|
Advertisement
|
|
|
| 20-03-2012, 15:28 | #2 |
|
Registered User
![]() |
Only ERB I've heard of is the Engineering Research Building.
|
|
|
| (13) thanks from: |
| 20-03-2012, 16:41 | #3 |
|
Registered User
![]() |
Its the electoral and referenda board, they oversee SU elections.
It includes a Sabat (usually the Comms Officer), a PSA rep (Usually the PSA Prez), a rep from class reps and a rep from C&S. If all sabats are running then their spot is filled by another Class Rep. (or at least that was how things worked when i was on it) |
|
|
| 22-03-2012, 02:22 | #5 |
|
Closed Account
|
The members of the ERB are
Chris Sloane Colm Fitzgerald Derek Daly Sarah Jane Hennelly Claire Gallery Fr. John Campion Callista Bennis And there is one other person who is the chairperson but i dont know who that is source : http://www.ulsuelect.com/?p=285 Last edited by yuppy700; 22-03-2012 at 02:24. Reason: including source |
|
|
|
Advertisement
|
|
|
| 22-03-2012, 10:16 | #7 |
|
Moderator
![]() |
|
|
|
| Thanks from: |
| 22-03-2012, 12:28 | #8 |
|
Band
![]() |
I don't get the issue of just posting the disclaimer... seems like common courtesy tbh.
|
|
|
| 22-03-2012, 12:57 | #9 |
|
Registered User
![]() |
I agree, whoever is running that blog has made a big deal out of nothing and why would it be such a big deal to just put up the disclaimer?
Instead, the author of the email has thrown up the emails as if there's some kind of conspiracy. Is it really necessary to be throwing up people's names when the email specifically asks for this not to happen? Where is the reply sent between these 2 emails? |
|
|
|
Advertisement
|
|
|
| 22-03-2012, 14:01 | #10 |
|
Registered User
![]() |
I have to say that ulsuelect acted very unprofessional in this instance. This was a similar request which ye blew completely out of proportion
Ulsuelect is an unofficial source, why deny this (Id go as far as to say it's in your interests to put this on the page) |
|
|
| 22-03-2012, 16:37 | #11 | |
|
Registered User
![]() |
Quote:
Secondly they include interviews made my tst in the official election website. Those interviews were conducted , edited and hosted by external body, just demonstrates the level of institutionalism in this place. The admin of that site should tell this merry band of muppets to get a grip. Take it up with the host or the domain name registrar. Delusion on this college goes to the very top |
|
|
|
| 23-03-2012, 07:56 | #12 |
|
Registered User
![]() |
As stated in the email, the company owns the ULSU name. Rather than claiming infringement on it, which is well within their rights, they have just asked for a disclaimer on the page. ULSUElect lost a lot of my respect and support due to the childish nature in which they conducted themselves.
|
|
|
| (4) thanks from: |
| 23-03-2012, 14:09 | #13 |
|
Registered User
![]() |
What company know what name?
the only company I know of University of Limerick Students Union Services Ltd which is often abbreviated to ULSU Services. They do not own or copyright the term ULSU. If you think that you are mistaken and you and your 5 thankers should read a few books before posting on this topic. i might register ulsuis****.com tonight. |
|
|
| 23-03-2012, 14:19 | #14 | |
|
Registered User
![]() |
Quote:
I believe the term people are looking for is trademark. The only trademark that is held bu ULSU (or its trading company) is the UL Wolves logo. (Source: http://www.patentsoffice.ie/) They have no right or ground to claim any infringement (as your post is worded). |
|
|
|
| (2) thanks from: |
| 26-03-2012, 17:01 | #15 |
|
Registered User
![]() |
The issue here is not isolated to legal assertions of either side of the discussion.
They asked politely for you to make clear that the site is not affiliated with ULSU. It would have been pretty reasonable for you to simply have replied noting that no trademarking of the ULSU exists and seen what came of that. Instead you appear to have ignored the initial mail and when the second one came you posted them both up as if you were' being appressed by "The Man" in some massive row. You also said that you'd keep us all posted. The site now just has a list of the newly elected team. I'd like to know how the situation which you made public ended up? Regardless of whether you're right about the trademark, I personally think you've fallen down at least in manners. |
|
|
| (3) thanks from: |