Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

14-07-2012, 23:42   #1
irishbucka

coming off lexapro

hey folks. i have been on lexapro 10 mgs since 2008 but i felt i could come off them. so i went to my gp 2 months ago and she reduced it to 5 mgs to see how i go and hopefully come off them completley. the frsrt 6 weeks went well but the last 2 weeks have been a struggle. been feeling a bit anxious and my fuse has shortened. im going back on monday to gp to see if she thinks i should go back on 10mgs.

my question to ye is has anybody ever managed to come off lexapro and if they did , did they go threw this type of phase and just rode it out?
15-07-2012, 19:20   #2
Forest Demon

I came off 20mg. Was tough for a couple of weeks. I was irrational, angry and irritable and was going to go back on it. Took about 4 weeks before I felt myself again and I am glad I stuck with it. If you have made your mind to come off it them stick with it. It will settle down.

The way I thought about it was that I was going to come off it at some stage so now was as good a time as any. The anger is the hardest but you just have to remember that whatever is making you angry is not the real issue. Its the withdrawal.

Last edited by Forest Demon; 15-07-2012 at 19:22.
Thanks from:
15-07-2012, 20:00   #3
irishbucka

thanks forest demon. i think your right. you cant stay on it forever and my wife thinks its a step backwards too so i will talk with my doc and hopefully ride it out. i knew the first 4 weeks were too good to be true.
cheers again
09-08-2012, 22:09   #4
TheChizler

Switched from 20 to a different medication, there was about 2 weeks where I was feeling withdrawal symptoms, dizziness and nausea. Cleared up well though.
10-08-2012, 22:13   #5
irishbucka

im still on the 5mg but im grand now so hopefully will be off them totally soon enough
what did ya switch to chissler if you dont mind me asking
10-08-2012, 22:57   #6
girlonfire
Closed Account

I came off Lexapro recently enough. I found it very tough and considered staying on it, just to alleviate the withdrawal symptoms. I felt terrible for a while - very anxious, depressed, irritable, headaches, etc. I'm really glad I stuck with it though as it has all settled down again and i'm feeling much better.
Take your time OP and good luck :-)
10-08-2012, 23:04   #7
irishbucka

cheers girlonfire. i feel great now but i did have a rough week awhile back when i originally posted. im going to the doc next week to try and come off the 5mg, im not sure how you do it? do you take one every 2nd day or do you just stop the 5mgs.
i know i will get some more withdrawel symtoms but once thats over with im finished
10-08-2012, 23:17   #8
girlonfire
Closed Account

In my case, I reduced further to 2.5mg and I started taking that every other day for a fortnight or so before stopping them completely. However, I'm not suggesting you do the same, as everyone is different. Your GP will advise you when you go to see him/her no doubt. I know it's hard when dealing with the withdrawal symptoms, but it definitely gets easier. In my case, once that passed, I felt fresher and more clear headed than I have done in a long time. Fair play for sticking with it. I know it's not easy!
Thanks from:
10-08-2012, 23:28   #9
irishbucka

yeah i will see what the doc says next week. thanks for advice and poisitive comments
Thanks from:
11-08-2012, 12:30   #10
TheChizler

I went every second day with the 20 for a few days before switching to 25 valdoxan. Seems to work better!

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion