Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
10-03-2012, 17:33   #1
BhoscaCapall
Banned
 
BhoscaCapall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,913
How the hell did my phone break?

It's a Nokia 6300, which I went to grain pains to find about a month ago. Even though it's an old model the handset was never used before so in good nick.

The other night I was using my phone at about 2am, worked fine although it was a bit low on battery. Put it down next to the bed and went to sleep. When I woke up the next day I could hear it double that beep it does when it's low on battery, but I ignored it for a while cuz I couldn't remember where it was. Then I found it and it was dead, so I plugged it in and the screen was blank. It "lights up black" if you get what I mean, i.e. the backlight works but the screen is still blank.

The phone itself works, as I can put in my PIN and make/receive calls and stuff, but have to do it all blind.

Other than ALIENS, what the hell could have caused this? Reminds me of all the headphones I had that would break for no reason.
BhoscaCapall is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
10-03-2012, 17:36   #2
Davy
Category Moderator
 
Davy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ireland most of the time
Posts: 14,771
Could be a loose connection on the ribbon LCD. Is it possible the LCD was replaced or other done on it before you got it?

Either way it's a cheap enough fix, if you want to spend cash on such a relic.
Davy is offline  
10-03-2012, 17:39   #3
mikom
Registered User
 
mikom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: FRAPING in a parallel universe....
Posts: 13,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by BhoscaCapall View Post
It's a Nokia 6300, which I went to grain pains to find about a month ago.
That's oat so admirable.
mikom is offline  
10-03-2012, 17:42   #4
Adolf Hipster
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 484
Why go to great lengths to track it down?

Just curious, don't have to answer.
Adolf Hipster is offline  
10-03-2012, 18:00   #5
BhoscaCapall
Banned
 
BhoscaCapall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davy View Post
Could be a loose connection on the ribbon LCD. Is it possible the LCD was replaced or other done on it before you got it?

Either way it's a cheap enough fix, if you want to spend cash on such a relic.
Would I be able to fix it myself? I'm handy enough at this sort of thing. I just don't want to break it altogether as right now I'm at least able to receive calls.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adolf Hipster View Post
Why go to great lengths to track it down?

Just curious, don't have to answer.
Perfect phone IMO, nice clear screen, proper buttons etc. I think smartphones are a cancer to society
BhoscaCapall is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
10-03-2012, 18:19   #6
Davy
Category Moderator
 
Davy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ireland most of the time
Posts: 14,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by BhoscaCapall View Post
Would I be able to fix it myself? I'm handy enough at this sort of thing. I just don't want to break it altogether as right now I'm at least able to receive calls.
If its a loose ribbon cable it's easy enough. From memory I think you will need a t6 and a t5 screwdriver.

Edit: checked its just a t6 you need to remove 6 screws

Last edited by Davy; 10-03-2012 at 18:43.
Davy is offline  
Thanks from:
11-03-2012, 12:29   #7
MrFrisp
Registered User
 
MrFrisp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Overlooking Cork City!
Posts: 1,770
Not sure if it's needed here....

http://www.formymobile.co.uk/6300disassembly.php

Just in case..





.
MrFrisp is offline  
(2) thanks from:
14-03-2012, 17:50   #8
BhoscaCapall
Banned
 
BhoscaCapall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by SexyGuy View Post
Not sure if it's needed here....

http://www.formymobile.co.uk/6300disassembly.php

Just in case..





.
That is helpful thanks.

Just need to find a bloody T6 screwdriver now. I wonder would I be able to borrow one from the uni?
BhoscaCapall is offline  
14-03-2012, 17:53   #9
Davy
Category Moderator
 
Davy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ireland most of the time
Posts: 14,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by BhoscaCapall View Post
That is helpful thanks.

Just need to find a bloody T6 screwdriver now. I wonder would I be able to borrow one from the uni?
If your not in a rush, you could buy a LCD for it incase, usually get the T6 with it
Davy is offline  
Advertisement
15-03-2012, 02:11   #10
BostonB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,745
Its a known issue if you a google it. 6300 white screen. It might be the cable, screen or fault on the board. Mine was the latter. No point fixing it.

The Nokia C5 is probably the closest thing to it. Or 3 do a Samsung S5610.
BostonB is offline  
16-03-2012, 14:53   #11
BhoscaCapall
Banned
 
BhoscaCapall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,913
lol so I got the screwdrivers and followed the above guide, however it neglected to mention that you had to remove a small metal cap before pulling the screen cable out, so now my screen cable is definitely broken after tearing on the aforementioned metal
BhoscaCapall is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet