Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

02-07-2012, 03:21   #1
Aezur

Mature Student looking for a heads up.

Hi. Im starting the games design course this year and was just wondering what the craic is in thurles. Anything really. Good places to live. Areas/pubs to avoid. Is there a KFC? Fun things to do that wouldnt have a website. That kind of thing. Just a bit of the local knowledge. Any and all replies are greatly appreciated.

Oh and does the local newspaper have an online edition? (Rental listings)
07-07-2012, 19:53   #2
NewStart!

Heya

Welcome to Thurles ! you'll have a epic time the banter is good up here !
Bowes opposite the train station is a good student pub as is Kennedys near the brittas road. Lar Corberts has student promotions every Wednesday usually Hayes is on every Sunday night usually a fiver in for lads before 12 and free for us ladies !
No real pubs to avoid, The monk out near st pats does a unreal trad session every Wednesday night
We have super-macs no KFC ! McDonalds is 10 minutes down the motorway in cashel by car.
As for rentals theres the student village :/ or you could ring some of the auctioneers around thurles. Or give the Students Union a phone or the college I think they have a list of some accommodation.
Try daft.ie there's loads of houses up on that or there's a few houses looking for sharers.

Good luck and enjoy yere freshers week the lads in the SU do a unreal job
07-07-2012, 19:59   #3
Avox

Are nights out usually good craic in Thurles?

I'll be a first year, thinking of booking my accommodation towards the end of July.. would that be enough time for the student village?
08-07-2012, 18:16   #4
NewStart!

Ah there as good as ya make em Sundays are usually great aul banter, The pre drinking is great fun up in the village its prob the one thing Il miss the most up there haha

Yeah July should be plenty of time I didnt book mine till after the CAO offers came out so there should still be plenty of space left there's a good few houses in the village, Just say what course you are n what college you are to the landlord. He usually puts the st pats and the lit people in the separate houses so all the house can be from the same college
Thanks from:
09-07-2012, 00:40   #5
Avox

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewStart! View Post
Ah there as good as ya make em Sundays are usually great aul banter, The pre drinking is great fun up in the village its prob the one thing Il miss the most up there haha

Yeah July should be plenty of time I didnt book mine till after the CAO offers came out so there should still be plenty of space left there's a good few houses in the village, Just say what course you are n what college you are to the landlord. He usually puts the st pats and the lit people in the separate houses so all the house can be from the same college
Deadly thanks NewStart! you're great help!
09-07-2012, 17:39   #6
NewStart!

No Bothers Avox Enjoy your time here its a great aul place well I love it haha
What course you thinking of if you dont mind me asking ?
09-07-2012, 18:52   #7
Avox

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewStart! View Post
No Bothers Avox Enjoy your time here its a great aul place well I love it haha
What course you thinking of if you dont mind me asking ?
Mine's in Pats! But it's the Business Accounting and Religion education one!
20-08-2012, 03:44   #8
Terra_corrupt

Yo man, I'm a second year in games design so I'll be seeing you around for sure.

Last year we had HQ Niteclub which was mad craic. It closed down but there's rumours of it starting up again which would be awesome. Hayes' is okay too i guess but kinda scary...

As far as pubs and the like go, Corbett's, County, Bowe's etc... My favourite place to go is the Arch bar because the barman lets us bring in an XBOX and hook it up to the TV so we can play Street Fighter while we drink

Other than that I enjoy a night at the Cinema myself
20-08-2012, 14:37   #9
azezil
Hosted Moderator

Ah Thurles, so good I went twice.

One day around mid day, bored in class I turned to my mate, "I'm bored of this lecture, fancy grabing a pint?"
14hrs later I woke up face down in an alley way in Cashel in a puddle of puke. Good times ^_^
03-09-2012, 21:37   #10
Aezur

Cheers for all the feedback. Sorry about the tardy reply. Not had much time online. Who knows, i may be meeting some of you pretty soon. I'm sure i'll recognise ye by the twinkles in your respective eyes. Thats how it works, right?

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion