Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
08-07-2011, 19:58   #16
gvn
Moderator
 
gvn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Galway
Posts: 3,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by orency View Post
Some moderator you are! The extra 'e' means everything. THIS IS A SCAM!. Try Googling 'e.paypal' and you'll soon find out what's going on!
The extra "e" is a subdomain of the domain paypal.com (or .co.uk, or whatever it was). Paypal could have "arsebiscuits" as a subdomain of paypal.com and it would still be legitimate, so long as the domain was paypal.com.

If you click on any link in the email just check that the site is HTTPS, then check the certificate. Verisign will verify that you're on the correct website (with Paypal, at least).
gvn is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
08-07-2011, 22:26   #17
KoolKid
Moderator
 
KoolKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by orency View Post
Some moderator you are! The extra 'e' means everything. THIS IS A SCAM!. Try Googling 'e.paypal' and you'll soon find out what's going on!
Orency, attack the post not the poster, If you have evidence this is a scam lets have it. Everything here suggests this is genuine communication from PayPal.
If it is a scam please explain what the senders have to gain.?
KoolKid is online now  
13-07-2011, 09:01   #18
sakej
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
I've got the same email and forwarded it to paypay this is they answer:
Quote:
Thanks for forwarding that suspicious-looking email. You're right - it was a phishing attempt, and we're working on stopping the fraud. By reporting the problem, you've made a difference! Identity thieves try to trick you into revealing your password or other personal information through phishing emails and fake websites. To learn more about online safety, click "Security Center" on any PayPal webpage. Every email counts. When you forward suspicious-looking emails to spoof@paypal.com, you help keep yourself and others safe from identity theft. Your account security is very important to us, so we appreciate your extra effort.
So it was scam after all ... but a week to get an answer in that metter is a bit to long to wait if you ask me

Last edited by sakej; 13-07-2011 at 09:05.
sakej is offline  
08-08-2012, 10:32   #19
mike65
Registered User
 
mike65's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: waterford
Posts: 80,834
Just got another one!

Quote:
Michael, Update to the User Agreement, Privacy Policy & Acceptable Use Policy.
Been to paypal through the front door and they do indeed have a policy update. I really wish they wouldn't use attachments.

Last edited by mike65; 08-08-2012 at 10:36.
mike65 is offline  
08-08-2012, 12:04   #20
sakej
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike65 View Post
Just got another one!



Been to paypal through the front door and they do indeed have a policy update. I really wish they wouldn't use attachments.

Yes they do have policy update but this email ISN'T legite.
Scammers just using that fact to confuse ppl

I've recive same email
all links going to strange location
sakej is offline  
Advertisement
08-08-2012, 12:16   #21
mike65
Registered User
 
mike65's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: waterford
Posts: 80,834
I found this which doesn't exactly help matters

http://www.benchmarkemail.com/blogs/...hishing-danger

and this

http://www.infoworld.com/t/cyber-cri...dly-emails-693
mike65 is offline  
08-08-2012, 12:33   #22
sakej
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
well.. this may indeed not be phishing but it sure looks like it

anyway. goes straight to bin
sakej is offline  
08-08-2012, 13:32   #23
actuallylike
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,143
Just got one too. My paypal emails are redirected into a paypal folder so when this arrived in my inbox alarms stared going. Have to say though, that was the only thing that made me cautious, best phishing email I've ever seen.

Also to the mods of this thread. I stumbled upon this thread through a google search. It was only till post 18 that it's confirmed as a hoax, the previous posts are all about how it's fine, click away. Maybe if one of you could edit the OP to show that it is in fact a scam? some people might just read the first 15 posts and then end up trusting it.
actuallylike is online now  
09-08-2012, 07:25   #24
batistuta9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by actuallylike View Post
Just got one too. My paypal emails are redirected into a paypal folder so when this arrived in my inbox alarms stared going. Have to say though, that was the only thing that made me cautious, best phishing email I've ever seen.

Also to the mods of this thread. I stumbled upon this thread through a google search. It was only till post 18 that it's confirmed as a hoax, the previous posts are all about how it's fine, click away. Maybe if one of you could edit the OP to show that it is in fact a scam? some people might just read the first 15 posts and then end up trusting it.
post #18 is over a year old & nothing to do with the ones got yesterday
batistuta9 is online now  
Advertisement
09-08-2012, 09:28   #25
actuallylike
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by batistuta9 View Post
post #18 is over a year old & nothing to do with the ones got yesterday
The fact the email had an 'e' in the email address made me suspicious so that's what I googled bringing me here. Then all the responses say that it's not an issue when post 18 confirms it is. The email I got is very similar to what is described, if not identical. How do you know what email I got by the way?
actuallylike is online now  
09-08-2012, 09:59   #26
batistuta9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by actuallylike View Post
The fact the email had an 'e' in the email address made me suspicious so that's what I googled bringing me here. Then all the responses say that it's not an issue when post 18 confirms it is. The email I got is very similar to what is described, if not identical. How do you know what email I got by the way?
we know all about you.

people here explained the 'e' in the email add. this is a legitimate paypal email add.

you can spoof an email add. you know, it's the links you should take a look at

best thing to do would be to ask paypal yourself about it, to see what they say.
batistuta9 is online now  
09-08-2012, 10:05   #27
actuallylike
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,143
But the posts saying to trust it are saying that if the email is e.paypal.co.uk then it is trustworthy when it has been shown it is not necessarily so. A quick google search for "e.paypal.co.uk" doesn't just bring this page up, it brings up a whole host of other websites with avoid been the advice given.
actuallylike is online now  
09-08-2012, 14:33   #28
RoyalMarine
Registered User
 
RoyalMarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: cyberspace
Posts: 4,805
well then you have a simple choice to make

just ignore it

or

email paypal using their online help center, forward them the mail you got, and ask if its genuine.
RoyalMarine is offline  
09-08-2012, 14:43   #29
Paddysnapper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Co. Limerick
Posts: 216
And all this is the reason I cancelled my PayPal account years ago
Paddysnapper is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search