Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

18-08-2012, 22:03   #346
chuky_r_law

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciano1 View Post
Hahaha... That's funny. Guards acting as mammies, making sure everyone ate their 'meals'

".... and there'll be no more beer for you until you finish your curry "
i remember that. heres a good link worth reading:

http://www.gaelicweb.com/irishampost...eatured11.html

its 11 years old but still very relevant
18-08-2012, 22:10   #347
Mrs OBumble

Just to share the information:

Very well informed sources tell me that late this week the pubs that have traditionally opened just a teeny-tiny bit before 10:30am received visits from the guards, with very strict reminders about when they were allowed to open.

So at least the guards ain't being age-ist.
Thanks from:
19-08-2012, 01:03   #348
nox001

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMary View Post

Very well informed sources tell me that late this week the pubs that have traditionally opened just a teeny-tiny bit before 10:30am received visits from the guards, with very strict reminders about when they were allowed to open.

Feck them anyway, you cant beat early drink especially on the sunday morning of a bank holiday. Have had some brilliant mornings in the one or two pubs (who will remained unnamed) who serve early.
Thanks from:
19-08-2012, 03:13   #349
joebloggs1981

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spefa91 View Post
Okay let me just say this

I work in a night club in limerick. Luckily for me there is a pub downstairs so i start work a little earlier than people in other clubs.

So .. imagine if they were to bring this rule into limerick ... all of our hours will be cut,( they have been cut badly enough as it is)

This stupid 1 o clock busines just means theres gonna be trouble at one instead of 2. And people like me are going to loose there jobs.

Galways known for its great nightlife, which now means that people are not going to bother paying to go to the night club for a ****ing hour there for nightclub looses money equals people loosing jobs.

Less open hours = Less People flocking to Galway= less money for Galway = People getting laid off = no Jobs = guards have **** all to do = guards hours getting cut = karma.

Plus the big one...i work in a nightclub in LIMERICK. A city overruned by assholes and scumbags. Theres ALWAYS trouble. Im from Galway, and trust me LIMERICKS ****ING WORSE. The crowd in Galway is always known to be that bit more friendly. The crowd in limerick are very groupy & hostile...and im not on about scumbags, if your anyway different looking here ...your considered weird.(oh yeah!..they pull your hair to get your attention at the counter!)The guards up there cant handle **** there being absolute pussys cos they are not used to trouble. They are lazy .. The gardai in Limerick are absolute legends... working there asses off dealing with drunk idiots and scumbags all in the one go... so my opinion on it all is the Guards need a kick in the hole. They chose that occupation , expect some trouble ps ignore my crap spelling!! i am wrecked and fare well im now off to work to deal with more of limericks finest drunken idiots.

This whole post is off the point and a pile of crap too. Limerick is also known as a great drinking city as well as Galway with thomond there tourists all over Europe enjoy nights out in limerick.
19-08-2012, 04:53   #350
dont think too much

pubs in galway closing at 1am

Quote:
Originally Posted by keano89 View Post
I'd have no sympathy for any pub that charges over 4.40 for a pint.

and your price of 4.40 is based on what exactly? I work in the industry and all staff's hours have been reduced in the last two weeks. A statement based on price is ridiculous, unless you have taken into consideration the price each pub has paid for their kegs, their staff costs, electricity, bands, etc...
Maybe you don't want to pay more than 4.40, there's very few pubs in the city that you'll pay less.. Unless you consider 3.00 for cheap pints is good value..
19-08-2012, 05:06   #351
dont think too much

Quote:
Originally Posted by evil_seed View Post
The fuss being kicked up over 1 hour is crazy. That's all I have to say on the matter
You obviously don't work in the industry or have any understanding of the long term and far reaching repercussions of this.. less hours, less staff, more going to social welfare for 'our tax payers' money, less for business owners, less for suppliers and manafacturers. Need to go through the detail?!?!
19-08-2012, 10:06   #352
Mrs OBumble

Quote:
Originally Posted by dont think too much View Post
...4.40, there's very few pubs in the city that you'll pay less.. Unless you consider 3.00 for cheap pints is good value..
Ahh, I'd never return anywhere that charged me that in Galway. The max I pay in 4.00, and that's at a particular "destination" pub in Shop St.
19-08-2012, 10:07   #353
Mrs OBumble

Quote:
Originally Posted by dont think too much View Post
...4.40, there's very few pubs in the city that you'll pay less.. Unless you consider 3.00 for cheap pints is good value..
Ahh, I'd never return anywhere that charged me that in Galway. The max I pay is 4.00, and that's at a particular "destination" pub in Shop St.
19-08-2012, 13:23   #354
biko
Percolator

This thread is about the closing times only. Let's try to stay on topic.
This is the last warning before thread is closed.

Any more uncivil comments directed towards the Super will result in a long ban.
Do discuss, but discuss as adults.
Thanks from:
19-08-2012, 13:41   #355
Seaneh

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMary View Post

I hope Tig Coili start opening earlier just to annoy the licencing sergeant.
Put their Market licence to good use.
19-08-2012, 16:25   #356
GalwayGaillimh

Considering the amount of shift workers in Galway factories, pubs should be allowed to open 24/7 if the business is about.
19-08-2012, 21:22   #357
inisboffin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seaneh View Post
Who else in town have an early license these days (utilised or not)
The Old Forge I think?
Richardsons?
20-08-2012, 00:16   #358
Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Quote:
Originally Posted by dloob View Post
The Gardai are not for turning it seems.

http://www.galwaynews.ie/27314-city-...ce-pubs-furore
Is there any way of lobbying the district court to change their mind or are judges as unaccountable as usual?
20-08-2012, 09:27   #359
thesandeman

Quote:
Originally Posted by inisboffin View Post
Quote:
Who else in town have an early license these days (utilised or not)
The Old Forge I think?
Richardsons?
Taffes, Murphys for the Saturday market and a few of the Woodquay pubs for the Potato market.
Thanks from:
20-08-2012, 11:55   #360
leeroybrown

Quote:
Quite unlikely. If the "market pubs" do that there'll likely be a Garda in them every night on exactly half past the hour to check that they've stopped serving.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion