Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

30-04-2012, 22:12   #16
ltlt

heya! Yes seems a lot cheaper and better! Are you doing a masters also? Mine begins the 10th of Septmeber.
30-04-2012, 22:14   #17
kep90

I'm doing pgce! Seriously nervous.. dont know anybody! I know theres loads of irish there tho so we'll be fine
30-04-2012, 23:21   #18
Catzd

Are you doin the primary PGDE aswell? I had been searching through boards for ages for a forum like this but there was none so I just set up my own!! There's loadsa accommodation around the college it's just a matter of finding a suitable place! I've booked flights to go over in June to look! Where abouts are you from in Ireland
04-05-2012, 11:18   #19
Pipee

Hi everyone, sorry for not replying, was sure I'd get e-mail notifications on replies but guess not.

Glad to see that ye are finding it a bit easier to get accommodation etc.

About meeting Irish people, I've met loads from the North but apart from 1 guy I met in a course who had been here for 3 years the only other person from the republic I know is someone I was introduced to through friends. Maybe ye will find more than I did. As I mentioned there are loads from the north but that is pretty much as different a country to me as Scotland is since I'm from Cork.

Still though people are friendly and it is no more or less difficult to make friends with people than in Ireland.

EDIT: Oh yeah, I don't have a part time job as my PhD is funded so I get by with what I have.
04-05-2012, 11:36   #20
kep90

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catzd View Post
Are you doin the primary PGDE aswell? I had been searching through boards for ages for a forum like this but there was none so I just set up my own!! There's loadsa accommodation around the college it's just a matter of finding a suitable place! I've booked flights to go over in June to look! Where abouts are you from in Ireland
Yeah I should really go over and have a look.. Yeah I'm doing primary. I'm from waterford! Did my undergraduate in ucc! I know a girl from dungarvan who's in pats atm and there's loads from her class going! I'm gona try get onto that fb page tho we could find people to flat share! It would be so handy! Haha the money we save can go towards nights out
05-05-2012, 20:58   #21
Craic Fox

Hey guys, I have been browsing the web to see if anyone else has been talking about the Pgde in Glasgow. I'm from Mayo myself and having been living here for nearly four years. The only problem is my flatmates are graduating in June and leaving the city so I am kinda stuck for flatmates. If anyone doing the course is interested in a flat share, I am very knowledgeable on the most suitable areas so don't be afraid to hit me up. I am also active on the facebook page relating to the PGDE if anyone has queries etc.
07-05-2012, 23:36   #22
Elvis_Presley

Hey,

Those of you that are considering university accommodation - let me strongly advise you against it for many reasons.

1) Cost - it's fecking severely overpriced.
2) Living with unpleasant people - there's a very high proportion of unpleasant people staying in those flats. The flats are often 6-8 person, it only takes one person to ruin it.
3) They're sh*t. Granted most Glasgow flats are pretty shi*ty, especially the WestEnd tenemants, but the university ones are of very poor quality.
4) Rent a mammy - you're doing a fecking postgrad. You don't need a security guard telling you you're not allowed bring someone in at night or a weekly inspection to tell you to do the dishes.

Put the effort into finding a good flatshare on gumtree. There's loads going. It might be difficult going over in June and trying to find some. Plenty of people arrive without anywhere to stay and always find some. Stay in a hostel a few days and begin your Glasgow adventure in style! Met some people in a hostel who are very good friends of mine now. It might seem scary going over without accommodation, but you'll be fine. I went over without any, found a place no problem. Granted it burnt down two weeks later, but silly me for living above a restaurant! Glasgow's a cracking city, full of great people and so much to do. As well as being a big party city, it has loads of culture, something it's not known for. Whatever happens you'll have a great time here and won't want to leave. I'm here a year and a half, and even though I found myself homeless, penniless and only the clothes on my back in the middle of the night I've forgiven the place!

Last edited by pow wow; 14-06-2012 at 16:57.
07-05-2012, 23:55   #23
Catzd

Hey craic fox where abouts is your flat? Do you have it advertised on gumtree?! Thanks Elvis for your advice, nice to know your alive and well
06-06-2012, 13:59   #24
Craic Fox

So it would seem I am a boards.ie noob. I assumed that since i had no messages it meant nobody replied to the thread.

Anyhow, I live on Argyle Street about ten minutes walk from the Uni. The problem for me is one of my flatmates is leaving this year and the other two have work placements and have to move out leaving me on my own. Ideally I would like to get a flat with people on the course just because it would be great for sharing the load and keeping motivation up, but we'll have to see I guess.
06-06-2012, 15:03   #25
Elvis_Presley

Hey Craic fox, you're living down the road from me, I'm on vincent crescent. I may be moving in September, what's the rent in your place? If you fancy grabbing a pint sometime and discussing it, I'd be up for it. Although from Monday I'm away from Glasgow for a few weeks well deserved holidays.
07-06-2012, 21:58   #26
etha77

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvis_Presley View Post
Hey,

Those of you that are considering university accommodation - let me strongly advise you against it for many reasons.

1) Cost - it's fecking severely overpriced.
2) Living with unpleasant people - there's a very high proportion of unpleasant people staying in those flats. The flats are often 6-8 person, it only takes one person to ruin it.
3) They're sh*t. Granted most Glasgow flats are pretty shi*ty, especially the WestEnd tenemants, but the university ones are of very poor quality.
4) Rent a mammy - you're doing a fecking postgrad. You don't need a security guard telling you you're not allowed bring someone in at night or a weekly inspection to tell you to do the dishes.

Put the effort into finding a good flatshare on gumtree. There's loads going. It might be difficult going over in June and trying to find some. Plenty of people arrive without anywhere to stay and always find some. Stay in a hostel a few days and begin your Glasgow adventure in style! Met some people in a hostel who are very good friends of mine now. It might seem scary going over without accommodation, but you'll be fine. I went over without any, found a place no problem. Granted it burnt down two weeks later, but silly me for living above a restaurant! Glasgow's a cracking city, full of great people and so much to do. As well as being a big party city, it has loads of culture, something it's not known for. Whatever happens you'll have a great time here and won't want to leave. I'm here a year and a half, and even though I found myself homeless, penniless and only the clothes on my back in the middle of the night I've forgiven the place!
Really, it is debatable whether or not if you ever studied at university considering the poor grasp you have over the English language. I'm quite certain you've never seen the student university accommodation the provide.

I've stayed in QMR for one year; its anything but crap. Students have en suite room, quite, normal people whom are friendly.The rooms are inspected twice or three times a year. The housing is located in one off Glasgow chic neighbourhoods. Just look at the cars in the neighbourhood! . However, Window drive administration is shared with QMR. What you pay for is what you get!. I wonder why QMR and the other student accommodations are oversubscribed each year, if its really as crap as you say. Maximum number of bedrooms in a flat is 5 people not 8!. Just shows how much of a sad liar this guy is!.

I've searched over your posts in previous threads your grammar is quite poor, so is your syntax. PLEASE IMPROVE IT!

Last edited by pow wow; 14-06-2012 at 16:58.
07-06-2012, 22:55   #27
Elvis_Presley

Quote:
Originally Posted by etha77 View Post
Really, it is debatable whether or not if you ever studied at university considering the poor grasp you have over the English language. I'm quite certain you've never seen the student university accommodation the provide.

I've stayed in QMR for one year; its anything but crap. Students have en suite room, quite, normal people whom are friendly.The rooms are inspected twice or three times a year. The housing is located in one off Glasgow chic neighbourhoods. Just look at the cars in the neighbourhood! . However, Window drive administration is shared with QMR. What you pay for is what you get!. I wonder why QMR and the other student accommodations are oversubscribed each year, if its really as crap as you say. Maximum number of bedrooms in a flat is 5 people not 8!. Just shows how much of a sad liar this guy is!.

I've searched over your posts in previous threads your grammar is quite poor, so is your syntax. PLEASE IMPROVE IT!
You sound like you're an absolute joy to live with!

Let's analyse your post shall we, seeing as you're so fond of grammar:

Quote:
I'm quite certain you've never seen the student university accommodation the provide.
I believe you meant to say "they"

Quote:
The housing is located in one off Glasgow chic neighbourhoods
Maybe you should use of instead off. Also, Glasgow requires an apostrophe 's'.

Quote:
if its really as crap as you say
"its" requires an apostrophe 's' also.

Last edited by Elvis_Presley; 07-06-2012 at 22:58.
14-06-2012, 16:55   #28
pow wow

Ease off on the bickering folks. Keep it on topic or keep it quiet.

Also I've edited your post to remove some of the more unpleasant phrases Elvis_Presley. Everything else remains unchanged.
14-06-2012, 22:21   #29
Craic Fox

Hey Elvis, if you are about I would be well up for a pint. Give me a time and a place.
17-06-2012, 12:23   #30
Elvis_Presley

hey, Craic Fox, I'm away on my holidays tomorrow but I'll give you a shout when I get back. Cheers.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion