Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sarkozy Gone

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The French constantly embarrass themselves in global combat, When I get power over you people I'll attack France first as I feel even a peasant race such as ourselves could take a bunch of cigarette smoking, wine drinking, flamers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The French constantly embarrass themselves in global combat, ........

You're sure on that one, now?

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

They held the English with the biggest naval fleet at it's time to a 100 yr war.
    Sure we could launch a strike first with our cesna 172 followed by the pilatus.
    Sure the French only have those damn Dassault Rafales or the Mirage that is no match to our airforce.
    We wouldn't last a landing on there beach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tym

The French constantly embarrass themselves in global combat,

May not count as global, but Napolean kind of proves that wrong. It was the closest thing to global in that time.

Does anybody think taxing people who make more than 1.3 mil per year 70 percent is a bit much:S
    I guess if it's on the upper that's grand, but if it's in total...yeah, if I worked hard for my money I wouldn't want just under 3/4 of it to be gone:S

Tym wrote: »
    May not count as global, but Napolean kind of proves that wrong. It was the closest thing to global in that time.

Does anybody think taxing people who make more than 1.3 mil per year 70 percent is a bit much:S
    I guess if it's on the upper that's grand, but if it's in total...yeah, if I worked hard for my money I wouldn't want just under 3/4 of it to be gone:S

Its never going to be 3/4's once tax breaks and allowances are worked in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,215 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

hondasam wrote: »
    She will leave him now, I would put money on it.

who else would have her, have you seen her pics lately she is ruined with surgery gone wrong. She is not a pretty face.
    Yeah, monstrous-looking - clearly. No man would fancy her at all.

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

Sarkozy has a rather punchable head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

The French constantly embarrass themselves in global combat, When I get power over you people I'll attack France first as I feel even a peasant race such as ourselves could take a bunch of cigarette smoking, wine drinking, flamers.
    You obviously weren't following the Libya crisis then. Sarkozy was impressive there, even though I don't like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭ Frank Square Skunk

BUH BYE

D1CKHEAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,215 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Socialist doesn't automatically mean soviet style oppression btw.
    There's some very silly hysteria over that word

• Pedant wrote: »
    If a party started up in the UK tomorrow that calling itself "The National Socialist Party", I'd be worried. Usually a party's name is a good indicator of their mindset.

Tell that to Eamon Gilmore and the Labour party who are currently in Fine Gaels pocket and who are far removed from their original ideals of Jim Larkin and Connolly.

Labour's way my ar*e...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Hayester

Good riddence imo i never liked him.

• Crikey, I'm used to reading low-brow posting on this forum here but this thread really takes the biscuit.

While I'm glad to see the end of the Sarkozy-Merkel alliance, I'm not glad to see the EU being thrown so violently into uncertainty. Coupled with Greece's antics, there is no telling what is ahead.

We want stability in the EU, not uncertainty. Uncertainty and a drop in confidence in the Union and its currency are not good things, no matter what some here may like to think.

We wont get stability from further Austerity....far far from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Why are people trying to pretend that a man who wants a marginal tax rate of 80%, wants to inflate a laughably bloated public 'service', to lower retirement age and to push back further GDP parity, is only a mild socialist?? The man's a disgrace and typical of all these jealous mean socialists who want everyone else to pay for their way of life. Sickening.

La France - R.I.P.

enda1 wrote: »
    Why are people trying to pretend that a man who wants a marginal tax rate of 80%, wants to inflate a laughably bloated public 'service', to lower retirement age and to push back further GDP parity, is only a mild socialist?? The man's a disgrace and typical of all these jealous mean socialists who want everyone else to pay for their way of life. Sickening.

La France - R.I.P.

Funny, I'm fairly sure we're all paying for the capitalists at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

Tell that to Eamon Gilmore and the Labour party who are currently in Fine Gaels pocket and who are far removed from their original ideals of Jim Larkin and Connolly.

Is Hollande in coalition with anyone?

Nodin wrote: »
    Funny, I'm fairly sure we're all paying for the capitalists at the moment.

No. We're all paying for the crony state capitalists at the moment, more attuned to the socialism as it employs state intervention in the economy. Thanks for reinforcing the false left-right dichotomy.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,274 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Dudess wrote: »
    Socialist doesn't automatically mean soviet style oppression btw.
    There's some very silly hysteria over that word

Indeed. It's far from 80's militant left Labour as well, which while it makes this result significant, is far from the deal breaker some think.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

We want stability in the EU, not uncertainty. Uncertainty and a drop in confidence in the Union and its currency are not good things, no matter what some here may like to think.

Theoretically, I agree with you. And austerity may well be what is needed to bring financial stability. But only in theory.

As it will also be accompanied by political and social instability which will being the whole thing crashing down just as surely as worsening financial problems will.

100% austerity as we have now is clearly NOT the answer. Or Europe will implode.

Pedant wrote: »
    No. We're all paying for the crony state capitalists at the moment, more attuned to the socialism as it employs state intervention in the economy. Thanks for reinforcing the false left-right dichotomy.

Can never find a scotsman when ye need one, can ye?

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭wingsof daun

The world will remember Sarkozy as the guy, French president who took money from Gaddafi to become president of France, and then killed him. This is the new history of France.

Nodin wrote: »
    Can never find a scotsman when ye need one, can ye?

I know of one, Adam Smith. He's dead a couple of hundred years, unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Was the "great" Eamon in Paris last night to support Sarko??
    would love to see the look on his ugly face when the result came through.
    might even try to align himself to Hollande now. can claim that he once shared the same ideals. If the cap fits,wear it Eamon:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

washman3 wrote: »

Was the "great" Eamon in Paris last night to support Sarko??
    would love to see the look on his ugly face when the result came through.
    might even try to align himself to Hollande now. can claim that he once shared the same ideals. If the cap fits,wear it Eamon:D:D
    He certainly wasn't supporting Sarkozy as Labour are a sister party of the socialist party in France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Goodbye nicolas. :-*