Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

08-02-2012, 20:41   #76
10green bottles

Send a message via ICQ to 10green bottles Send a message via AIM to 10green bottles Send a message via Yahoo to 10green bottles
Quote:
Originally Posted by tayto lover View Post
Clanbrassil St has to be one of the most bizzare streets in Ireland. Before Costcutter opened you could not buy a loaf of bread or a pint of milk on it. You could walk from the big bridge to Grants shop in Dublin St without passing a grocery shop. Madness. Very little to entice people into it. It needs a good supermarket with rear parking to make it busy again.
Yeah,i always go looking for bread and milk as the crow flies
08-02-2012, 21:16   #77
tayto lover

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10green bottles View Post
Yeah,i always go looking for bread and milk as the crow flies
If you were a stranger to town you would
Thanks from:
08-02-2012, 21:20   #78
10green bottles

Send a message via ICQ to 10green bottles Send a message via AIM to 10green bottles Send a message via Yahoo to 10green bottles
Quote:
If you were a stranger to town you would
Yeah,if i set of from the big bridge i would completly miss the bright lights of the Castletown Road............ because i forgot my guide dog
Thanks from:
08-02-2012, 21:30   #79
tayto lover

Quote:
Yeah,if i set of from the big bridge i would completly miss the bright lights of the Castletown Road............ because i forgot my guide dog
?????
Thanks from:
14-02-2012, 02:13   #80
10green bottles

I see that roadworks are underway @ the corner of Chapel St/Yorke St. to make a one way- system. What way is that going to run ??
14-02-2012, 05:13   #81
Nesta99

Reduce the width of the footpath on Chapel St, or ban parking, or make it one way...where's York St?(From Clanbrassil St to Chapel St at Byrnes chemist?).
14-02-2012, 17:54   #82
tayto lover

Quote:
Are you the lad with the flat nose that keeps bumping into me ?
Thanks from:
05-03-2012, 17:26   #83
Dunny

Whats going on with the road now?!
05-03-2012, 17:30   #84
tayto lover

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny! View Post
Whats going on with the road now?!

Instead of widening the road they are making the footpath bigger it seems.
The town is becoming a joke planning wise.
(4) thanks from:
06-03-2012, 19:19   #85
feck sake lads

i was listening to a bit of a row on LMFM this morning about the new cycle lanes in dundalk seemingly making things very tight for the motorist and no car space left for the residents :confused:so is the council now going to re do the whole job again it was said it cost 88 grand for the work.

i wonder if those gob****es in the planning office ever though to ask the cycling community in dundalk on how to go about building a cycle lane that everyone would be happy with.
07-03-2012, 00:56   #86
10green bottles

Quote:
Originally Posted by feck sake lads View Post
i was listening to a bit of a row on LMFM this morning about the new cycle lanes in dundalk seemingly making things very tight for the motorist and no car space left for the residents :confused:so is the council now going to re do the whole job again it was said it cost 88 grand for the work.

i wonder if those gob****es in the planning office ever though to ask the cycling community in dundalk on how to go about building a cycle lane that everyone would be happy with.
I think that the Dundalk cycling community HAVE been consulted and are in agreement with Dundalk TC with the plans that are being put in place

Re Yorke St/Chapel St;it is going to end up as a disaster.

Both streets are to be one-way only & a new pedestrian only entrance(about 50 yds from the current gate along with assoc. widened footpaths and pedestrian barriers) from the secondary school will come into use either fairly soon or in the new school year.

Parking for residents in Chapel St/Yorke St & for local businesses will be severevly restricted because of these changes.
07-03-2012, 12:28   #87
Nesta99

Quote:
Instead of widening the road they are making the footpath bigger it seems.
The town is becoming a joke planning wise.
Havent been round the square to see the works in question but the Argus reports that a gas leak meant the digging up of the footpath at where Tootsie McKeowns old shop was. Also the construction company has been brought back to do remedial work?!

I also see that the taxi ranks at the Demense and Carroll Village are being closed. A new one is opening at Francis St and another at Parks St that will operate between 10pm and 6am (think it was this thread that this was mentioned before).

Last edited by Nesta99; 07-03-2012 at 12:44.
07-03-2012, 12:31   #88
Nesta99

Quote:
I think that the Dundalk cycling community HAVE been consulted and are in agreement with Dundalk TC with the plans that are being put in place

Re Yorke St/Chapel St;it is going to end up as a disaster.

Both streets are to be one-way only & a new pedestrian only entrance(about 50 yds from the current gate along with assoc. widened footpaths and pedestrian barriers) from the secondary school will come into use either fairly soon or in the new school year.

Parking for residents in Chapel St/Yorke St & for local businesses will be severevly restricted because of these changes.
Chapel St was already a disaster and should have been one way for years, i do see though the difficulties faced by residents with parking as a result of the cycle lanes.
Thanks from:
07-03-2012, 14:14   #89
tayto lover

I don't believe this but I heard it from a resident of Stapleton Place -- The Council are to restore the street to it's original state ????? More money wasted if true.
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion