Can't see records in Dynamics CRM 2011 - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
01-03-2012, 23:02   #1
muchos04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 190
Can't see records in Dynamics CRM 2011

Hi guys

I have a security role set up with Deep Level (Parent Child Business Unit) access for the Read, Write and Create privileges on the contact entity in Dynamics CRM 2011. The security role is set up at the Root Business Unit and a user has been assigned the role at a child business unit. I am part of another business unit and have a plug in which assigns ownership to a user based on country of residence of the contact. When I create a contact the plug in kicks in and assigns the contact record to the correct user/owner. However, the new owner can only view the contact details in a list but cannot open the contact record….Why is this??? They have parent-child business unit access on read write and create privileges on contact entity???? very baffling!!!


Any info would be appreciated!


Thanks
muchos04
muchos04 is offline  
Advertisement
02-03-2012, 09:45   #2
28064212
Registered User
 
28064212's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Here
Posts: 6,698
If you create a new contact and manually assign it to the user, can they open it?

Are they showing up as the owner? If you open the contact and click the owner field, does it open up the correct User record?

Who wrote the plugin? Would a workflow not be better/less complex here?

What happens when they try to open the contact?
28064212 is online now  
02-03-2012, 11:17   #3
muchos04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 190
Hi there,

I seem to be having issues manually assigning a record also. I receive an error each time i try. A contracted company wrote the plug in. I deactivated the plug in and tried manually reassigning a contact but received an error message. I am the systems admin and when the contact is created the correct owner is assigned the contact. I suggested a workflow originally but this is was thought to be a better solution. However, the fact that im having issues manually assigning records is worrying.

When the owner of the record logs in to their account and opens their my contacts view, the record is visible but when you click on it they receive a message which says " You have insufficient privileges to view this record" And this is even though they have Parent BU access on create, read and write privileges for contact entity....odd
muchos04 is offline  
02-03-2012, 11:21   #4
28064212
Registered User
 
28064212's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Here
Posts: 6,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by muchos04 View Post
I deactivated the plug in and tried manually reassigning a contact but received an error message. I am the systems admin and when the contact is created the correct owner is assigned the contact.
Something not right there. Deactivate the plugin, create a new contact, save it, then try to assign it to someone else. Is this Online or On-premise btw?
28064212 is online now  
09-03-2012, 13:12   #5
muchos04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 190
It's on premise.
muchos04 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet