Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

14-11-2011, 10:55   #31
noodler

Quote:
Originally Posted by zero19 View Post
Tubridy is a noob.

Just logged into thank that post and say how hilarious I found it.

Kudos.
(6) thanks from:
14-11-2011, 11:31   #32
Grumpypants

Tubs in fairness has to ask those basic questions as his audience is so varied there would be people who don't know what an xbox is.

I thought the first mother was brilliant said her son used to play lots after his study, when tubs pushed to try and get a negative view she said, oh no he did great got into college is a lovely well rounded individual! perfect that's what most parents want. it just showed he played lots of games since he was 2 and turned out fine.

5 speakers 4 in favour of sensible gaming and 1 worried mother and a host trying to tie it together. wasn't the worst piece I've ever seen, I learnt a little from the addiction guy.

I think the reaction is far more hysterical than the actual piece was.
14-11-2011, 11:47   #33
Buceph

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr E View Post
There was a gaming feature on RTE Radio 1's The Business this morning with two guys who started gaming companies. I think the host was a bit outside his comfort zone, but it was a good interview (and positive for a change). It's the first item on the show, so it's straight after the news.

http://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/...2D11%2D2011%3A
I thought that interview was quite good. The interviewer didn't know much about games, but he knew enough to get the point across that it's a perfectly viable and valid business, which is what the piece was really about. The best part of it was when the game dev was talking about his days at work being tough sometimes and having to figure problems out and the interviewer said (and I paraphrase,) "So you have to get complex problems and rules down into a little mathematical formula?" And you could really hear a thought of, "Jaysus, that's a hard thing to do" going through his head as he asked the question. And the game dev could only laugh and respond, "Yeah, that's it" with a little amazement that some non-gamer had basically gotten the idea of programming something down without any hesitation or insulting tone to his questioning.

Good interview. I thought the gamer guys were a little too friendly, laughing at everything. But I suppose Saturday morning quasi-business shows are perfect for that kind of thing. They did really get the point across that Ireland is a perfect country for the gaming industry.
14-11-2011, 15:07   #34
MackDaddi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buceph View Post
I suppose Saturday morning quasi-business shows are perfect for that kind of thing. They did really get the point across that Ireland is a perfect country for the gaming industry.
Yep. Now if we could only get the governments here to quit talking about supporting the industry, and actually put serious money into funding things like broadband, maths, and computer sciences properly, instead of letting the private sector's money do all the heavy lifting, we would actually be in really good shape to position ourselves as a world leader for games development.
14-11-2011, 15:35   #35
Headshot

woah wait a minute I thought Tubridy was off to England

Are we still paying for this waste of space?
14-11-2011, 15:37   #36
noodler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpypants View Post
Tubs in fairness has to ask those basic questions as his audience is so varied there would be people who don't know what an xbox is.

I thought the first mother was brilliant said her son used to play lots after his study, when tubs pushed to try and get a negative view she said, oh no he did great got into college is a lovely well rounded individual! perfect that's what most parents want. it just showed he played lots of games since he was 2 and turned out fine.

5 speakers 4 in favour of sensible gaming and 1 worried mother and a host trying to tie it together. wasn't the worst piece I've ever seen, I learnt a little from the addiction guy.

I think the reaction is far more hysterical than the actual piece was.
Very true.
14-11-2011, 15:55   #37
Sl!mCharles

Yeah his lack of objectivity really grated on me. Its not the way to conduct what's MEANT to be a fair, open minded interview. For shame Ryan, I used to think you were ok!!
14-11-2011, 15:59   #38
Korvanica

Send a message via MSN to Korvanica
The one complaining about her son saying "In a minute, in a minute" - Stupid bctih, you cant pause an online game.
(2) thanks from:
14-11-2011, 17:02   #39
Borat_Sagdiyev

I live in a house with two others. They see me in between my time spent on my passtime.

I spend 2-3 hours a few nights a week trying to achieve little tasks that form part of a greater one - any time I fail I get angry with myself and more determined to get it next time. Anyone watching would think all I'm doing is doing the same monotonous task constantly, but I find it very fulfilling when I succeed, despite bouts of frustration when I didn't.

Does my job suffer as a result? No.
Do my relationships with people important to me suffer? No.
Does it result in me being a less responsible individual overall? No.

What am I doing?

I'm trying to learn the piano.

[ I'm obviously also a gamer, but you can see my point ]
04-05-2012, 17:54   #40
popecatapetal

Quote:
Originally Posted by MackDaddi View Post
Even the gaming advocates they gave speaking time to for the most part were detrimental to gaming's reputation as a medium. The stereotypical college-nerd gamer with no girlfriend and too much time on his hands playing 36 hour gaming marathons (who fell hook line and sinker for tubridy's wholly biased leading questions btw)
Sorry to resurrect a dead thread, but I just stumbled across this thread and had to post. I'm the girlfriend of the guy MackDaddi mentioned, and I was at the time the show was filmed as well. I've never felt ignored in favour of games, and we have a very healthy social life together.

The questions Tubridy asked focussed entirely on the bad aspects of gaming, and the fact that he wasn't asked about any of the positive aspects was ridiculous. It let people draw way too many negative conclusions, like the 'no-girlfriend' thing (which the gaming expert even mentioned on the show!).

Anyhoo, just wanted to chip that in there.
04-05-2012, 18:47   #41
SeantheMan

Send a message via Skype™ to SeantheMan
Fair play for resurrecting and using the search bar rather than making a new one
04-05-2012, 21:22   #42
TheGunns

to be honest, i think gaming has gone too mainstream for it to conform to the old stereotypes. of course there will always be some who are cave men on their own types but I think youd be hardpressed to find a house that has a TV without a games console.
04-05-2012, 21:30   #43
Paparazzo

Ill informed, scare mongering rubbish, ignoring professional opinion, mothers that don't have a clue and a completely biased host that obviously doesn't have a clue what he's talking about. Sounds like Tubbers is looking to take over Joe Duffys job on Liveline
(2) thanks from:
06-05-2012, 00:00   #44
the_syco

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borat_Sagdiyev View Post
I'm trying to learn the piano.
Anyone else convinced he was going to say World of Warcraft?

=-=

Wasn't surprised about the LLS. I stopped watching it as it seems most topics the fecker does are the same; if it wasn't around when everyone was a church going catholic, it's bad and created by the devil himself...
06-05-2012, 04:49   #45
MrShine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paparazzo View Post
Ill informed, scare mongering rubbish, ignoring professional opinion, mothers that don't have a clue and a completely biased host that obviously doesn't have a clue what he's talking about.
I agree! You'd expect this kind of stuff from Fox News or something similar, but not on a show that should be based around serious, well informed debate.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion