Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Post Pictures Of Your Catch. (Mod note in OP 14/05/2015)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

I'm assuming you put him in your breast pocket and carried him around for the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,998 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

JJayoo wrote: »
    I'm assuming you put him in your breast pocket and carried him around for the day.

Well his spines are venomous, so I decided it was best not to.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

If I pulled that in i'd surely stab myself! whats a prick like from one of those?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

ardinn wrote: »
    11045424_10152936376028409_812799835894514885_n%201.jpg

Caught today after a fierce drought! Happy with that.

What's the sore does anyone know - I presume leeches as they tend to get them during the winter or something else??

Could be a few things.
    It looks too big to be lamprey bite as freshwater lamps are quite small.
    A stab from a heron, cormorant is a possibility.
    Another would be from fish fighting as spawning was very recently and may possibly still be happening in some parts.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,998 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If I pulled that in i'd surely stab myself! whats a prick like from one of those?

won't kill you, but its supposed to be very sore and stays irritated from the vemon. Described like a sore beesting.

Shortly after I reeled in that one, a older guy on the boat reeled in two bigger ones on the one line (2 hooks). They were about 30cm each, a lot fatter so a decent bit of flesh on the sides.

Snapper still alludes me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Comerman

[IMG][/img]2jfx2yc.jpg
    12.5LB brown trout caught in Stradbally lake on a black buzzer.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Comerman wrote: »
    [IMG][/img]2jfx2yc.jpg
    12.5LB brown trout caught in Stradbally lake on a black buzzer.

That's a monster. Great catch there comerman

Well done

Just caught there
    Cracking fish id say it was last years stocked fish and swam up from the lake to river. Great fight. Have no scales but I'd put him near 4lb anyway
    image_zpsemng9ish.jpg

Just caught there
    Cracking fish id say it was last years stocked fish and swam up from the lake to river. Great fight. Have no scales but I'd put him near 4lb anyway
    image_zpsemng9ish.jpg

Well done. A smasher

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well done. A smasher

Cheers man first real day out in ages and only had tiddlers till now was gonna be my last cast

Fly or spinner?

Reggie. wrote: »
    Fly or spinner?

Minnow

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭jack01986

Swam down from the lake?

jack01986 wrote: »
    Swam down from the lake?

He was caught In a river that comes from a lake that is stocked

Oh right I was thinking it was the dodder. Great catch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

A fine trout dodderangler well done. Nowhere near 4lbs though Imo, closer to 2 I'd say.

Auldloon wrote: »
    A fine trout dodderangler well done. Nowhere near 4lbs though Imo, closer to 2 I'd say.

She wasn't 4 despite me guess at her but she was 3.2lb.
    Still a grand trout to get on a minnow and great scrap. Pulled a good bit if line off me

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

after 10 or so outings since i started fishing,
    I finally caught my first fish!
    absolutely delighted is an understatement!!

only a small fellow, but i think he knew how happy i was.

Br4tPr1nc3 wrote: »
    after 10 or so outings since i started fishing,
    I finally caught my first fish!
    absolutely delighted is an understatement!!

only a small fellow, but i think he knew how happy i was.

Congratulations :D

Love it when someone gets their rewards. You'l surely get the bug now :D

First Dogfish of my Life so was happy to be fair - I pulled another 5 out after this and realised why people hate them - still, another species racked up :D

Untitled_1.jpg

^^ just a tip on dogfish.
    Bring it's tail up to hi head and put your hand on either side of his head and tail.
    Stops them wrapping around your hand and tearing shiite out of your skin.
    Can be messy little ba5tards. :)

Ha - thats a still from a video, they are the curliest wrigliest strongest little feckers, I have videos of 3 of them and could not get any of them to sit straight for 1 second to get a decent shot. And I was trying the curl with them - they would take the hand off ya!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Ye must have awful soft hands lads! Never had any bother with doggies... thornies are a different matter... :D

Is there much to handling rays? Kinda weary about catching one by accident and it doing a steve irwin on me or are they generally fine to deal with around irish waters?

There are some stingrays caught around the country so it is possible. The common ones though wouldn't have a stinger just some thorny spikes you can hold them by the wings well I did when I've caught them. No idea who the lad is but you can hold them like this.
    shore-thornback-3.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 Swing4

Hi. Maybe some love this :D Click on image, it's a big monster ha ha
    46a9fd407673038.jpg

My first Seabass :)

I look very surprised - Not sure why!!!

20150507_012931.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,708 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Nice one ardinn. Are there many other portable lighthouses in your area :D

Ha - you should see my good 1 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭con___manx1

My first Seabass :)

I look very surprised - Not sure why!!!

20150507_012931.jpg

Nice fish. Did you catch it on bait or lure ?