Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
18-10-2012, 20:01   #1
texanman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 382
Ford focus losing power

I have a 2006 115bhp focus ghia.



I brought it into the dealer and got it serviced. The said they could find nothing wrong. When I drove it home it was losing power when going uphill on the motorway. It lost 10kph on some hills in 5th gear.

I recently bought bridgestone A001 all weather tyres.

Would tyres cause this, I was thinking of asking for a compression test.

Any ideas?
texanman is offline  
Advertisement
18-10-2012, 21:41   #2
Nissan doctor
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by texanman View Post
I have a 2006 115bhp focus ghia.



I brought it into the dealer and got it serviced. The said they could find nothing wrong. When I drove it home it was losing power when going uphill on the motorway. It lost 10kph on some hills in 5th gear.

I recently bought bridgestone A001 all weather tyres.

Would tyres cause this, I was thinking of asking for a compression test.

Any ideas?

The tyres certainly couldn't cause it.

A dealer saying they found nothing means just that, nothing. Unless they charged your for labour and/or diagnostics then they didn't look at the problem any further then having a look around while doing the service.
Nissan doctor is offline  
Thanks from:
18-10-2012, 21:44   #3
Outkast_IRE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,314
Is that the 1.4 ford focus , if your going up hill on a motorway in them they are going to lose speed, very very heavy car for the engine if its the 1.4 your in. I know as i own the older model 1.4 and thats not as bad but still a tad heavy. The newer model is heavier again and that engine should never of been allowed into it imo.

Are you sure your not just paranoid after the service ? do you go uphill on motorway often ?
Outkast_IRE is offline  
18-10-2012, 21:46   #4
corktina
Registered User
 
corktina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: not sure
Posts: 15,981
i guess it depends on how fast you were going...if it was on the limit , you'd expect it to lose speed uphill, but that doesn't sound likely.

It sounds like you are saying it ran out of power , should be plenty there with 115bhp..clutch isn't slipping is it?
corktina is online now  
18-10-2012, 21:49   #5
Nissan doctor
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outkast_IRE View Post
Is that the 1.4 ford focus , if your going up hill on a motorway in them they are going to lose speed, very very heavy car for the engine if its the 1.4 your in. I know as i own the older model 1.4 and thats not as bad but still a tad heavy. The newer model is heavier again and that engine should never of been allowed into it imo.

Are you sure your not just paranoid after the service ? do you go uphill on motorway often ?

The 115hp is the 1.6 engine. It shouldn't really have any bother with a motorway hill in 5th.

Last edited by Nissan doctor; 18-10-2012 at 21:56.
Nissan doctor is offline  
(2) thanks from:
Advertisement
18-10-2012, 21:58   #6
texanman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 382
The ford dealer charger €150 for oil, airfilter, oil filter.
They said they plugged it into a computer and found nothing.

Its a 1.6 and I travel on this route often and they car didn't lose power before.

It sounds slightly different, I said this to the dealer and they found nothing.

I'm bringing it back tomorrow.

I was driving using cruise control @ 120kph and on some hills it went down to 110kph.

Its not the clutch, its just not as powerful.

Last edited by texanman; 18-10-2012 at 22:01.
texanman is offline  
18-10-2012, 21:58   #7
Outkast_IRE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nissan doctor View Post
The 115hp is the 1.6 engine. It shouldn't really have any bother with a motorway hill in 5th.
Yeah dead right, the 1.6 engine always seemed well able in the focus.
Outkast_IRE is offline  
18-10-2012, 22:01   #8
Nissan doctor
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by texanman View Post
The ford dealer charger €150 for oil, airfilter, oil filter.
They said they plugged it into a computer and found nothing.

Its a 1.6 and I travel on this route often and they car didn't lose power before.

It sounds slightly different, I said this to the dealer and they found nothing.

I'm bringing it back tomorrow.

I was driving using cruise control @ 120kph and on some hills it went down to 110kph.

Its not the clutch, its just not as powerful.

Is there no decent independent garage you can bring it to? No reason to be paying dealer prices for an 06 car(or any car for that matter).
Nissan doctor is offline  
18-10-2012, 22:07   #9
texanman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 382
The dealer didn't charge for looking as it was in warranty. Thank god !

If I don't get any satisfaction tomorrow ,I'll go else where.
texanman is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
18-10-2012, 22:10   #10
Nissan doctor
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by texanman View Post
The dealer didn't charge for looking as it was in warranty. Thank god !

If I don't get any satisfaction tomorrow ,I'll go else where.

When is your warranty up? Cos that's the date that the dealer is likely aiming for with any delays.
Nissan doctor is offline  
18-10-2012, 22:16   #11
texanman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 382
Its up now I think but they are not charging as this problem came on before the warranty ended.

Could it be compression or the exhaust system?
texanman is offline  
18-10-2012, 22:23   #12
Nissan doctor
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by texanman View Post
Its up now I think but they are not charging as this problem came on before the warranty ended.

Could it be compression or the exhaust system?

Both would be very unlikely on a Focus. I'd be have the car properly diagnosed, i.e not just plugging the computer in a scanning for codes.
Nissan doctor is offline  
19-10-2012, 17:46   #13
texanman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 382
brought the car down today. was told that a sensor is gone in the engine.they said they would change the timing belt too. I have to see if they are going to cover it under warranty, as its just up.

Fingers crossed !

Would a sensor gone cause loss of power?
texanman is offline  
19-10-2012, 22:02   #14
mullingar
Registered User
 
mullingar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nissan doctor View Post
The 115hp is the 1.6 engine. It shouldn't really have any bother with a motorway hill in 5th.
In 2006 the 115hp engine was the old 1.8td and the 1.6 came in 90 and 110.

The newer focus 1.6 is 115.
mullingar is offline  
20-10-2012, 12:20   #15
Nissan doctor
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by mullingar View Post
In 2006 the 115hp engine was the old 1.8td and the 1.6 came in 90 and 110.

The newer focus 1.6 is 115.

The MK2 focus was out in 2006 with 115hp.

@OP, 'a' sensor certainly could cause various running issues. Did they tell you what sensor?
Nissan doctor is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet