PS3 ****ed up - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
03-03-2012, 11:14   #1
war2k10
Registered User
 
war2k10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to war2k10
PS3 ****ed up

Well I'm playing fallout nw on my ps3 (60GB) and its crashing every 5 min when i play fallout but its grand when i play mw3 or something else any help ??
war2k10 is offline  
Advertisement
03-03-2012, 11:17   #2
cloud493
Registered User
 
cloud493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 9,161
Is the disc smudged or scratched?
cloud493 is offline  
03-03-2012, 11:19   #3
war2k10
Registered User
 
war2k10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to war2k10
noooo it's grand if anything it look like new :O
war2k10 is offline  
03-03-2012, 11:19   #4
cloud493
Registered User
 
cloud493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 9,161
Have you downloaded the latest patches and stuff?
cloud493 is offline  
03-03-2012, 11:20   #5
war2k10
Registered User
 
war2k10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to war2k10
ye everything is up to date
war2k10 is offline  
Advertisement
03-03-2012, 11:25   #6
cloud493
Registered User
 
cloud493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 9,161
Haven't got a clue then Maybe go back the shop you bought it from and exchange the disc?
cloud493 is offline  
03-03-2012, 11:26   #7
war2k10
Registered User
 
war2k10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to war2k10
its not the disc it's the ps3 because i have a ps3 slim too and it works grand on that :O soooo ye **** :/
war2k10 is offline  
03-03-2012, 11:39   #8
cloud493
Registered User
 
cloud493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 9,161
Sounds like you'll have to get the PS3 looked at then.
cloud493 is offline  
03-03-2012, 11:41   #9
Mindkiller
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,198
Fallout New Vegas is notoriously ****ty like that. I remember having similar problems with Oblivion:GOTY on PS3.
Mindkiller is offline  
Advertisement
03-03-2012, 11:47   #10
Minstrel27
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,686
Try deleting the game data. That solved a similar problem for me before.
Minstrel27 is offline  
03-03-2012, 12:08   #11
zenno
Closed Account
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,301
Don't delete any data..back your data up first.. after time the lazer lens gets fogged down with dust and junk and if you smoke then that gets on the lens or lenses and can cause glitches and creates a filament over the lens .

if the ps3 is out of warranty then take it apart but if it is still in warranty send it back "youtube can guide you in doing a disassemble ". and be very careful while taking off the top of the ps3 as there are small ribbon cables going to the power button, just be gentle. once the top is off get a cotton bud and only use pure alcohol like vodka and dip the bud in and make sure the bud is not soaking, you just want it slightly wet and rub the bud over the lazer lens/lenses in a counter-clockwise action 5/6 times and that's it.

but if you still have the problem after this then your hard disk drive needs a good format. i have fixed a fare few of the ps3's and the most common problem is the lazer, a clean always fixes it.
zenno is offline  
03-03-2012, 12:16   #12
Old Tom
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 232
Try running a file system repair maybe. Or database rebuild... Or both. You won't loose any data.

Old Tom is offline  
03-03-2012, 12:28   #13
Mindkiller
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,198
A lot of these solutions probably won't fix much. It's more of a New Vegas problem than anything else

http://fallout.wikia.com/wiki/Fallout%3a_New_Vegas_bugs (CTRL-F 'crash' should give you an idea of the extent of the problem)

Some of the issues have really weird fixes: " Entering the Strip may cause console to crash showing only black screen. Wearing the old cowboy hat can prevent this."
Mindkiller is offline  
03-03-2012, 12:47   #14
war2k10
Registered User
 
war2k10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to war2k10
thanks
war2k10 is offline  
05-03-2012, 09:56   #15
metzengerstein
Registered User
 
metzengerstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 789
this has happened to two of my machines and unfortunalty a day or to later it got the yellow light. its usually a sign thats whats coming,so i would back up your game data now,and then think of having it reballed or getting a new one if it does get it.if its just the game then great but better safe then sorry and back up your game data just in case


http://www.consolepros.ie/contact-us/

good place to get it reballed.
metzengerstein is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet