Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

25-05-2012, 22:02   #7351
bucketybuck

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucketybuck View Post
Whats also frustrating is the strawman argument that because one person mentioned his appearance, well, now apparently all criticism of Phelan is based on his appearance. You really think my opinion of his role has anything to do with appearance? Behave yourself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by n32 View Post
If mike phelan had a Spanish name and wore a collar and tie on the sideline would people be as quick to slate him. It seems any oul langer from Spain regardless of credentials is given way more respect than a rough and ready north of England man. Brian clough looked like a scruff on the sideline but that didn't make him a crap manager now did it?
25-05-2012, 22:10   #7352
n32
Banned

Quote:
Quote:
Whats also frustrating is the strawman argument that because one person mentioned his appearance, well, now apparently all criticism of Phelan is based on his appearance. You really think my opinion of his role has anything to do with appearance? Behave yourself.
Quote:
If mike phelan had a Spanish name and wore a collar and tie on the sideline would people be as quick to slate him. It seems any oul langer from Spain regardless of credentials is given way more respect than a rough and ready north of England man. Brian clough looked like a scruff on the sideline but that didn't make him a crap manager now did it?
I can guarantee that nobody in this forum can say with any certainty how good or bad Phelan is. The only people who can properly judge him are the players and coaching staff who work with him day in day out not people posting on a forum
(4) thanks from:
25-05-2012, 22:54   #7353
eugeneious

Send a message via AIM to eugeneious
Fabio has rejected a loan move to Benfica and is going on loan to QPR instead apparently.
25-05-2012, 22:56   #7354
Sacramento
Shock me awake

Quote:
I can guarantee that nobody in this forum can say with any certainty how good or bad Phelan is. The only people who can properly judge him are the players and coaching staff who work with him day in day out not people posting on a forum
But but.... it's totally easy to tell how crap he is by watching Tv! Ferguson doesn't know what we know!
25-05-2012, 22:57   #7355
Jax Teller

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugeneious View Post
Fabio has rejected a loan move to Benfica and is going on loan to QPR instead apparently.
Hopefully it goes better than Machedas loan there .
25-05-2012, 22:59   #7356
Sacramento
Shock me awake

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coletrickle88 View Post
Hopefully it goes better than Machedas loan there .
25-05-2012, 23:28   #7357
dahat

Pep off to America for year according to Copa Del Rey coverage..how likely would it be that he would be Fergie's sucessor next year?
25-05-2012, 23:36   #7358
Rochey18

People need to slow down on the talk of SAF leaving. If we dont win the league or champions league this coming year I highly doubt he will leave.

Surprised Fabio didn't go to Benfica that seemed a done deal, hopefully the only deal for us this summer that ends up talking a u-turn
25-05-2012, 23:40   #7359
The_Kew_Tour

I think Fergie will be around in 3 years myself.

Once of course his health stays fine.
25-05-2012, 23:55   #7360
Anthony16

Querioz was a way better tactician than phelan.
Imo,our great defensive record in europe in 07/08 was purely down to his negative tactics,which he was heavily criticised for but worked.
we were so open this season it was scary.
Ferguson is a great manager but i could never agree that he is a great tactician.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Kew_Tour View Post
Where are all the Pro Mike Phelan people getting this idea that it's a imagine thing?

There been plenty of posts giving their own views as to why he aint good enough and I have also drawn my own conclusions and said it here as to why I like change.

But ye still seem be saying same thing that its because we dont like his shorts or something.
25-05-2012, 23:58   #7361
Blatter

Hard to tell really, I doubt he knows himself.

I myself would predict two years max. He could well leave next season if he wins the CL or the PL. Although is going out on a high all that important? Barca won the cup tonight and a couple of other minor trophies but failed to win the two big ones this season, I wouldn't say Guardiola has gone out as he would have liked at all, but does he and Barca really care? It doesn't really impact his legacy at all.
26-05-2012, 00:01   #7362
Blatter

Guardian say we had a bid rejected for Kagawa but deal may go through next week.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2...?newsfeed=true

Just don't **** this up, he really is a bargain for the price Dortmund want.
26-05-2012, 00:30   #7363
Pro. F

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony16 View Post
Querioz was a way better tactician than phelan.
Imo,our great defensive record in europe in 07/08 was purely down to his negative tactics,which he was heavily criticised for but worked.
we were so open this season it was scary.
Ferguson is a great manager but i could never agree that he is a great tactician.
Yeah having VDS, Rio, Vidic, Evra (back when he cared) and JOS/Brown at the back and Carrick, Rooney, Tevez and Park who are all very good at defending in midfield and up front had nothing to do with it. It was purely down to Quiroz's tactics.

Don't forget we had an excellent defensive record in the league too that season, even though in league games it was business as usual with Fergie's preferred proactive style. But nah, Fergie's style of football, with which he has shat league titles for 20 years, isn't tactically astute.
(3) thanks from:
26-05-2012, 00:34   #7364
Blatter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro. F View Post
Yeah having VDS, Rio, Vidic, Evra (back when he cared) and JOS/Brown at the back and Carrick, Rooney, Tevez and Park who are all very good at defending in midfield and up front had nothing to do with it. It was purely down to Quiroz's tactics.

Don't forget we had an excellent defensive record in the league too that season, even though in league games it was business as usual with Fergie's preferred proactive style. But nah, Fergie's style of football, with which he has shat league titles for 20 years, isn't tactically astute.
In 08/09, we broke defensive records left, right and centre whilst going months without conceding a goal in the league.

Queiroz wasn't even at the club then.
(2) thanks from:
26-05-2012, 06:59   #7365
VW 1

Fabio rejecting the benfica loan and going to QPR is a huge positive for me.

How often would a Brazilian go to Portugal and not come back? Deciding he wants to stay in England and play in the PL is a huge statement as to where he sees his future and the fact that he wants to stay at United which is a big positive for me.

That or he would miss his brother too much.
(2) thanks from:
Thread Closed