Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
12-01-2013, 15:29   #1
danniemcq
Filing situations in filing cabinets.
 
danniemcq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Letterkenny
Posts: 12,431
Send a message via MSN to danniemcq Send a message via Yahoo to danniemcq
pit file for an S3

Ok so had my S3 decide to soft brick itself it seems.

Was running AOKP rom and went to pick it up yesterday and it was on the Samsung Splash screen and would go no further.

So anyway boot up ODIN thinking oh well flash stock on it again and see what happens.

Odin gets stuck however at the "get PIT for mapping" bit and gives the following:

Code:
<ID:0/005> Initialzation..
<ID:0/005> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/005> 
<ID:0/005> There is no PIT partition.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
so after searching i found a pit file for a 16gb s3 but not sure if its for international s3 or is it network locked.

Anyone know if its safe to use? or where could i get one?
danniemcq is offline  
Advertisement
12-01-2013, 15:46   #2
Chet T16
Registered User
 
Chet T16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,012
Bad news I'm afraid, its suffered from sudden death syndrome. It'll need to be sent for repair to have the main board replaced as the NAND flash has failed.
Chet T16 is offline  
12-01-2013, 15:57   #3
danniemcq
Filing situations in filing cabinets.
 
danniemcq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Letterkenny
Posts: 12,431
Send a message via MSN to danniemcq Send a message via Yahoo to danniemcq
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chet T16 View Post
Bad news I'm afraid, its suffered from sudden death syndrome. It'll need to be sent for repair to have the main board replaced as the NAND flash has failed.
ahhhh i was afraid of that, i thought since i could boot into Download mode that there might be a chance of getting away with it but guess not!
danniemcq is offline  
12-01-2013, 16:41   #4
Chet T16
Registered User
 
Chet T16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,012
If you can get into recovery you're ok but you'll still get into download mode even when you're screwed!
Chet T16 is offline  
12-01-2013, 16:56   #5
danniemcq
Filing situations in filing cabinets.
 
danniemcq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Letterkenny
Posts: 12,431
Send a message via MSN to danniemcq Send a message via Yahoo to danniemcq
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chet T16 View Post
If you can get into recovery you're ok but you'll still get into download mode even when you're screwed!
then its screwed! no recovery only download
danniemcq is offline  
Advertisement
12-01-2013, 18:10   #6
PogMoThoin
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13,650
You need to flash with a 3 file firmware with PIT. The PIT is the Partition Information Table. Odin checks it's OK when updating. If the PIT is fcuked Odin cannot flash a single file firmware like all those on Samfirmware.com. If you have all files you can tick re-partition in Odin and build new partitions. If this doesn't work it means you have a dead NAND and need a new motherboard.

I have the files you need here (Russian firmware, but it gets the partitions back) but it's 900MB, it'd take a good while to upload, let me know if you want them and I'll start uploading
PogMoThoin is offline  
12-01-2013, 18:18   #7
danniemcq
Filing situations in filing cabinets.
 
danniemcq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Letterkenny
Posts: 12,431
Send a message via MSN to danniemcq Send a message via Yahoo to danniemcq
Quote:
Originally Posted by PogMoThoin View Post
You need to flash with a 3 file firmware with PIT. The PIT is the Partition Information Table. Odin checks it's OK when updating. If the PIT is fcuked Odin cannot flash a single file firmware like all those on Samfirmware.com. If you have all files you can tick re-partition in Odin and build new partitions. If this doesn't work it means you have a dead NAND and need a new motherboard.

I have the files you need here (Russian firmware, but it gets the partitions back) but it's 900MB, it'd take a good while to upload, let me know if you want them and I'll start uploading
thanks for the offer but i've just dropped it into 3 here in town so they are sending it away for me.

quite annoying but i have a replacement europa so at least i'll have podcasts at work. If it wasn't for that i'd go mad.
danniemcq is offline  
03-10-2013, 23:53   #8
anticoralian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Sorry to dig up an old threead, but I have this exact problem with my S3 (Meteor), and I need the 3 file version of firmware to try resolve!
anticoralian is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet