Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

03-08-2012, 22:56   #16
titan18

Thought it was a good interview tbh. He wants the best from himself, and if it that isn't going to happen cos of injuries or whatever, then I can't blame him for stopping and doing something else. It's not like he'll be earning a lot from it
03-08-2012, 22:59   #17
WhatNowForUs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renato99 View Post
This guy is a disgrace. Just seen that after-race interview on tv. He should be made hand back any funds given to him.
As they say in Laa-don, he's a Hampton Wick!
The race might not have been the best but the interview was pure tv gold
03-08-2012, 23:12   #18
Tom Joad

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatNowForUs? View Post
The race might not have been the best but the interview was pure tv gold
Am sure he will feel like crap for the interview tomorrow but you can understand where he was coming from - the olympics only come around every 4 years and he had the season from hell injury wise - lets give the guy a break..
03-08-2012, 23:13   #19
theboyblunder

Hes just very disappointed. As someone said: he will cringe later but id cut him some slack for the interview. What I cant understsnd is how he thought anything other than what happened was going to happen after a months training?

I know the olympics are the ultimate, but maybe we shouldnt be allowing lads in pain to run, or swimmers who are physically ill to swim?
03-08-2012, 23:48   #20
rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by theboyblunder View Post
Hes just very disappointed. As someone said: he will cringe later but id cut him some slack for the interview. What I cant understsnd is how he thought anything other than what happened was going to happen after a months training?

I know the olympics are the ultimate, but maybe we shouldnt be allowing lads in pain to run, or swimmers who are physically ill to swim?
Bill is that you ??
03-08-2012, 23:51   #21
GKiraly

Dam, missed that interview, anyone got a link to it or what exactly did he say??
04-08-2012, 00:12   #22
Dilbert75

http://www.rte.ie/sport/olympics/pla...32/?autoplay=1
Thanks from:
04-08-2012, 00:35   #23
pgmcpq

Quote:
Originally Posted by theboyblunder View Post
. What I cant understsnd is how he thought anything other than what happened was going to happen after a months training?
Because success requires blind faith. We've all (at our own limited level) done the same thing - ignoring cr*p training and expecting to pull off some kind of miracle - and we'll all do it again regardless.

As for the interview - to the OP - he's not a friggin reality tv star - cut him some slack. I cannot imagine having a disaster at work nd having to give a tv interview within minutes. Hope to see him overcome this and back on track.
(2) thanks from:
04-08-2012, 00:41   #24
stunner dunner

Quote:
Originally Posted by kincsem View Post
Why was he so off-hand and negative? Only a few people win medals.
He must realise that employers will see that interview and think twice about meeting someone with such a negative attitude. I thought it was self-destructive.
Fuck "Employers". This guys an olympian.
04-08-2012, 00:49   #25
Kristopherus

Quote:
Originally Posted by stunner dunner View Post
Fuck "Employers". This guys an "olympian".
Fixed that for you. If (and he did) he knew he was not up for it, then he should'nt have gone to the starting line. That performance will live with him for a looonng time. Hopefully he'll get some people around him that can do a complete rebuild.
04-08-2012, 00:51   #26
7golfer

fair play to him. he was honest, best honest answer ever..he owes nobody anything! he did all the training..
how many of us got up at 5/6am to go running??

i know my uncle (very fit) went running for marathons,would get sick while training. , so it,s tough

ciaran wants to do better, but knows injuries hold him back, he doesn,t want to compete just for the sake of it,
04-08-2012, 01:15   #27
thirstywork2

He knew he wasn't ready for it but put yourself in his shoes.You qualify for an Olympics and you are still running sub 4minute miles.
I know I would have competed at the greatest event on the planet if I had the standard(I dream)

He will more than likely go back to Bob Braman who he loves.

Amazing the way people turn on athletes when they have a bad performance.This is where they need our support !!!
04-08-2012, 02:04   #28
corny

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecoli View Post
He ran 14 seconds slower than his best. He has been battling injury all year to make it to this one race all year after spending most of his life battling injury and illness.

What ever about knowing you are not good enough to make it, must be really hard to know you have the potential to be there if your body could hold up
Thats no reason to throw your toys out of the pram though. Its not a big deal and i'm certainly not as outraged as the OP but dejection is understandable. Acting like a spoiled teenager isn't. Like someone else said he'll probably cringe watching it in a week or two though.

Hope he reconsiders when he calms down a bit.
04-08-2012, 04:54   #29
formerrunner25

Feel sorry for the lad..He is an amazing talent..10th in the world final. He has the potential to medal in major championships if fully fit.
His interview was in the heat of the moment. this is a guy that has dreamed all his life of going to the olympics (Regardless of what he said in interview about it not being part of the plan). Looking back you would have to admire his brutal honesty. It was similar to a Roy Keane style interview.
Ciaran may not be wrong in deciding to use his degree. Like how frustrating must it be to devote ur life to a sport and then trail in 2nd last in the heat, knowing going into the race ur no where near race fit.
Sport at this level is tough.
I think it might be a good idea for O Lionaird to get rid of the twitter account. He rely's to much on it. He posted bout half hour after the race on it.
I hope he gets his head sorted and does what he feels is right. If he decides to run again-RIO 2016
04-08-2012, 10:00   #30
Basster

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirstywork2 View Post

Amazing the way people turn on athletes when they have a bad performance.
People with zero knowledge of athletics for the most part. And trolls of course.
(2) thanks from:
Thread Closed