Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Making Porn in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

The infamous R v. Brown case:

R v. Brown [1993] 2 All ER 75

...enjoy reading it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭EducatedGuess

Yeah its R v. Brown [1993] 2 All ER 75, also if you want to read R v. Lucas, R v. Jaggard R. Laskey & Carter, they were all together same result really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

That has nothing to do with group sex being illegal if homosexual. Its about assault and the victims consent much like the case in Germany recently. Not too mention the fact that it is English and has not been tested in Ireland (against the NFOAP Act 97)

Please show how this case supports your earlier comment:
    It is not against the law to produce a hetrosexual porn but is against the law to produce a homosexual [male] porn. The law as it stands in Ireland is that it is against the law for more than two consenting adult males to patricipate in a sex act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

If all the partipicants give consent in the making of the film, who would the complainant be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭TalkISCheap

The DPP, as the representative of the Irish Public. ie. The Guards arrest everyone involved if they find out, and you're brought to court and charged with a criminal offence. The thing about R vs Brown is that it's less about the fact that there was sex involved, and more about the fact that it was seen as a serious form of assault. (Which historically is not consentable to, as dangerous to society.) Hold on...

Stephen J said (at 549):
    ‘When one person is indicted for inflicting personal injury upon another, the consent of the person who sustains the injury is no defence to the person who inflicts the injury, if the injury is of such a nature, or is inflicted under such circumstances, that its infliction is injurious to the public as well as to the person injured.'

LORD JAUNCEY OF TULLICHETTLE.

The line between injuries to the infliction of which an individual could consent and injuries to whose infliction he could not consent must be drawn it was argued where the public interest required. Thus except in the case of regulated sports the public interest required that injuries should not be inflicted in public where they might give rise to a breach of the peace. Baroness Mallalieu QC, for Jaggard argued that injuries to which consent would be irrelevant were those which resulted in actual expense to the public by reason, for example, of the expenses of hospital or other medical treatment, or payment of some benefit. Such injuries would be likely to be serious and to be appropriate to a s 20 charge, whereas the consensual infliction of less serious injuries would not constitute an offence.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,234 ✭✭✭✭Victor

What about a possible case of the film producer (i.e. organiser and financier) having acharge of living off immoral means?

By the way, I'm sure there is porn made in Ireland on a daily basis, just talk to your locla camera shop.

[off topic] I think the core of R v. Brown is that you can inflict pain, but not actual hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭TalkISCheap

Unless he could class it as art... In which case it's erotica, and he's contributing to society instead! Although no tax exemptions... *sigh* Although he would be able to write off the cost of making it. And the Advertising. *ponders*

Victor wrote:
    What about a possible case of the film producer (i.e. organiser and financier) having acharge of living off immoral means?
    I already said that but was ignored.
    The thing about R vs Brown is that it's less about the fact that there was sex involved, and more about the fact that it was seen as a serious form of assault. (Which historically is not consentable to, as dangerous to society.)
    Exactly, it has nothing to do with 2 or 10 men being involved in homosexual sex regardless of filming or not.

English case law is used in Ireland, [it doesn't matter if its English]. I am thinking someone hasn't studied law. 90% of Irish Law is based on English law espcially common law, after all we are a pretty young republic and its not that since we had the English system. Also the abitor dictum is also used to sway the opinion of new cases. I do understand the enforcement of such precedent would be quite an infridgement on equality, and I dont think the Gardai are too interested in consenting adults doing whatever they want to do in private, once its legal. Again I must stress that just because its not legislation does not mean its not against the law. Its all in name of art after all.

Dont forget the Life of Brian was banned here when it came out, contraception & homosexuality were against the law until recent times. Suppose its a socio/legal thing.

Its because the church had too much power for way too long! I love that film. :p

As for English law/common law, etc, it still does not equate to homosexual sex between more than 2 people. thats just the fact of the matter, you either quoted the wrong case or did not know the full case. r V Brown does not support the comment.

As for our use for such, common law does not apply once replaced by legislation. Case law only applies to the law under which it was tested. That case is in 1993. Ireland has produced new assault, etc law since then and the case law R V Brown has not been used or challenged in Ireland therefore you cannot accurately state it applies here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

English case law is used in Ireland, [it doesn't matter if its English]. I am thinking someone hasn't studied law. 90% of Irish Law is based on English law ... abitor dictum ...

There is a slight element of incongruity in chiding another poster for not having studied law while mispelling 'obiter'.

Post independence English law in not binding in Ireland like all commonwealth law it is used for its ratio and for tests which can be applied where the facts of cases are similar. It does matter if it's English it is not BINDING.

Back to R v Brown, the tapes were not sold and as such the case is easily distinguished.
    Remember also that Lanskey sought out young men under the age of consent (21 for homosexuals) and indeed at least one of these was 15. The law lords wanted to **** him basically and they did.

On the broader question no opinion or interest but what about marital privacy if you use married actors/actresses?

MM

There is a slight element of incongruity in chiding another poster for not having studied law while mispelling 'obiter'.
    I presume it is I thats being accused of not being qualified. All Gardai are qualified in criminal law now and many have seperate qualifications (more pay).
    Back to R v Brown, the tapes were not sold and as such the case is easily distinguished.
    Remember also that Lanskey sought out young men under the age of consent (21 for homosexuals) and indeed at least one of these was 15. The law lords wanted to **** him basically and they did.
    Mountain, this case has sweet FA to do with the question asked and does not support the previous statement made by my educated superior, basically I have to wonder on someones knowledge of the law and how it works and also that of Third who supported the claim.
    On the broader question no opinion or interest but what about marital privacy if you use married actors/actresses?
    Clarify please, are you suggesting that the male and female actors are married to eachother or other people and from what angle are you suggesting? (no pun)

I wasn't pointing the finger at anyone not studying law. It was a general statement. I probably was directing it to students who may have studied say criminal and not torts, then offer advice purely on that basis. I never said that English case law is binding, what I am trying to say is that English case law can be and is used on a regular basis in Irish courts, as a way of highlighting matters and supporting legal arguments. The problem with legislation is that it can be limited, tried case law can offer a more mature legal view. I am sure Karlitosway can understand the frustration of a collapsing trial over a decision of a judge on the basis of his understanding of the word reasonable for example. In the case of R v Brown it is the jurisprudential aspects of the rulings. The morality of the acts. The aspect of this case that applies to pornography, was the evidence submitted by the recordings of the acts. Video cameras were used to record the activities and the resulting tapes were then copied and distributed amongst members of the group. The tapes were not sold or used other than the delectation of the members of the group. The dissenting judges although focusing on the actual harm, highlighted the fact that these acts were contrary to public policy and and that it required society to protect...."against a cult which contained the danger of the proselytisation and corruption of young men". Not saying its right just trying to highlight a different perspective. Apologies if I caused any disrespect, was not directing at you lot. I can see from the ideas put forward that ye of a knowledge of law.

"On the broader question no opinion or interest but what about marital privacy if you use married actors/actresses?" That is a point that never even dawned on me, and its a great one. I think your referring to the McGee v. Attorney General or privacy in general Kearney v. Ireland. Although I am sure it would make a good argument, would the fact that their private acts are being recorded then distributed to the public ruin the whole what you do in your own home theory?

Dont mean to rant on either about the English Law, Common Law and get off the topic, but judicial decisions are made on English Law, e.g. Mr. Justice O'Caoimh held that a defendant can avail of the reasoning set out by the House of Lords in Reynolds v. Times Newspapers Ltd. in 2001. The defence put forward the decision in Reynolds and the justice followed, not saying he's bound by it, just saying its used.

Thats fine educated but you still havent explained your basis for the below quote. You used R V Brown but I dont think that can be used to back this statement:
    The law as it stands in Ireland is that it is against the law for more than two consenting adult males to patricipate in a sex act.

And I also dont see why I need more than a criminal law knowledge to speak about criminal law.

I wasn't pointing the finger at anyone not studying law.
    OK I apologise if I came off like a dick.
    In the case of R v Brown ... The aspect of this case that applies to pornography, was the evidence submitted by the recordings of the acts.
    I suppose in the case of porn the crime would be prostitution?

Re English cases we use the reasoning all the time but where this is superseded by legislation the case law is irrelevant.

I mean marital privacy as in the McGee case (and I don't believe that 'marital privacy' requires marriage).;)
    The distribution element I don't think so. If a married couple derive erotic pleasure from selling tapes of themselves having sex than there is no problem.

MM

Clarify please, are you suggesting that the male and female actors are married to eachother or other people and from what angle are you suggesting? (no pun)

Ideally married to each other HOWEVER I don't think marital prvacy necessarily applies ONLY to married couples. (In this day and age) *

If this were the case brought to the supreme court seeking to extend marital privacy to non married sexual relationships it would lose. But if the right had already been accepted then the right would stand and the court would be BOUND and you could sell your porno.

*But in Norris & Ireland the Supreme Court said gays don't have a right to marital privacy.

But can you claim any form of privacy if the product is for public viewing?

I think if the couple were actually married and said that they derived erotic pleasure from the filming and distribution of the sex act you might get away with it?

MM

Karlito, in relation to advice or argument a person needs to have a keen understanding of law as a whole, thats not taking away the fact that the most experienced people on criminal law are both Gardai and criminals, and I know alot of criminals who used the system better than I ever could. That is to say I dont practice in criminal law much but those who use it daily, know it. But for arguments in court one can intrepret a decision how they like. That's why to become a judge you need to have studied Jurisprudence. Just because criminal legistlation doesn't cover it, it doesn't make it legal. Legislation evolves from case law thats why we have so many amendments.

...."against a cult which contained the danger of the proselytisation and corruption of young men" by a judge stating this, one could argue in court that by limiting the exposure of young men to the sort of men and acts in Regina V. Brown and by protecting the public policy that it would be necessary to curb the chances of this behaviour occurring albeit the actual consentual harm or the acts themselves, one must for the protection of moral values prevent these acts from happening in the first place. etc Now thats an airy fairy way of putting it, but I hope I explained it right. BTW these are not my views at all, I would actually disagree with it myself.

In McGee I think it was there actual marital status that saved them. When it comes to cases like this I think the strictest terms would be applied to the Constitutional Family. However Mountain would have a good argument for it. The constitutional family and the family are two completely different things. [Sadly]

I think if the couple were actually married and said that they derived erotic pleasure from the filming and distribution of the sex act you might get away with it?

MM

Distribution destroys their claim in my opinion, if they said they enjoyed being watched by invited people and/or taping but did not intend to distribute the tape themselves, then I would say they have a legitimate case.

Educated,
    Why not just admit you were wrong? No case, be it statute, common or case backs your original claim. If you want to babble about interpretation then fine but it is only your credibility that suffers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

Wonder what the situation would be if someone made porn here, and distributed it elsewhere? What constitutes porn? If you take a photograph of yourself with no clothes on, is that an offence? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 78,234 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I suppose in the case of porn the crime would be prostitution?
    Prostitution, of itself is not a crime in Ireland. What two adults do in private, is largely for them and not the courts.

It might be any number of offences, living off immoral means (needs evidence), keeping a brothel (needs evidence), producing indecent material (for a jury to decide) or censorship / classification evasion (obvious).

Of note is the English film "9 songs" which features explicit, actual sex which was given an 18s rating here (a very small amount of films are banned here every year).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Freelancer

Well for start you may need a distribution and production permit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭sneakerfreak

Hardcore DVDs that are mailed to you will be seized by customs if they spot them.

DVD deliveries to Adult Shops are also regularly seized.Adult Shops are also raided every couple of months and have their DVDs seized as they are not certificated (IFCO refuses to censor them).

Adult Shops recieve a letter every few months reminding them that they may only have films on their shelves for sale if they come from certain distributors (SonyBMG,HMV,Paramount etc etc).Obviously none of these distributors supply hardcore movies.

As far as I know producing porn is illegal,the guys who made the three F**ked in Ireland movies were British and shot it in a remote area of Tír Chonaill.

I dont think the Gards were too worried about chasing them down.

The third in that series was pulled off the shelves as soon as it became known that one of the girls had been a few months short of eighteen when the film was shot.

Licenses and so on and so forth for making films?Forget about it.Get a good camera and some willing participants who are above the age of consent,get them to provide proof of their age and keep copies.get them to sign a form saying they agree to be filmed and that you can do what you want with the film afterward.Treat everyone nice,remind them their friends and family could see the movie and most people will think they are sluts/scumbags because of it.You should never make them think they can be in a film and no one will notice.

Then go to the Venus Trade Fair in Berlin in October and set sell the rights to a European company or else do some extra work with yourself and get a near finished product and set up distribution with a European company.

Thats pretty much it.If you start worrying about the ins and outs of the law you will get so bogged down in it all that you will end up doing nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭IT Loser

Mr Burns wrote: »
    What is the position if one orders a hardcore porn DVD by mail order via the internet? Would they be prosecuted?

Every position you can think of!!!!