Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Is that in the Mg O.o
    SMART I reckon

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

johnos1984 wrote: »
    SMART I reckon

Yup, bang on! :)

I got the bulbs in a local motor factors, but they're a fscking nightmare - made somewhere in the far east, and you've to bend the pins in the bulb to make them actually contact the PCB in the dash. Won't be doing the rest of the LEDs, as there are none! My last MINI I'd everything done, every switch, every backlight too.

Will try to take more photos of the enclosure as I get it done. It's just taking an age, and everything else seems to take my time :/

Here's what I did to it about 3 weeks ago.

photo5k.jpg

photo6la.jpg

photo7g.jpg

248665_10150272341703413_547383412_8961439_6714619_n.jpg

That looks like a rucksack :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

In theory, if you had reall small hands and ESP you could do it without taking out the unit, I think, but that's how the manual said to do it.

Haha brilliant. :) Sounds like a nightmare.

Here's what I did to it about 3 weeks ago.

How the hell did you make that?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Sorry but that looks awful

Savage workmanship though, absolutely top drawer looking to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

lucyfur09 wrote: »
    No, it's really really really really dark blue:D

yup, he needs priest socks allright :D

photo5k.jpg

Just for comparison's sake :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

RoverJames wrote: »
    Just for comparison's sake :)

Why not just buy a slightly bigger car? :confused:

RedorDead wrote: »

Wait a sec there and I'll PM the PaintDoctor chap and report back ...................

............ not :pac:

Vertakill wrote: »
    How the hell did you make that?!

Wish I could take the credit, it's a kit which is popular with companies in Germany who do contracting - electrical/pc/maintenance work in the bigger cities. Very hard to get outside Germany, so some lovely discussions were held with ze fatherland to get one shipped. Took forever to get here, and then when it arrived, the fibreglass was in such bad shape it took forever to get smooth too.

To each their own. Gets nothing but positive reviews in the flesh, and if I listened to what everyone liked, I'd end up going off my game inside some Toyota washing machine. You've got to trust me that in photos, it's completely naff - even I thought so when ordering it - but it's when you see it in real life you start gigging like a child saying gizzago.
    RoverJames wrote: »
    Savage workmanship though, absolutely top drawer looking to be fair.

Cheers RJ! Next up is to build some racking and pull out drawers to hold all the kit, it's just loose inside. I'll be doing that at the end of next week hopefully :)

Oh, and tomorrow I have some fancy cnc machined paddles for the gearshift on the steering wheel coming too replace the crappy plastic ones which're there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

donedeal.jpg

RedorDead wrote: »

I had a slightly bigger car, which was completely wasted. This is the perfect size for me and my tools, and occassionally the dog. It's got heated leather bucket seats, aircon, satnav, bluetooth, panoramic glass roof, paddle shift gearbox, 120bhp, weighs as much as a shoe, is RWD, and goes like stink. Cost peanuts to tax, insure and run and is still grand on a long journey - brought it home from the UK and it was great craic.

Plus, it's also my business car, so it attracts attention and is great for advertising. It's like being in a Go-Kart every day, and I love it. And the noise out of the engine's something else :D

There's all that, and I hate normal cars. Last toy was a JCW works. Now I've this, god only knows what's next.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭mysillyusername

The odometer tipped over 100000 miles... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,666 ✭✭✭mondeo

Today I put my car up for sale because I'm f~~~in sick of it

• Registered Users Posts: 15,480 ✭✭✭✭vectra

There's all that, and I hate normal cars. Last toy was a JCW works. Now I've this, god only knows what's next.

Octavia :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭GTE

A bit of a greasy job but to get rid of a squeak in the wiper mechanism I took it out, took it apart and rebuilt it today.

Found out that a rubber o ring had perished letting in some water into parts of the mechanism and caused some damage.

Nice evening in the sun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

vectra wrote: »
    Octavia :pac:

Or not!

PD's smart is one of the coolest cars I've seen in a long time tbh. Nice to see it post op too:p;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Yup, bang on! :)

You should extend it back further, put a sh!t load of lead in the very back and put on a wheelie bar biggrin.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Feck yis, reading this thread I wanted to do something. Pics to follow in a bit ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

sentient_6 wrote: »
    Attacked my leather seats with Autoglym leather cleaner & care balm....& now kinda regreting it as it smells like sh*t. I love their interior shampoo but i think ill go back to simoniz wipes for the seats.
    gliptone is the only thing for leather!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

photo.jpg?t=1308946455

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

fitted headlight washers and built a fairly factory looking switch panel for it , pics to follow

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

230035_10150244579123413_547383412_8711883_6032441_n.jpg

Ehhhhh, anyone? No? Just me so...

Huhh??:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Looks like a VAG ;):confused:.

Hal1 wrote: »
    I repeat.....It's a SMART

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

johnos1984 wrote: »
    I repeat.....It's a SMART

I wasn't referring to the car, oh nm. :P

I'm sorry, I'm stressed out due to what you refer too ;)

PMSL
    Just spotted what voodoomelon was on about there now..