Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

04-05-2012, 00:29   #46
CianRyan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denise90 View Post
I understand that, I used to drive modified cars myself but what I'm saying is I don't understand, we'll say, the likes of yourself getting offended by a silly poster that is aimed at the fools that cause crashes and injury to others. Everyone that isn't involved in the "scene" will call boy racer.. there's no getting away from that but there's no point in the enthusiasts jumping on the defense bandwagon.... fuel to the fire and what not.
The problem with the poster isn't that it will make car enthusiasts tell you **** off, it's that it'll have every Garda and every person that's not into cars telling you to **** off out of town because they think you're going to be doing donuts. People that may not have thought of it will probably get a bit of a vigilante buzz after seeing this. They will see it too, it's been posted bloody everywhere at this point.
Thanks from:
04-05-2012, 01:06   #47
Chris_Heilong

Quote:
Originally Posted by CianRyan View Post
The problem with the poster isn't that it will make car enthusiasts tell you **** off, it's that it'll have every Garda and every person that's not into cars telling you to **** off out of town because they think you're going to be doing donuts. People that may not have thought of it will probably get a bit of a vigilante buzz after seeing this. They will see it too, it's been posted bloody everywhere at this point.
+100, its exactly the reason why anyone would get upset, I just got an FTO coupe and everyone in work was joking about me "your a boy racer now" its just what Joe public think and sometimes misconceptions are frustrating, anyway the boyracer move is more towards VW and TDI now and much less on Japanese cars.
Thanks from:
04-05-2012, 01:59   #48
CianRyan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_Heilong View Post
+100, its exactly the reason why anyone would get upset, I just got an FTO coupe and everyone in work was joking about me "your a boy racer now" its just what Joe public think and sometimes misconceptions are frustrating, anyway the boyracer move is more towards VW and TDI now and much less on Japanese cars.
And bam, there's another error.
There should be an E36 doing donuts with a felt spec B4 sitting in the corner shouting BOOOOOO.
06-05-2012, 21:24   #49
DrMorphine

i never paint a group with the one brush but the scumbags with their sh*box's staying in the gleneagle apartments are doing donuts on the grass etc. Don't these people have any sense? Maintaining that grass can't be cheap and theres kids around. Also I haven't seen 1 tasteful 'modified car' all weekend. 90% (literally) have massive pointless aerials and full blue and yellow laminated headlights etc
07-05-2012, 21:10   #50
teednab-el

The guards are a joke in this country. Every year outside Killarney on the road from Killarney to Barraduff, there is one long and wide stretch of road outside Barraduff (on the Killarney side) where all this donut activity goes on and every year after the rally of the lakes, this stretch of road is constantly blackened with tyre marks. The same has happened this year. The guards are afraid of these groups and wont interfere with them. Its insane to think that they can get away with this.

A lot of these boy racers have a chip on their shoulder. I crossed one of the streets in Killarney yesterday and this boy racer who was stopped kept revving his car until I got off the road, in other words he was basically telling me to get the fcuk out of his way even-though I am entitled to cross the street without been intimidated. Unfortunately from what I can see, there are very few car enthusiastics that actually follow this sport.
07-05-2012, 21:12   #51
teednab-el

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMorphine View Post
i never paint a group with the one brush but the scumbags with their sh*box's staying in the gleneagle apartments are doing donuts on the grass etc. Don't these people have any sense? Maintaining that grass can't be cheap and theres kids around. Also I haven't seen 1 tasteful 'modified car' all weekend. 90% (literally) have massive pointless aerials and full blue and yellow laminated headlights etc
Didnt see one decent modified car in Killarney over the weekend. Most of them were piles of scrap.
08-05-2012, 00:28   #52
mik_da_man

Came across a few of these lads (Educated Guess) around cork today, on the fermoy road.

2 TDI Golf's following a Nova (I think)
Both Golf's had masshove CB airels on them
10-05-2012, 22:15   #53
Chris_Heilong

Quote:
And bam, there's another error.
There should be an E36 doing donuts with a felt spec B4 sitting in the corner shouting BOOOOOO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mik_da_man View Post
Came across a few of these lads (Educated Guess) around cork today, on the fermoy road.

2 TDI Golf's following a Nova (I think)
Both Golf's had masshove CB airels on them
See what I mean. All I was saying was VW,Audi and BMWs have become a big part of the Boyracer scene in recent years.
11-05-2012, 14:29   #54
Caliden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_Heilong View Post
See what I mean. All I was saying was VW,Audi and BMWs have become a big part of the Boyracer scene in recent years.
Reason being is they are easier insure and if it's a diesel it's cheaper to run while at the same time having a bit more power than it's petrol counterpart.

Insurance companies are behind the curve when it comes to high risk and so Jap imports are still astronomically high while the TDI (red D, red I ) crowd are below the radar.
Thanks from:
13-05-2012, 18:30   #55
Mariusz Pudgyanovski

i think the problem of diff(lol)rentiating between a boyracer and "enthusiast" is due to the fact that there is so much common ground between them.

if you are a genuine MCE and happen to like/have a car that's unfortunately used often by muppets, then that's you tarred.

if you are a genuine MCE and want to disassociate yourself from muppets, you've basically limited yourself to either a very expensive car, or a crap/gay one that no boy racer would go near
Thanks from:
14-05-2012, 18:58   #56
Caliden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mariusz Pudgyanovski View Post
i think the problem of diff(lol)rentiating between a boyracer and "enthusiast" is due to the fact that there is so much common ground between them.

if you are a genuine MCE and happen to like/have a car that's unfortunately used often by muppets, then that's you tarred.

if you are a genuine MCE and want to disassociate yourself from muppets, you've basically limited yourself to either a very expensive car, or a crap/gay one that no boy racer would go near
Completely agree.
Found an old video that interviews different car owners on the whole 'boy racer culture'.
This subaru owner tells it like it is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...9awSzf4#t=260s
15-05-2012, 21:56   #57
Mariusz Pudgyanovski

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliden View Post
Completely agree.
Found an old video that interviews different car owners on the whole 'boy racer culture'.
This subaru owner tells it like it is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...9awSzf4#t=260s
Yeah i remember that vid
the nasal kid with the likkle corolla, talking about how he "leaves 'em there" overtaking people... what a pillock
15-05-2012, 23:55   #58
CianRyan

Watched that video a while back, the kid in 'Rolla needs his head checked.
Thanks from:
16-05-2012, 15:24   #59
Caliden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mariusz Pudgyanovski View Post
Yeah i remember that vid
the nasal kid with the likkle corolla, talking about how he "leaves 'em there" overtaking people... what a pillock
Yeah...I tried to leave that fella out
22-05-2012, 23:25   #60
Chris_Heilong

Here are some German 3 series doing Donuts, the sound alone is enough to piss people off:
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion