Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Advice for Future/Younger Generation (Just for Fun Nothing Serious)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Dont take college too seriously
    you can never relive the party
    your chances of dying from trying most drugs once or twice are pretty low, and drugs are brilliant.
    never say no to a one nighter in college, its the only time you can get away with it before people give you a reputation.
    try a cigarette or two but dont take up smoking.
    Dont get indoctrinated into the socialist agenda in college, your hippy arts student friends will eventually realise they were wrong.
    having a girlfriend going into college is a terrible idea.
    Dont spend any money trying to get a girl, there are sluts if your in it for the ride, and if shes really worth it shell do it for free.
    If you made it to 20 and you dont have a night that you got so drunk you cant remember - you havent been drinking enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

No matter how much you try at something, theres always a million other people better than you

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Learn to recognise
    Dont take college too seriously
    you can never relive the party
    your chances of dying from trying most drugs once or twice are pretty low, and drugs are brilliant.
    never say no to a one nighter in college, its the only time you can get away with it before people give you a reputation.
    try a cigarette or two but dont take up smoking.
    Dont get indoctrinated into the socialist agenda in college, your hippy arts student friends will eventually realise they were wrong.
    having a girlfriend going into college is a terrible idea.
    Dont spend any money trying to get a girl, there are sluts if your in it for the ride, and if shes really worth it shell do it for free.
    If you made it to 20 and you dont have a night that you got so drunk you cant remember - you havent been drinking enough

bad advice :rolleyes:
    EdenHazard wrote: »
    No matter how much you try at something, theres always a million other people better than you

inaccurate and pointless advice :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Don't buy a house, rent.
    Don't take out a mortgage, rob.

If you want to be rich in Ireland do one of the following :

Become a politician
    Work for RTE
    Work for the public sector
    or just claim everything like 96% of Ireland do already

If you want to get away with crimes then become either :

A Politician / TD
    or become a gardaí - they only get fined €450 per kill

Don't steal from shops, shoplift or scam - you will go to jail for a short period of time, however if you steal millions or billions you will get away with it so think BIG.

If you have any health issue's do not go to the HSE or our hospitals, fly to a 1st world country like North Korea or Cuba, they'll look after you their.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Don't laugh at your parents and grandparents when they tell you your schooldays are the best time of your life. Realise it's true and try to enjoy it as much as you can.

That's only if you're a messer and fail your Leaving. The best days of your life are college for most people, which is why many never leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,508 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Have savings.
    Avoid debt.
    Buy regularly what you need rather than what you want.
    Practice temperance.
    Stay fit.
    Stop procrastinating.
    Take care of your teeth.
    Stay busy.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Question everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

mikom wrote: »
    Question everything.

Why ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Avoid all Swedish women online. Ugh.

Question everything.
    Why ?

From experience, at least half the people you meet, listen to, read about, have business dealings with, or who "govern" you will be trying to spin you a line of shite.

Why ?

....:pac:

Why ?

Point proved........... you shite muncher.. lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    If you have any health issue's do not go to the HSE or our hospitals, fly to a 1st world country like North Korea or Cuba, they'll look after you their.

North Korea has good healthcare only when you take the wealth of the country into account. Ireland still has better healthcare IMO. You might be right about Cuba.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,358 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

No marriage before sex.

Damn straight! gotta take it for a test ride first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Don't laugh at your parents and grandparents when they tell you your schooldays are the best time of your life. Realise it's true and try to enjoy it as much as you can.

Boredom and having my dad in my ear all the time about this and that. That's all I remember from my school days. Minus craic.

My advice:
    Avoid arseholes and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

What ever you do, don't mistake Lust for Love.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Give your credit card details to your elderly relative:P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Realise the the vast majority of girls are not into anal, despite what the pornographers would have you believe and trying to slip it in unannounced with various girls from the neighbourhood will only lead to tarnished reputations.
    Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    My advice:
    Avoid arseholes and you'll be grand.

Same advice, just worded differently :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

If you can't pay with cash, you can't afford it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Don't get caught up how people see you. Be nice, but **** everyone who doubts you, puts you down, says mean things.

EdenHazard wrote: »
    Don't get caught up how people see you. Be nice, but **** everyone who doubts you, puts you down, says mean things.

This from the guy who *enthralled* us all with his tails from joining beautiful people.com ??????

Hipocrisy much ?

foxyboxer wrote: »
    If you can't pay with cash, you can't afford it.

Agree 100% with that.

I worked in a supermarket that doesn't take credit cards before. Told the customer "we don't accept bla bla bla you can withdraw cash form the ATM at the entrance bla bla bla" she complained that the the ATM she has to pay a service charge!
    She's using a credit card and paying whatever percent extra on her groceries every month!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭comeback_kid

start investing for retirement early , anyone who is in thier twenties now hasnt a hope of recieving the kind of generous state pensions people do today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

What ever you do, don't mistake Lust for Love.

...but enjoy both !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

Realise the the vast majority of girls are not into anal, despite what the pornographers would have you believe and trying to slip it in unannounced with various girls from the neighbourhood will only lead to tarnished reputations.
    throw it in on the sly when there locked, bleedin great

Why ?

Cos that's the why.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

When the thought first crosses your mind to dump a girl do it then. No point wasting another few months.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

North Korea has good healthcare only when you take the wealth of the country into account. Ireland still has better healthcare IMO. You might be right about Cuba.

Cuba has the best healthcare in the world ( appararently ) or so I have been told. Don't know how much truth there is to that but it was told to me by a UN worker

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    Cuba has the best healthcare in the world ( appararently ) or so I have been told. Don't know how much truth there is to that but it was told to me by a UN worker

They also give free fuel to people who need it in winter. Even to US citizens! I would estimate that they have the best free healthcare but I don't have much to back it up.