| 20-07-2012, 23:35 | #1381 |
|
![]() |
Wow. Glow in the dark runners!!! Congrats on your awesome run! Oh, and super photo of you.
|
|
|
| Thanks from: |
|
|
|
|
| 21-07-2012, 11:44 | #1382 |
|
![]() |
10k Training Day 36
Time on the feet
Got a second back in last night's results , it usually goes the other way so happy with 17:43.Out early enough this morning to meet some of the Bray lads in Ashford for an easy LSR. The body was in reasonable shape after 2 races this week, although the lower shin was giving out from about halfway and was quite sore after I stopped, have to keep an eye on that obviously not quite healed yet. Strapped in ice now. Anyway nice to have the company, the pace was gentle, the weather was beautiful and the temperature rose and I bagged 14.16 miles in 1:48. |
|
|
| (3) thanks from: |
| 22-07-2012, 11:49 | #1383 |
|
![]() |
10k Training Day 37
Bike & Run
Lower leg was tender getting this morning, so jumping straight into the planned 1hr easy run seemed risky. So stuck on the cycling gear instead and headed out the door with no plan in mind only to keep it easy. Headed into Ashford and then went on a lap of the Duo route before returning, it's a nice lap with ups and downs and straights, enough to get you thinking about gear selection. Then headed on out to Glenealy into a nice stiff headwind, before turning off at Deputy's Pass, still into the wind! Popped out opposite the beehive and on up the N11, down the Rocky Rd and home - 42k @ 27.6 km/h. Quickish transition (<3mins) and hopped on the treadie for an unplanned 30mins. Leg was sore sore starting off but improved, will need to give it some attention today - 6.22k. So no 1hr run, but between the bike and run probably a similar aerobic effect. WTD: 74.9 [46.6] MTD: 255.1 [158.5] YTD: 1,864.5 [1,158.8] Races YTD: 10 [2 x Master's PB's] |
|
|
| 22-07-2012, 14:07 | #1384 |
|
![]() |
ya fecker, you've gone sub-18 before me this year! ;-)
well done on the 5k, lots more to come as you get into the 10k program. |
|
|
| 22-07-2012, 16:27 | #1385 |
|
![]() |
So cool that I am now familiar with Ashford - lovely place, but quite hilly if I remember correctly. Mind that leg.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 23-07-2012, 19:59 | #1386 |
|
![]() |
10k Training Day 38
A Breezy Bike
Swelling has gone down on the leg, but reckon I need another day or two before risking it again. Got home changed quickly and headed out for a short bike. Wind was up a bit more than yesterday, so I decided to do a few laps of Deputy's Pass to avoid an out an back. It's a nice loop with a flatish/gentle rise into Glenealy against the wind, before heading through Deputy's Pass for about 6k where you can give it a lash on the flat and then you have 2k climb up the N11 and back to the start. Took it handy for the 1st 10k averaging 27.3 km/h, then cycled steady for the next 32k averaging 31.1 km/h, just enough to get me above 30 km/h on average. Total 42.08k @ 30.1 km/h ; Max speed 63.1 km/h
Last edited by BeepBeep67; 23-07-2012 at 20:31. |
|
|
| 25-07-2012, 21:02 | #1387 |
|
![]() |
80 hrs of TLC, Ice, Ibu and compression got me back in a position today to try a run. Kept it gentle - 60% on grass for 6.2 miles @ 7:57 pace. Leg held up, still a bit swollen, but no pain, so will continue the self remedy and revisit the schedule after playing it by ear for the next couple of days.
|
|
|
| 26-07-2012, 19:51 | #1388 |
|
![]() |
10k Training Day 41
Change of Plan
McMillian 10k session #3 was in the plan for this evening, but it's too soon to put the leg under sub 6 min pressure so I'll delay that for a few days and rework the plan. But still wanted a bit of a workout, so ran easy easy down to a nice 3.6 mile lap that I have (Rathnew-Hunter's Hotel-Ashford-Rathnew) and planned to run this as a mini progression run starting at MP and moving up the gears to threshold. Stuck on my newly acquired ST5's, my Mana's have in excess of 400 miles in them, so needed a new pair of tempo / HM shoes. I really enjoyed the Mana's and considered getting the new 7's, but after looking around realised that I preferred the wider toebox in the ST4's. So after a quick visit to AK Bray for a try on, we're back in Brooks! Mile 1 started slowly, but I eased the pace up to 6:45 for the split. By Mile 2 I was feeling comfortable and a fairly easy 6:34 slipped by. Mile 3 I'm getting in the groove and I'm focusing on form as 6:23 felt easy. Finished off with the last .6 of a mile at 6:11 pace for 3.6 miles @ 6:37 pace. A nice leg loosener we can call it. Finished off at 7:36 pace for a few miles. Leg isn't sore anymore, but there's some funny sh1t going on down there , you can see the swelling on the outside, but now I've also got this mad lump that's coming to a head, maybe it's some type of infection!Look away if squeamish!
Last edited by BeepBeep67; 26-07-2012 at 20:13. Reason: a multiplicity of missing letters and words! |
|
|
| 26-07-2012, 20:09 | #1389 |
|
![]() |
Ouch!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 27-07-2012, 22:11 | #1390 |
|
![]() |
10k Training Day 42
Friday Stress Relief
After a day of conference calls my a$$ didn't feel like mine anymore and my ears were ringing. So slipped on the X-233's and went for a gentle neutralizing trot. Up the town relief road, down Marlton, past the famous Abhainn's pain cave and on over towards the Murrough. Nice and serene here, down red brick lane along by the river and floating swans and ducks. Up the Murrough for a mile, over the tracks and back by the water works before being momentarily stopped by a woman with the largest collagen lips ever, which was a pity she was probably pretty once. Then on home via the port relief road. Oh yeah I wore a watch - 6.93 miles @ 7:44 pace, leg is fine and dandy at least less swollen than someone's lips. |
|
|
| (4) thanks from: |
| 28-07-2012, 12:27 | #1391 |
|
![]() |
10k Training Day 43
Early Morning Easy
Got out of bed early enough and headed over to Shanganagh to treat my body to some running on grass. Was a bit creaky starting off and reinforces my decision not to add quality back in until next week. Kept the pace easy just concentrating on running form. Leg a little tender afterwards, seems to be when I got over the 1hr mark. 8.47 miles @ 7:36 pace. |
|
|
| 29-07-2012, 18:31 | #1392 |
|
![]() |
After a morning on my feet my leg was a little tender despite being protected by compression. Left my run until later and left the strapping on, just done 5.4 miles and even at that there was pain and stiffness - very frustrating.
Bike tomorrow I think. WTD: 55.9 [34.7] MTD: 311.0 [193.3] YTD: 1,920.4 [1,193.5] Races YTD: 10 [2 x Master's PB's] |
|
|
| 30-07-2012, 20:11 | #1393 |
|
![]() |
Came to the conclusion last night that I'm running out of runway to hit my 10k goal. The ol' body just can't cope with increasing the mileage and speed at the same time, all down the poor decision of rolling over to Kildare and not having a rebuilding phase before 10k training. I'll still run a few races, but I won't be too concerned over the times. Training for the next while will be easy running and strides and the odd race.
Today had the leg strapped all day and it seems to be improving, but stuck to the get out the bike plan. Nice whizz out to Glen of the Downs, low gear higher than normal cadence and crossed the bridge at an average of 31.6 km/h. Turned into a nice stiff breeze on the way back, so put the head down and tried to maintain average pace. Pace crept upwards to average 32.6 km/h, but the continuous slog took it out of me and the last climb to house was a killer and I dropped to average 32 km/h for the 43.5 km. |
|
|
| 01-08-2012, 01:27 | #1394 |
|
![]() |
You know, sometimes stepping back and just enjoying what you are doing with no pressure on yourself is the loveliest of things.
|
|
|
| (2) thanks from: |
| 03-08-2012, 13:59 | #1395 |
|
![]() |
The movers came in the middle of the night and moved my log to the tri forum....but you are personally invited to come for a visit in my log anytime you need a change of scenery. Beer and snacks are always on hand, the pool is still a lovely 88 degrees if you feel like going for a dip, and I've always got music pumping through the speakers both in and out of the house in case you feel like chilling or busting a few moves. It's all good either way.
|
|
|