Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

09-03-2012, 21:13   #46
Show Time

The blueshirts and Labour won't last another year.
09-03-2012, 21:37   #47
SafeSurfer

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudreyHepburn View Post
I think a lot of the problem is that everyone was expecting miracles that could never and would never happen. They hoped for too much, too soon.

It took the best part of two decades to bring the country to where it is now. Things will not improve overnight nor did anyone ever say it would.

I will concede that a lot was promised at Election time that has been delivered yet. But I think this may have been a case of simply telling us what we wanted to hear, and not what was right, in the same as EK said we were not responsible for the recession.
Alot of people's unrealistic expectations were driven by the election promises made by Fine Gael. The phrase "within 100 days of achieving office" was one of their buzz phraes during the election, in relation to upward only rent reviews amongst many other promises and in my own constituency in relation to cancer services.
So they have only themselves to blame.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/an...s-2672602.html

http://www.finegael2011.com/pressrel...p?artId=5E5A57

Thanks from:
09-03-2012, 21:58   #48
westendgirlie
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggins View Post
It breaks my heart to see that so many are just accepting the (maximum?) 10% good they might be doing and at the same time willingly overlooking the other 90% of pure crap they are doing/saying!

Yet when others give out and protest their 90% disgusting actions, they are put down as 'moaners, begrudger's, whiners, etc...'
Some people gave out about Charles Haughtey, Fianna Fail, Albert Ahern and co, and they were treated the same. "Aaa... sure they are a bunch of moaners, as Bertie said, they would be better off killing themselves!" (I paraphrase)

..Yet years later when the real price of their 90% (approx) bad actions became evident to the public - the same sheep public that supported these fools, scratched their head and said "How did this happen? and "How was this allowed to happen?"

...It was because ye allowed it to happen you idiots!
In your rush to only see the minor good they might have did, you stupidly constantly failed to see (or didn't want to see) the utter rot they were/are doing at the same time!

...And SURPRISE!!!
The same crap is happening again!
Don't say you weren't warned AGAIN!!!
When you moving into Vincent Browns seat? I might start watching it again!
09-03-2012, 22:01   #49
homerjay2005

i think they are doing well. they have made mistakes, but they took over the country in the worst state in about 100 year.

its easy to just blame then when the country is in the s*itter. its not going to be solved in one year, the damage done will take years to recover.
09-03-2012, 22:09   #50
Royal Legend

1. They told blatant lies to get into power, maybe they felt they had to, so as they could remove the previous government, but imo sinking to the level they did, shows that they are morally corupt.

2. Enda Kenny is one of the most transparently poor leaders that we have ever had, The one time I went to give him credit for a speech, it turned out he had plagerised it. He tries to copy the mannerisms of Tony Blair or Bill Clinton, but he looks like a string puppet out of Thunderbirds. What really pees me off is when he gives an interview and he has to have at least 20 nodding dogs behind him, he has the personality of twn dead cats and he continues to make promises he cannot hope to keep. We are not stupid Enda !

3. Apart from Noonan, who seems to be a nice fella, I cannot stand any one of the FG ministers, everyone of them is either arrogant, superior or thick, or in the case of varadker and Reilly, all three.

4. That one of their promiises was how they would tell the EU to F.O, etc, when in fact, all they seem to have done is read up on the karma sutra and bent over more and handed the EU a jar of vaseline

5. That every week, they either renage on another promise, or hit joe soap with either another stealth tax or charge.

To be very honest, I fear they could potentially destroy peoples lives, there are more people getting out of this country as there ever was. There are going to be more people on the breadline, They dont appear to have tangible policies, plenty of bluff though of what they are going to do, but no realistic plan of how to do it.
The excuse that they inherited these issues was a broken record 6 months ago, plus, if you look at what they were saying when in opposition, they wanted to squander even more money then Fianna Fail did, we would be in as bad or an even worse situation.

I thought the chinese thing a couple of weeks ago was very positive and was the first time that I said to myself, yes, this is a good inititive. Then they go and ruin it within a day with their training and jobs plan, training people to get jobs that are not there.

One thing for certain, Labour will be finished at the end of this governments term, they have shown themselves to be seriously lightweight and have seemed to ignore everything they have ever stood for.

So in summary, a disaster of a government, but we all got what we voted for, so suck it up for another few years and if you dont like it, go to Canada or Oz
(2) thanks from:
09-03-2012, 22:29   #51
questionmark?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAFC View Post
From the outside looking in, they seem to have done a bad job. I think Fianna Fail would have been a better option to sort out the mess which some say they created. I don't think Fine Gael are up to the task and the taoiseach seems to be too lightweight on the political front as they say.

I really think Fianna Fail can get back in again and with some new ideas and fresh candidates, they can improve the situation and move the Irish Republic forward. Time will tell but I predict Fine Gael to not be as great as some might have predicted.

Please say that post was a joke
09-03-2012, 22:36   #52
galwayrush

Disappointing, but a massive improvement on the last shower.
09-03-2012, 23:03   #53
kevmy85

To add my 2 cent on specific ministers:
FG ones first

Kenny - as expected steady, upbeat, good for stability of government to not have an egotist as Taoiseach. Still wooden in TV appearances but thats Enda

Noonan - probably one of the best. Seems on top of his brief and putting in the work, especially given the tough times he's had personnally

Bruton - disappointing. Expected a lot from him but he's not really cutting it. I know they've announced a lot of plans and job losses have tapered off but still not much overall

Reilly - I think he's doing ok. Turning around the HSE is like moving a battleship it'll take time. Thought he handled Roscommon hospital situation, Tallaght and HSE board issues well. We'll see on children's hospital and HSE retirements. Good to see someone there who wants to be in the job

Shatter - bit of a disaster. Done nothing on upward rents, fecked up one of the referendums and generally has an arrogant, know-it-all air about him.

Coveney - surprisingly one of the best. Farming is booming and he seemed to tailor budget cuts fairly smartly. Got a very good deal for the fishing community.

Varadker - meh. Still makes the odd off the wall comment which is needed but in a department probably not best suited to him.

Hogan - sceptic tank issue his main contribution so far. Constitutional convention/referendum his chance to make a proper mark, we'll see how that goes

Fitzgerald - hasn't done a tap as far as I can see. Still no childrens referendum and that seems to be all she has to do.

Deenihan - doing the ordinary in a nothing department.

Labour ones

Gilmore - a bit of speechifying every now and again but thats about it.

Quinn - mixed bag. Disappointed on his u-turn on college fees. Doing good work on separation of church from schools. Wrong on Deis cuts but reversed it. Right on closing some smaller schools but will it go through

Burton - probably the best of the Lab ministers. Knows the mood of the nation better than most and managed to keep most of the social welfare budget cuts non-controversial which is an achievement in itself

Rabbitte - very disappointing. One the guys I had higher expectations for but seems to have done very little.

Howlin - unsure on him really. Not enough on reform but seems to be managing the civil service redundancies/cuts quite well while keeping unions onside.
09-03-2012, 23:21   #54
LordSutch

One year in and I think the Fine Gael/Labour coalition are streering a steady course in the aftermath of an economic catastrophy engineered by Fianna Fail. Enda Kenny has turned out to be a reassuring leader (albeit a bit wooden), but a safe pair of hands nonetheless, and he cuts a solid image for Ireland on the international stage. Economic green shoots are beginning to appear, and we are seen to be paying our bills and facing up to our financial responsibilities, good debts & bad debts alike, the bad debts being courtesy of the previous Fianna Fail Government and "their" bank guarantee/bond holder shambles.
10-03-2012, 22:27   #55
Royal Legend

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordSutch View Post
One year in and I think the Fine Gael/Labour coalition are streering a steady course in the aftermath of an economic catastrophy engineered by Fianna Fail. Enda Kenny has turned out to be a reassuring leader (albeit a bit wooden), but a safe pair of hands nonetheless, and he cuts a solid image for Ireland on the international stage. Economic green shoots are beginning to appear, and we are seen to be paying our bills and facing up to our financial responsibilities, good debts & bad debts alike, the bad debts being courtesy of the previous Fianna Fail Government and "their" bank guarantee/bond holder shambles.
When's your Fine Gael renewal fee due?
(2) thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion