Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

30-04-2012, 13:08   #1
voxpop

ESD Safe soldering station loan - LCM fix

Anyone have a lend of a ESD safe soldering station - ive the common LCM problem of blown transisters and need to solder in a new set. A lend of one would be much appreciated. In Dublin.
30-04-2012, 21:32   #2
Onwardandupwar
Banned

If your on about the lcm on a BMW I don't think that's gona work as it does require coding there after if my memory serves me correctly
30-04-2012, 22:02   #3
DublinDilbert

What size packages do you need to solder? Once you have a fine enough bit you'll be grand, may even get away with a heat gun.

If your stuck and around Dublin I'll solder it for ya.
30-04-2012, 22:48   #4
voxpop

@ DublinDilbert: Its a transister or two. The guide I was reading said they were very sensetive to static and to use an esd safe soldering station. Ive always just used a cheap soldering iron,but I dont think its precise enough for electronics. If you're handy with a soldering iron, it would be a great help.

@ Onwardandupwar : you only need to code the lcm if its from another car. Replacing the transisters should repair the existing lcm
30-04-2012, 23:30   #5
DublinDilbert

If the tip is fine enough on your existing soldering iron you should be fine. Depending on the design you might have to get a load of heat into them anyway to de-solder & re-solder them.

The solder joints just crack on these anyway right? Or are the transistors damaged.

Nearly every soldering iron will be Esd safe as the tip is earthed. You'll have more Esd than the soldering iron :-) do make sure to earth your self, handle the ecu by the ground connection initially. The person who wrote the how to is probably a little paranoid about Esd.
(2) thanks from:
01-05-2012, 01:47   #6
whizbang

do it on your kitchen sink, grounded steel worksurface is about the best you can get!
(3) thanks from:
01-05-2012, 10:36   #7
langdang
Closed Account

Don't wear a fleece shuffling round on carpets and you'll probably be fine.
Ground yourself off the sink as well before you touch anything to dissipate any static.

"Old style" lead solder is more flexible and is easier to get a good joint on than the newer lead free stuff. If the original issue is cracking of joints it would be worth using the lead stuff.
01-05-2012, 13:40   #8
voxpop

Cheers lads - soldering iron is a standard draper yoke - probaby not good enough anyway for doing electronics.

Ive attached the guide I was going to follow

Attached Files
File Type: pdf REPAIR OF LCM ON A E39.pdf (344.6 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by voxpop; 01-05-2012 at 13:52.
01-05-2012, 15:53   #9
DublinDilbert

Quote:
Originally Posted by voxpop View Post
Cheers lads - soldering iron is a standard draper yoke - probaby not good enough anyway for doing electronics.

Ive attached the guide I was going to follow

It may just be cracked solder, in which case heating it up and adding some fresh solder will solve the problem. If you do need to replace the device the only tricky bit will be wicking/sucking the solder out of the holes.

If the part is gone, i've lots of the BTS441 high side drivers sitting around, they are just a more modern version of the same thing, should work the same.
Thanks from:
02-05-2012, 09:20   #10
cletus

Quote:
Originally Posted by DublinDilbert View Post
If you do need to replace the device the only tricky bit will be wicking/sucking the solder out of the holes.

http://www.amazon.com/Parts-Express-.../dp/B0002KRAAG
13-05-2012, 19:17   #11
voxpop

How do I know if the solder is cracked? I took the board out today, pic below. There is a bit of corrosion , would that be an issue?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg lcm.jpg (447.1 KB, 80 views)

Last edited by voxpop; 13-05-2012 at 19:44.
13-05-2012, 23:09   #12
DublinDilbert

It's some times hard to spot the cracked solder without a magnifier / microscope. Dry joints will be dull in colour and not shiny.

Definitely clean up the corrosion with ipa.

The solder typically cracks on large components that are mechanically attached to the pcb and something else too, a heat sink for example.

You can just apply some flux and reflow the joint, if you think its bad.
14-05-2012, 10:13   #13
voxpop

Im guesing my soldering iron is way to clumsy for this sort of work ?

The transistors are pressed against the heatsink using some sort of spring clips - could that lead to solder cracking. Probably just replace the transistors , if I can get my hands on replacements.

When you say reflow - do you mean just heat up the solder and let it re-cool ?
14-05-2012, 12:11   #14
DublinDilbert

Quote:
Originally Posted by voxpop View Post
Im guesing my soldering iron is way to clumsy for this sort of work ?

The transistors are pressed against the heatsink using some sort of spring clips - could that lead to solder cracking. Probably just replace the transistors , if I can get my hands on replacements.

When you say reflow - do you mean just heat up the solder and let it re-cool ?
Yea if the transistors are held against the heat sink, the solder going into the PCB can crack from vibration, expansion etc... I've seen this lots of times on car radio's where the amplifier chip is bolted to the case.

Yea re-flowing the joint, is just heating it up, usually with some solder flux added and allowing it to cool. This will generally fix a bad joint. if you've no flux, suck /wick some of the older solder off and add some fresh stuff.

I have lots of them BTS441 if you want a few of them. But I would re-flow the joints on the existing transistors before replacing them and test it in the car to see if it fixed the issue.
Thanks from:
14-05-2012, 13:04   #15
voxpop

is re-flowing something a novice could do - ive soldered a few things but nothing this precise

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion