Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

04-05-2012, 19:41   #121
Finnbar01

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasttalkerchat View Post
If you take it to court or make a complaint they would have to outline their "reasonable suspicion" or so I assume.

They'll just say you appeared nervous.
04-05-2012, 19:45   #122
walnut grove

no, report it to the sergeant, and that will get your disc back as well.
04-05-2012, 20:09   #123
underachieved

Quote:
Originally Posted by comeback_kid View Post
what kind of criminal waves down a cop car looking for directions ?

we wont need 007 to bring them to justice , thats for sure

perhaps a con man???? or someone similar or someone looking to explain away suspicious behaviour??? the point is i dont pay my taxes for the guards to guess that the fella in the van on someone elses property waving at him is a good guy. i pay my taxes so the guard will do what hes supposed to and find out for sure. its his job. until they get trained in telepathy i reckon asking questions is the best we have
Thanks from:
05-05-2012, 10:45   #124
Departed

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCDLawstudent View Post
Forget it and move on imho but then I you'll find I normally side with the Gardai. If I had a bad day at work it might because a customer had been rude to me and I might be a bit off hand with a co-worker.

If a Gardai has had a bad day it's probably because he's dealt with someone smacking there partner around, a rape or worse. Therefore I tend to cut them a bit of slack. My attitude with stop and searches is - if you have nothing to hide and it's not down to the reason of belonging to an ethnic minority - whats the harm?

Incidently I might very well take the hump a little to be flaged down and used as a map. Bobby on the beat is one thing Garda Patrol car is quite another. Come across the same guy on a different day may very well be the nicest guy you've ever met. Well maybe not he is a garda Perhaps a trip down to the Station to recover the Disc and a quiet word with the duty Sgt.?

BTW OP these threads never get a "right answer" because the views are so polarised.
That is bull with a capital s
05-05-2012, 18:08   #125
nowayjosie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Departed View Post
That is bull with a capital s
I think you should have respect for the posters opinion, even if you disagree - you could at least give a reason why you disagree rather than say what you did. The poster gave an answer which was in his/her opinion and its not Bull **** to do that - do you even have an opinion on this?? if so could you articulate yourself? maybe give a little advice perhaps - but don't floor posters for their opinion.
Thanks from:
05-05-2012, 18:22   #126
Procrastastudy
Closed Account

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Internet-Argument-Pyramid.jpg (149.9 KB, 249 views)
(2) thanks from:
05-05-2012, 19:09   #127
iamthest1g

i quickly produced a reciept for the scratch cards but the search continued anyway,i got the feeling that the guard was looking for trouble, by the confrontational nature of his tone and the fact that he went looking for other issues beyond his original justification, such as inspecting my tyres calling in backround checks and the likes, he almost seemed dissapointed at the end of the search, and my friend can vouch for this.On a few days reflection, his justification for the search being given after the search wasnt right, no matter how bad a day hes had, its common courtisy to treat a "Suspect" with dignity and respect.I have the greatest of respect for the guards as they do a difficult job at the best of times and near intollerable one at the worst.
Thanks from:
05-05-2012, 19:16   #128
Syllabus
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamthest1g View Post
he took it, the doe cert and my licence off to the car for checks and didnt return the insurance cert, it'll be the last time i ask for directions again, he more or less said i broke into the garage and stole a bunch of scratch cards, which is odd because he seen me turn into the garage and i make contact with him 10 seconds later.i'd love to meet the man who can scratch and sort 100 all cash in 10 seconds
how much did you win????
05-05-2012, 19:26   #129
iamthest1g

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syllabus View Post
how much did you win????
it started with a fivers on all cash and blossumed with a 50 euro win in the 4th round! we were reckoning that we wer closing the odds on getting the 5 grand!
06-05-2012, 00:07   #130
underachieved

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamthest1g View Post
i quickly produced a reciept for the scratch cards but the search continued anyway,i got the feeling that the guard was looking for trouble, by the confrontational nature of his tone and the fact that he went looking for other issues beyond his original justification, such as inspecting my tyres calling in backround checks and the likes, he almost seemed dissapointed at the end of the search, and my friend can vouch for this.On a few days reflection, his justification for the search being given after the search wasnt right, no matter how bad a day hes had, its common courtisy to treat a "Suspect" with dignity and respect.I have the greatest of respect for the guards as they do a difficult job at the best of times and near intollerable one at the worst.
ok so the guard having seen two people he didnt know, on a "midnight drive" in a van not from the area u turning on the forcourt of a closed garage (someones private property) in a rural area does his job, checks the car out completely as i wish more of them would do, then checks out the occupents to make sure they're not bogeys and searches the van to make sure there is nothing bogey in it. when he is satisfied that they are not criminals he lets them go on their way.

he is not only entitled to do these things but supposed to in my opinion. its his job. If it was my property this is exactly the service i would demand. There are good guards and bad ones but no telepathic ones, investigating suspicious things is what they do.

As for him being mean to you, i wouldnt let it bother you too much, the world is a tough place, not everyone is polite. I would rather pay my taxes for an impolite police force that does its job than a polite one that doesnt.

you should just try to contact him about the cert and try not to get too hung up on it. seems to me you are making mountains out of mohills. him checking your tires is doing you and the rest of us a favour making sure that your van is safe to be on the road.
(3) thanks from:
06-05-2012, 12:11   #131
dahamsta
Banned

A few people in this thread could benefit from reading this ICCL publication...

http://www.iccl.ie/know-your-rights-...l-justice.html

...or just shutting up and minding your own business to avoid looking like an asshat.
06-05-2012, 12:26   #132
Procrastastudy
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post

Interesting read thank you. But I think the OP was more concerned about how rude the guy was and the conversation broke out over what the best way to make a compliant was or whether he should. To be fair to the OP has only questioned the validity of the search based on the fact that he believes he was searched because the guy was in a bad mood. I think anyone with any common sense realises the Garda was within his rights to search the van given the scenario.

Quote:
...or just shutting up and minding your own business
I'm not sure that makes for a very interesting discussion forum

Quote:
to avoid looking like an asshat.
See internet argument pyramid
06-05-2012, 12:40   #133
MagicSean
Closed Account

Quote:

...or just shutting up and minding your own business to avoid looking like an asshat.
Some people would benefit from taking their own advice. If you read that document you would know how vague it is. This is because Gardaíhave such wide range of legislated powers and discretion that it cannot be covered in such a document. That's why we have solicitors.
06-05-2012, 15:43   #134
dahamsta
Banned

The vagueness was my point. Several people in here have proffered authoritative answers. The ridiculous open-ended abilities of the Gardai render them equally ridiculous.

Well done to the other poster for missing the point too, it was a joke referring to the pyramid!

Last edited by dahamsta; 08-05-2012 at 12:11. Reason: Wrong smiley!
07-05-2012, 11:38   #135
krd
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by underachieved View Post
ok so the guard having seen two people he didnt know, on a "midnight drive" in a van not from the area u turning on the forcourt of a closed garage (someones private property) in a rural area does his job,
Wait a second. You may be in bed at 9 O'Clock just after saying the rosary. But in rural areas there is traffic at all hours. People work late shifts. People are up to start early shifts. Farmers are up at all hours. There's always is lots of traffic, even late at night.

Quote:
checks the car out completely as i wish more of them would do, then checks out the occupents to make sure they're not bogeys and searches the van to make sure there is nothing bogey in it. when he is satisfied that they are not criminals he lets them go on their way.
Bogeys?....What do you mean by that?......People who don't like the GAA, and don't wear shirts and ties under their jumpers?

Quote:
he is not only entitled to do these things but supposed to in my opinion. its his job. If it was my property this is exactly the service i would demand. There are good guards and bad ones but no telepathic ones, investigating suspicious things is what they do.
You've obviously never been stopped, had the gaurds swear and sneer at you. Then pull everything from your glove compartment on to the floor. Open letters, toss stuff about.

Quote:
As for him being mean to you, i wouldnt let it bother you too much, the world is a tough place, not everyone is polite. I would rather pay my taxes for an impolite police force that does its job than a polite one that doesnt.
Yeah, definitely it's never happened to you. Why don't you say what you really mean - you're happy to pay your taxes so the garda can go around abusing the knackers. Showing them who's boss.

They're not going to stop a "respectable" person like you - only the knacker people.

Quote:
you should just try to contact him about the cert and try not to get too hung up on it. seems to me you are making mountains out of mohills. him checking your tires is doing you and the rest of us a favour making sure that your van is safe to be on the road.
Ah right. Doing them a "favour" checking their tires. He was looking for something to do them on. If he would've found bald tires he'd probably have tried to prosecute them.

The guards are there to stop crime. Not to be professional arseholes.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion