Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
10-04-2013, 21:04   #4891
frank gallagher
Registered User
 
frank gallagher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 327
Hi All, wonder if someone can point me in the right direction or even tell me if its possible.

Friend bought an iphone 4 off a friend of a friend, anyway she thought it would be as simple as getting it unlocked when she went back to the UK.

She has an irish sim for it but the phone shop in the UK said she would have to
get the network to unlock it.

Will one of the back street "phone shops" be able to do this as when the original
owner of the phone rang 3 they said it would cost a few hundred to unlock.

Any help greatly appreciated.
frank gallagher is offline  
Advertisement
11-04-2013, 06:55   #4892
guil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: kildare
Posts: 7,691
Think she is out of luck. Not so long ago there was no way to unlock a 3 iPhone unless they did it. They will only do it for the original owner if the contract is up
guil is online now  
12-04-2013, 20:43   #4893
T_Byrne15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
OK so I'm a little bit dense when it comes to all of this kinda stuff so I'm just gonna explain my situation and see if anyone can help.
Currently living in the UK and came into possession of an iPhone 4 thats locked to tMobile, their being a bit useless when it comes to helping me unlock it as I'm on o2. Currently at ios 6.1.3 which Im aware theres no jailbreak for but I was wondering, does the phone need to be jailbroken to be unlocked yes?
T_Byrne15 is offline  
13-04-2013, 08:41   #4894
guil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: kildare
Posts: 7,691
Google it. It isn't possible to unlock it with a jailbreak anyway but you can pay to get it done in lots of places
guil is online now  
13-04-2013, 13:12   #4895
Awake&Unafraid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 69
Had a bit of a fright this morning, was rebooting my phone and the whole screen ended up in the top left corner of phone, squeezed into about 1inch by 1inch. The rest of the screen was black mostly, but some flashing and stuff. Rebooted it several times, no change. Finally put it into safe mode and it was fine, and removed some stuff from cydia and it's fine now, phew.

Anyone know what could have caused this?
Awake&Unafraid is offline  
Advertisement
14-04-2013, 09:46   #4896
naasrd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tallaght
Posts: 1,690
Send a message via Skype™ to naasrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by Awake&Unafraid View Post
Had a bit of a fright this morning, was rebooting my phone and the whole screen ended up in the top left corner of phone, squeezed into about 1inch by 1inch. The rest of the screen was black mostly, but some flashing and stuff. Rebooted it several times, no change. Finally put it into safe mode and it was fine, and removed some stuff from cydia and it's fine now, phew.

Anyone know what could have caused this?
That sounds scary. Could be the last thing or two from Cydia. Can you remember what they were?
naasrd is offline  
20-04-2013, 08:44   #4897
dodzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoelDoran View Post
think iv just got it working, i just re jail broke the phone by downgrading from 6.15 to 6.0 via redsn0w...
It is possible. If you upgraded a 3GS to 6.1.3 and you are on baseband 6.15.00 and now you cannot activate ( no service message ) you need to:

1. Baseband downgrade from 6.15.00 to 05.16.08 with redsnow.
2. Then restore via iTunes.

Just be aware that if you are using win 7/8, make sure you run redsnow in XP SP3 compatibility mode. I ran into trouble prior to changing this setting.

That's it.
dodzy is online now  
20-04-2013, 10:58   #4898
smurphy69
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 54
Anybody know how to get the new UPC horizon app working on a jail broken device?
smurphy69 is offline  
20-04-2013, 17:35   #4899
dodzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurphy69 View Post
Anybody know how to get the new UPC horizon app working on a jail broken device?
install xCon (free) from Cydia.
dodzy is online now  
Advertisement
21-04-2013, 16:47   #4900
smurphy69
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 54
i did this and it got by the jailbreak pop up but then no video loads.
Does it work for you?
smurphy69 is offline  
21-04-2013, 17:08   #4901
dodzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurphy69 View Post
i did this and it got by the jailbreak pop up but then no video loads.
Does it work for you?
Yes. You do know that you (unfortunately) have to be on your UPC wifi network to avail of the feature ?
dodzy is online now  
21-04-2013, 17:14   #4902
smurphy69
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 54
Yes i am aware of this and i am on both upc broadband and digital tv.
May i ask what source you got your xCon from please?
smurphy69 is offline  
22-04-2013, 08:00   #4903
dodzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurphy69 View Post
Yes i am aware of this and i am on both upc broadband and digital tv.
May i ask what source you got your xCon from please?
Modmyi.
dodzy is online now  
22-04-2013, 16:33   #4904
TheJims
Registered User
 
TheJims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Waterford
Posts: 492
iPhone 4S got stolen, need to get my 3gs going again, but iv changed networks since, any recommendations or tutorials on how to unlock an 02 3gs to work on any network?

Or will i have to downgrade from 6.1.3 first?

Thanks
TheJims is offline  
22-04-2013, 16:54   #4905
pbarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 746
Unlocking Iphone 4s on Meteor

I bought an Iphone 4s on Ebay over a year ago that is locked on the Meteor network. I want to get it unlocked and Meteor are prepared to unlock it for me. The seller has to go to Meteor's website and log in with the original phone no that came with the phone and disassociate the phone and the number and then Meteor will unlock it for me.
The problem is that the seller can't seem to find the number that came with the phone as the phone was brand new and sealed when I bought it. Is there any other way of getting or releasing the phone from this no. Or if that can't be done has anyone used this gevey sim to unlock a 4s on Meteor or Emobile.
pbarr is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet