Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

10-05-2012, 13:28   #1
harryd2

Ideas for social activity for a company of ~20 people.

Hi Guys,

I have ~20 people from a company, looking to do something social in Galway,
with around 1.2kEUR to spend for the group.
Trying to avoid a simple drinking session..

Preference is:
Something close to city or east side
Something not too formal - finger food or bbq

Currently the ideas in order of preference are:
  • Dogs
  • BBQ/Drink (do O'Connells have bbq facility?)
  • Bowling
  • Aran Island bbq
  • Corrib Princess
  • Go Kart
  • Skill Soft

Anyone have any other ideas?
Any place that cater for bbq for such a group?

TIA
HD
10-05-2012, 15:07   #2
ScumLord

The go kart facility at Tynagh is quiet good, you can do a grand prix which involves a load of race heats and trophies for the winners. They have the space for BBQs so it might be worth asking if they'd let you as you'd more or less be hiring out the track for the day. It's €50 or €60 per head.
Thanks from:
10-05-2012, 17:18   #3
muppetkiller

We did this for our Sports and Social Club at work at it was brilliant craic
http://www.pureskill.ie/
(2) thanks from:
10-05-2012, 17:50   #4
deccurley

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetkiller View Post
We did this for our Sports and Social Club at work at it was brilliant craic
http://www.pureskill.ie/
+1 on that. Did it a couple of years ago with the crowd from work and it was mighty craic, although its out around Knocknacarra so maybe a bit out of the way if you wanted to stay close to east/city centre.

Would definitely recommend a night at the dogs either. Good grub, a few drinks and a few flutters. Can think of worse ways to spend the money.

If you ask the lads in O'Connells I'm sure a BBQ could be set up out the back, although I'm not sure that the weather would be as accommodating the way this summer has started
(2) thanks from:
10-05-2012, 20:42   #5
Private Joker

Also deep sea fishing is great fun. we went with work about 10 of us, the boat was a bit crowded but you can get a larger boat and not all would have to fish at the same time, also you could still have the bbq on the aran islands, stop off for lunch and bbq what you catch.
(2) thanks from:
12-05-2012, 08:48   #6
ir555

Windsurfing/ Kayaking at Rusheen Bay Windsurfing... www.rusheenbay.com

DM
12-05-2012, 12:36   #7
mikemac1

Tynagh is a great idea

You have a large group so you can book out the track for yourselves

Good idea too to have a BBQ
12-05-2012, 19:58   #8
ScumLord

Quote:
Originally Posted by Private Joker View Post
Also deep sea fishing is great fun. we went with work about 10 of us, the boat was a bit crowded but you can get a larger boat and not all would have to fish at the same time, also you could still have the bbq on the aran islands, stop off for lunch and bbq what you catch.
Went sea fishing for a stag recently, it's a good day out. You can ask the skipper to bring you to the aran islands for lunch to break up the day and everyone's not to obsessed with catching loads of fish.
13-05-2012, 16:53   #9
ladhrann

How about going up the lake on the Corrib Princess?

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion