Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

09-07-2012, 11:42   #181
RealityCheck
Closed Account

Roscommon could learn a thing or two from the Galway Hurlers yesterday.

If the Roscommon team go out with intensity, self belief and a game plan they can topple Tyrone. Plenty of the younger players should hold no fear of any county as many of them have played at the higher echelons of football at under age. Tyrone should hold no fear.
A lot may also depend on what Tyrone team turns up. If the team that played Donegal and Armagh turns up they'll be in trouble. On the other hand if the Tyrone team that steam rolled Division 2 turns up Roscommon will have their work cut out.
09-07-2012, 14:41   #182
RoscommonTom

Its all about believing we can win it and I firmly think we can and we will. i don't mean we should start shouting and rparing for the sakes of it but to make rhe atmosphere very imitating for the nordies, getting everyone singing songs . I remember the hospotal end years ago went fellas had accordins up there anf the craic was savage. hope its going to a fine day on Saturday as it will suit us better,
15-07-2012, 19:03   #183
rossie1977

a big well done to ours minors today, first time ever to win back to back connacht titles at this level and beating mayo and galway on the way to both is something no rossie minor team has ever done, add in two connacht minor league titles last two years as well and the achievements of these young lads is all the more impressive, 16 matches, 15 wins 1 draw
Thanks from:
15-07-2012, 19:31   #184
Syferus

Out-of-focus but what the hell:

05-09-2012, 10:52   #185
razor425

Championship Quarter Final Draws:
Senior:
1) Roscommon Gaels v St. Faithleachs

2) Elphin v Clann na nGael

3) Castlerea St. Kevins v Padraig Pearses

4) St. Brigids v Western Gaels

Semi-Finals:
2 v 4
1 v 3

Intermediate:
1) Tulsk/St Barrys v St. Aidans

2) Kilglass Gaels v St. Dominics

3) St. Michaels v Clann na nGael B

4) Éire Óg v Boyle

Semi-Finals:
2 v 3
1 v 4

Senior final will be between Brigids and Faithleachs I think. Have only seen Bridigs once this year but they should get over Western Gaels handy enough I think. Clann or Elphin could cause them some problems in the semi but I still see them pushing through. On the other side of the draw I think Faithleachs should easily dispose of Ros Gaels and Castlerea should have enough to get by Pearses. Tight semi between these two but I see Faithleachs scraping through.

With regard to the intermediate, Aidans will be in the final but who joins them from the other side is a bit of a lottery. Aidans should easily beat Tulsk/St.Barrys and then should have enough to dispose of Boyle who I believe will scrape past Eire Og. On the other side I'm not so sure. Great chance for Clann B, Michaels or Kilglass to get to the decider considering how poor Dominics have been this year. Maybe someone knows more about this than me?

Be interesting to hear the opinions of others.
05-09-2012, 20:50   #186
Syferus

Eire Og-Boyle has the potential to produce the intermediate champions, drew in the group stages and I'd have fancied both to have a serious stab at making the final if they'd been drawn on separate sides. The sheer stupidity of the open draw system doesn't reward performance at all and allows two teams from the same group meet in QFs.

Last edited by Syferus; 06-09-2012 at 00:52.
05-09-2012, 20:51   #187
wow sierra

As a neutral it is a pity Western Gaels and Brigids are meeting so early - but I suppose it gives the other teams a bit of a better chance.

I suppose bar the biggest upset - since all the Brigids defeats between 97 and 2005 - well bar that we are only looking for the runner up really.

Exciting to be at this stage of the Championship though, to see what teams up their game. Pity the Pearses game is clashing with the All Ireland Under 21 B final, but I suppose there is so much conjestion with fixtures at the moment.
06-09-2012, 00:57   #188
Syferus

Some questions if Cathal Cregg's 60 day exemption will have expired or not by the time the Brigid's game takes place. Would be a shame if perhaps the best player in the county has to sit and watch his club play the Roscommon and Connacht champions in knock-out football. Faithleach's and Clann look to be ahead of Western anyways and Castlerea are a sleeping giant, I wouldn't be placing Western as the clear #2 team at all.

Last edited by Syferus; 06-09-2012 at 01:22.
06-09-2012, 10:48   #189
razor425

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syferus View Post
Eire Og-Boyle has the potential to produce the intermediate champions, drew in the group stages and I'd have fancied both to have a serious stab at making the final if they'd been drawn on separate sides. The sheer stupidity of the open draw system doesn't reward performance at all and allows two teams from the same group meet in QFs.
Not sure I agree with that, personally I think Aidans will win the championship easy enough. Boyle are probably their biggest challengers but after that I don't see much between any of the others. I saw Eire Og in their final group game against Barrys where both teams were very poor and can't see them stopping Boyle based on that performance. With regard the open draw the majority of teams agreed to that earlier in the year so no-one can have any complaints now. I agree that some teams got a bit of a raw deal but on the flip side it leaves the other side of the draw very open, with the distinct possibility of a new team in the final for a change.
06-09-2012, 10:53   #190
razor425

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syferus View Post
Some questions if Cathal Cregg's 60 day exemption will have expired or not by the time the Brigid's game takes place. Would be a shame if perhaps the best player in the county has to sit and watch his club play the Roscommon and Connacht champions in knock-out football. Faithleach's and Clann look to be ahead of Western anyways and Castlerea are a sleeping giant, I wouldn't be placing Western as the clear #2 team at all.
I would agree with this, Faithleachs are certainly ahead of Western from what I have seen and Clann are probably also ahead of them. The sleeping giant term could also be applied to Elphin and I feel they will have a good go at Clann.
07-09-2012, 12:45   #191
rn

I think Pearses could upset the neturals (and Castlerea) in that game - Castlerea were extremely poor in Johnstown a couple of weeks ago - even after they got a savage start to the game. Faithleachs are likely to come out of that group, but its not as straightforward as the other side. Brigids for the other final spot ( fingers crossed for Clann though!).
07-09-2012, 13:04   #192
gaelic cowboy

Any word on the fate of Des Newton is he going to step down or be forced??
07-09-2012, 13:25   #193
lala88

What kind of team do ye have with the minor hurlers this year? Normally strong at this level
07-09-2012, 13:33   #194
nice_guy80

not bad.

7 of last year's team that lost to Meath in the final.

Ros are doing very well to compete with Kerry, Meath, Kildare, Armagh considering there are only 7 underage clubs in the county
07-09-2012, 13:52   #195
yabadabado

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaelic cowboy View Post
Any word on the fate of Des Newton is he going to step down or be forced??
Hopefully he steps down, wouldn't like to see him forced out but I don't think he is the man for the job .

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion