Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Richer Sounds

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭the corpo

big kudos to john and company from me too. i ordered a bunch of stuff only for john to step in and offer much better gear for the same price. seeing as the originally ordered gear was already on it's way to dublin he brought the new stuff down himself and swapped them for me!

now that's service!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭sweetie

I'm interested in a cheap bedroom lcd. How come the Samsung SM2032MW is 179 on the uk site and 199 on the irish one. Is this a decent model or would the Philips 20PFL4122 be a better bet. What price is shipping?

Regards

• Registered Users Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭goodlad

This thread makes for very interesting reading.
    One thing crosses my mind, it might be best to get a Richer Sounds Sub Forum added to Commercial Interaction. Rather than all this going on in bargain alerts.

The Komplett commercial Interaction is brilliant and i can only assume givin the interest in this thread that Richer Sounds having there own commercial Interaction section would be brilliant!

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=241

• Registered Users Posts: 10,571 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

John, do you know if you'll be getting in the Pioneer 1018 av receiver any time soon?

I'm living in Japan at the moment, and might hold off getting one over here if you guys can get it in over the next few months.

Torn between a cheap 1017 (at about 230 euro), the Onkyo 606 (at about 390 euro) and the new 1018...

• Company Representative Posts: 9,457 ✭✭✭Richersounds.ie: John

Goodlad, Great minds etc! we have just applied to Boards in the last 24 hours to get a dedicated Commercial thread for Richer Sounds - ( I guess that is what we are supossed to do!) I will keep you posted as and when we get white smoke. It would be great to have somewhere where we can post alerts for the Richer fans. Thanks again for the posting!, John Mc

John McDonald / Managing Director / Richer Sounds Ireland / www.richersounds.ie / johnmc@richersounds.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭ Ridge Tart Glassware

When's your summer sale starting John?

SUMMER SALE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sure we are always on sale man!!!! How can we get these prices any lower!!!! Seriously though we are closing the retail down in Belfast on the 11th for 4 days to completely gut and refit the place as it is possibly the messiest shop in Ireland! so if anyone wants to make a crazy Bid for any display stuff I will knock it out at crazy price - we have just agreed with Boards to get our own Commercial thread as well where we will give deal alerts specific to boardies. Hey the guys who run Boards are dead on aren't they??? Just spoken to Gerry - really nice! So we should have the dedicated thread up and running next week - however here is an early scoop just for Boardies to start - we have just received the Philips AJ5100 Dab & FM radio - retails at €99 - exclusive to Boardies for a week at €29.99......... (cheapest price I can find online for it is €60 from ASDA!!!!!!!!!

John McDonald / Managing Director / Richer Sounds Ireland / www.richersounds.ie / johnmc@richersounds.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Can we pick up DAB transmissions in the Republic? I thought it was UK only.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

quarryman wrote: »
    Can we pick up DAB transmissions in the Republic? I thought it was UK only.

47% of the population is covered in Ireland with 21 stations available.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Zonda999

There are trial RTE DAB services going on now on the East coast, Cork and Limerick at the moment afaik

johnmc wrote: »
    John Mc From Richer Sounds here again - what a good Idea - special deals for Boardies - How about free shipping to start?? Of course if anyone is looking for a deal they can just give me a shout personally , and to answer the last posters query - yes its unlikely that we will ever be back down South - over 50% of our business in now on-line, and about another 15% is specialist multi Room and Custom install and its just too damn expensive to retail in dub,in (but I am sure we could be persuaded if we really thought there was a demand), Thanks again for all your kind comments - hope the Tannoys are still going well! john Mc

Can we still get the free shipping???Never bought off Richer Sounds before but then again i've never really bought that much AV stuff.Prices look great n Uk site though, i have to say.I will definately be getting a 37" or 40" Full HD LCD in the next few months but i've been quoted up to 125£(Pounds sterling) for shipping from some UK online shops:(:(.Really annoying because it makes them barely better value than buyin in a bricks 'n mortar shop.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,307 ✭✭✭✭alastair

here is an early scoop just for Boardies to start - we have just received the Philips AJ5100 Dab & FM radio - retails at €99 - exclusive to Boardies for a week at €29.99......... (cheapest price I can find online for it is €60 from ASDA!!!!!!!!!

Can't say no to that! I'll be having one of those.
    How do you buy at this price?

Guys,thanks for the posts and queries - and yes yuo can received DAB in most built up areas in Ireland - and even if yuo cannot it's an FM radio as well and it looks cool not like those normal naff retro jobbies.

To answer Zondas query we already offer Boards members free delivery on all HiFi separates and 1/2 price specailist Courier delivery on all TV's (£20!) anywhere in Ireland - however on the AJ5100 I have just ben told in the last 10 minutes that we have to charge £7.99 or €9.99 as we are losing our shirts on these - however if they are collected either from our Belfast Richer Sounds Store or from our Dublin Philips Shop there is of course no carriage charge - Please note they are stricty ONE PER CUSTOMER

To answer Alastairs query - To order just mail sales@richersounds.ie with your contact details and we will be in touch by return.

As ever you can Pm or mail me at johnmc@richersounds.ie if you have any queries!

Thanks again,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Good offer John:)

Mail sent to Sales and also looking for pricing on 2 x Samsung Series 6 LCD TV's.

Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

I've been dithering for a while over updating my 4 year old sony home theatre equipment to get the most out of blu ray movies and ps3 games. After a lot (and I mean a lot) of research, I decided on the onkyo 606. However the price of it in Peats was €650 (later I found it was €499 in Richersounds) with a similar amount for what were fairly average speakers.

Then I came across this thread and pm'd JohnMc for some advice and now I've ended up with the more powerful Onkyo 875 and great speakers from Richersounds.ie for less than I would have paid in Peats for a less powerful amp and poorer speakers. I even got a great deal on some quality speaker cable and of course free delivery. Apart from the great deal (that I'm still smiling about), the lads in Richersounds were a pleasure to deal with. No hard sell just some good advice and all done in a pleasant and courteous style thats been sadly lacking in this country now for years (e.g. being ignored for 15 minutes while the Peats lads discuss their night out!). Give John Mc or Kenny in Richersounds in Belfast a shout and they'll sort you out some great gear for less than you'll pay for inferior equipment down here. Thanks again John and Kenny.

Now must sit back and wait for the new av gear while trying to think up an excuse to tell the wife why we won't be going on holiday now - sure isn't spending time together more important than time in the sun (nope, I don't think she'll buy that either!). Maybe I'll get the Philips radio for her that John Mc mentioned above ;)

Today's deal is for the serious boys and girls out there (one Boardie has already had a sneaky preview of this yesterday...)

Onkyo TXSR875 7.1 Receiver - was £999.99 (as in a grand) now reduced to £599.95 - Mainly silver in stock but a few Black available. Euro price is €789.95

See the What Hi-fi Review here http://whathifi.co.uk/Review/Onkyo-TX-SR875/

€1599 today in Peats online
    €1599 today online in Munster Sounds online

€789.95 In Richer Sounds Ireland for Boardies.

Full 2 Year Warranty - Brand New Boxed Stock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(And free delivery too for Boardies....)

To grab one just mail me directly on johnmc@richersounds.ie or Geeky Dave who runs our Belfast store and mail order outlet at davemc@richersounds.ie or using the old dog 'n bone on 04890.33.00.44 or you can call my office direct on 01.843.9231...

Don't forget our mega DAB offer - The Philips A5100 was €99 - now down to just €29.99 for boardies - huge reaction in the last 24 Hours but still good stocks remaining,

Thanks for all your kind comments and as ever if we can help - just drop me a line,

See you all later!

John Mc

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

John, Can you supply the Samsung 40" LCD.
    Its £549 in currys (€693)
    Can you beat that?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Great offers John, I am sure you will get great custom off boards. Keep them coming..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

At risk of this turning into a Richersounds love-fest :D I'm a happy customer going back years. I vividly remember saving up for my first seperates system over a decade ago and talking to the guys in the Dublin store about it. Despite the fact that I was very definately on the budget end of things they were happy to advise me at length on what would work best together and then cut me a great deal on top of what was already the best prices in the city.

There was, and still is, a genuine and very infectious enthusiasm about audio/visual technology from the staff and an interest in customers that was uncommon ten years ago and unheard of today.

I've bought piles of stuff from you since John and there was only one screw up (way back in 2000) with an expensive order for a dvd surround sound system which was accidently sold to someone else before I got to the store. I'd waited ages for it to come in so you made a quick call and promptly bumped me upto the premium unit in stock (some 40% more expensive) as an apology :eek:

For what it's worth everything I ever got there is still going strong including stuff like the NAD amp and Wharfdale speakers that were my first ever purchases (now serving duty hooking upto my mac :) )

I'll be heading upto Belfast shortly to see what I can pick up. Shame more companies aren't run with the same philosophy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

nothing like a bit of nostalgia huh, RS persecuted me when I las in London with their virtually free batteries and a nice seat to rest my weary legs,unfortunately my original purchase of Mission 760i's and Nad gear was nicked but I still have my Marantz Amp/CD/Tuner separates and Mission 300'a floorstanders that I got in the Holborn branch back in 95, and they are still my main setup, never had a reason to change them and never anything but good things to say about RS......

God Boardies - this does feel like a memory lane love fest! As before if I can help anyone in any way to deserve this just drop me a line and we will do our best to assist! Thank you all again, John Mc (PS No free tellies.....Don't even ask....)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭Julez

Today's deal is for the serious boys and girls out there (one Boardie has already had a sneaky preview of this yesterday...)

Onkyo TXSR875 7.1 Receiver - was £999.99 (as in a grand) now reduced to £599.95 - Mainly silver in stock but a few Black available. Euro price is €789.95

See the What Hi-fi Review here http://whathifi.co.uk/Review/Onkyo-TX-SR875/

€1599 today in Peats online
    €1599 today online in Munster Sounds online

€789.95 In Richer Sounds Ireland for Boardies.

Full 2 Year Warranty - Brand New Boxed Stock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(And free delivery too for Boardies....)

To grab one just mail me directly on johnmc@richersounds.ie or Geeky Dave who runs our Belfast store and mail order outlet at davemc@richersounds.ie or using the old dog 'n bone on 04890.33.00.44 or you can call my office direct on 01.843.9231...

Don't forget our mega DAB offer - The Philips A5100 was €99 - now down to just €29.99 for boardies - huge reaction in the last 24 Hours but still good stocks remaining,

Thanks for all your kind comments and as ever if we can help - just drop me a line,

See you all later!

John Mc

God I wish I had money, a reciever like this would be a great investment, it'd last years!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭kingaaa

All the 32" philips lcd's are gone - i'm sick as a pig!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭quenching

....picked up the Philips DAB radio from Ashley in The Philips Store on Friday, many thanks indeed. Now tell me this, do you have any of those fancy Philips AJL305 Clock radios, the one with the voice recording memo feature? Might be able to seek one into the house if the price was right!!

Thanks again.
    Q

What happened the richersounds forum in the consumer interaction section??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1105

It seems to be missing on the drop down, but I subscribed to it. Safer that way. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭r0chf0rt

Picked up one of the DAB radios on Fri In the Philips shop. Very impressed so far. Thanks again John, Ashley for a great deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

howdy

is that DAB radio offer still available, I would love one :)
    Also have you any reccommendations for a really nice set of headphones, I have a pair of Sennheisers at the moment which were about 60 euro but they hurt my ears when I wear them for more than about an hour ( my heads not that big i just think they are a bad design :P ) and would lovely a fancy new pair
    Used in radio station for editing and productiony type work but not dj-ing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭mumof2

typically the TV gave up yesterday!! and I had said back at Christmas time I was going to get an LCD for myself, but I spent too much on the kids.
    So I'm thrilled to see this thread and from reading it, it looks like I'm heading over to www.richersounds.ie

Thanks for the tips.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,056 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Is it possible to have something that is on the uk site but not the ie site, delivered to Ireland ? If so, how much would it cost and would the boards.ie discount work ?

I'm talking about an LCD tv here.