpg

drunk-discover-ireland.jpg

fight-discover-ireland.jpg

pub-discover-ireland.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I declare Dennis the Stone king of the internets!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

bleg wrote: »
    I declare Dennis the Stone king of the internets!!

Well that counts out that picture for the photoshop competition anyway :P He's already won it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

pub-discover-ireland.jpg

There's a lovely Aer Lingus ad in Bond street station at the moment for weekend flights to Dublin.

I think this would look quite good beside it. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

It sorta does, doesn't it? Though I was looking at that picture a bit carefully, and you can actually see him being hit with the baton pretty hard - look at the leg.

hittingleg.jpg

It must've hurt like a mofo! It's also pretty funny to see the smug look on the face of the guy wearing the sunglasses

smug.jpg

The guy with the smug face is the VIPER
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hardy-Bucks/104117230526#!/photo.php?pid=2591736&op=1&o=global&view=global&subj=104117230526&id=566868167&ref=pf

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

discover-ireland.jpg

drunk-discover-ireland.jpg

fight-discover-ireland.jpg

pub-discover-ireland.jpg

Excellent. Good Job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

bbmtn.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

This is one of the best threads I've seen in a while. :D