Digiweb rolls out 30Mbps broadband services - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
07-03-2012, 15:08   #1
bealtine
Registered User
 
bealtine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: here behind the sofa
Posts: 3,911
Digiweb rolls out 30Mbps broadband services

http://www.siliconrepublic.com/comms...-out-30mbps-br

Broadband provider Digiweb has rolled out a new 30Mbps broadband service to an addressable market of 500,000 homes across Ireland.

Digiweb's Metro Express service combines 30Mbps broadband and phone services for €30 a month and does not require a traditional landline.

The service is available in many areas that can only currently receive 1Mbps coverage from traditional DSL service providers or which are beyond the catchment area of most towns.

Digiweb employs 145 people and owns its own integrated fibre, wireless, unbundled exchange and satellite network. It serves 80,000 customers in Ireland.

“Our high-speed Metro Express 30Mbps service will significantly improve the customer experience for internet users across Ireland with faster downloads and lower prices for consumers, and enable better, faster services and new technology opportunities for Irish business," Digiweb CEO Colm Piercy said.

“This latest innovation, developed here in Ireland, performs three or more times faster than typical 8Mbps services available from other providers," Piercy added.

John Kennedy
bealtine is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
08-03-2012, 13:17   #2
RangeR
Registered User
 
RangeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 127/8
Posts: 6,720
That's a lovely piece of PR.

This package has less of a usage cap than their 12Mbps package.

5Mb -> 50GB
8Mb -> 60GB
12Mb -> 70GB
30Mb -> 60GB
RangeR is offline  
(3) thanks from:
08-03-2012, 23:39   #3
bealtine
Registered User
 
bealtine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: here behind the sofa
Posts: 3,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by RangeR View Post
That's a lovely piece of PR.

This package has less of a usage cap than their 12Mbps package.
[/B]
Digiweb are the kings of paltry caps ok.
bealtine is offline  
09-03-2012, 07:37   #4
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,516
It because metro is Wireless. They would need x4 amount of spectrum to generally offer 30Mbs at same cap and x16 amount of spectrum to offer UPC caps and speed. Or 1/15th the number of customers.

It may be a marketing ploy, but at least unlike Mobile they are not offering the impossible.
watty is offline  
(2) thanks from:
09-03-2012, 10:31   #5
bk
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by watty View Post
It because metro is Wireless.
Yes, but they are just as bad with their weird services.

Despite having fibre to the building, Smart/Digiweb only offer 10mb with a 170GB cap and charge a lot for more cap.

Not competitive at all with Eircom, never mind UPC!
bk is offline  
Advertisement
09-03-2012, 11:46   #6
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,516
Yes, that's strange. There must be a bottle neck somewhere.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
09-03-2012, 12:16   #7
bealtine
Registered User
 
bealtine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: here behind the sofa
Posts: 3,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by watty View Post
Yes, that's strange. There must be a bottle neck somewhere.
Sounds like crappy backhaul to me
bealtine is offline  
Thanks from:
09-03-2012, 12:37   #8
RangeR
Registered User
 
RangeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 127/8
Posts: 6,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by bealtine View Post
Sounds like crappy backhaul to me
Maybe they have a few leprechauns shuttling the packets on wheelbarrows, to and from the interconnect, considering their siteeeeation?
RangeR is offline  
09-03-2012, 13:36   #9
bealtine
Registered User
 
bealtine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: here behind the sofa
Posts: 3,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk View Post
Yes, but they are just as bad with their weird services.

!
weird eh?
bealtine is offline  
Advertisement
09-03-2012, 18:54   #10
cgarvey
Registered User
 
cgarvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Clare / Kildare
Posts: 3,728
And it's €45month, not €30. You get 1 month free, essentially, with their special offer.

Year 1 cost of Digiweb Metro, for comparison, is €495 including VAT, and is payable quarterly in advance (unlike most residential broadband).

Had a very satisfied few years on Metro, had to switch transmitter due to contention, but it was sorted out within a week, as far as I can remember. The phone service never worked satisfactorily for me, mind.
cgarvey is offline  
12-03-2012, 10:59   #11
bk
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by watty View Post
Yes, that's strange. There must be a bottle neck somewhere.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bealtine View Post
Sounds like crappy backhaul to me
Nope, when Smart first started offering broadband in the building, the speeds were uncapped and I was happily getting about 20mb/s.

Then they decided to trial a new MPEG4 IPTV system. They then capped the broadband speeds at 10mb/s as it would give a more stable profile for use by IPTV.

However after about a year they completely scrapped their IPTV system, Sky was installed in the building for TV, but Smart never bothered to lift the cap and allow customers to buy smarts more expensive 24mb products.

There is no backhaul problems, it is down to pure laziness, they just don't want to bother offering better products where they have a monopoly.

They really should never have used ADSL DSLAMS in the basement either. Each apartment is wired using Cat5e from the basement, so they should have used an ethernet based system like Magnet does it it's developments. Much more future proof.

Hopefully they should upgrade to VDSL2+ or better yet an ethernet based system some day. But I have little hope of that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bealtine View Post
weird eh?
bk is offline  
12-03-2012, 17:07   #12
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,516
Smart only had one plan. Get loads of customers by any method and get bought out. Didn't happen. Digiweb only bought what was left at firesale prices after the shutters went up. Also I don't think Digiweb has any intention of doing any investment or major changes till the economic climate has changed. It's a very different outfit than it was 4 years ago.
watty is offline  
(2) thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet