Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
07-05-2012, 20:09   #1
dceire
Registered User
 
dceire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,763
Hiding Status Updates on Facebook?

Is there any way to hide your status updates from one or all of your Facebook friends?

Specifically, would it be possible to hide or block any new friend notifications from appearing on your Wall/Timeline?
dceire is offline  
Advertisement
08-05-2012, 04:03   #2
batistuta9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,984
you can add people on your friends list into something like a separate list or a group - if you get me.

These people will still be on your main friends list though but would have the name of the new list/group beside their name when you view it - not anyone else

then when posting something, you know the option of who to share it with - either friends or global etc. the new list/group should be there too, so only those people would see it if you choose that option.
you used to be able to do the above & probably still are. not 100% sure though but i'd say its still possible


for this: "hide or block any new friend notifications from appearing on your Wall/Timeline"
i'm not exactly sure what you mean.
Do you mean when you accept a friend request it's shows up on your profile that you've became friends with 'X'?
batistuta9 is offline  
Thanks from:
08-05-2012, 21:01   #3
dceire
Registered User
 
dceire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by batistuta9 View Post
for this: "hide or block any new friend notifications from appearing on your Wall/Timeline"
i'm not exactly sure what you mean.
Do you mean when you accept a friend request it's shows up on your profile that you've became friends with 'X'?
Yea, I mean that when you've added a new friend it won't appear.

eg: Paul is now friends with Shane etc.
dceire is offline  
08-05-2012, 22:24   #4
batistuta9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by dceire View Post
Yea, I mean that when you've added a new friend it won't appear.

eg: Paul is now friends with Shane etc.
you can definitely remove it from the timeline after it appears, not sure if you can stop it appearing in the first place.

but if you just to to your page straight after you accept the request & remove it hardy no one or anyone will have seen it
batistuta9 is offline  
09-05-2012, 16:54   #5
biko
Percolator
 
biko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Galway
Posts: 43,680
You can set privacy to Only Me when doing an update.
Or just set your privacy in general to Only Me.
biko is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet