How to reformat dell xps 210 hard drive - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
28-02-2012, 12:14   #1
Maura74
Banned
 
Maura74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 544
How to reformat dell xps 210 hard drive

Got all the disks which came with PC and I have tried to install them again and I think that is causing me lots of problems, as all the applications were installed for before it left the factory, how can I reformat the hard drive and reinstall everything again.

It is running windows XP media

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Maura74; 28-02-2012 at 12:28.
Maura74 is offline  
Advertisement
28-02-2012, 12:45   #2
fionny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cork
Posts: 1,986
If you have all the discs there is probably a recovery disc or something?
fionny is offline  
28-02-2012, 13:46   #3
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
If you want to reinstall the operating system from scratch, look for this disc.



This will only install the OS, not any additional software, which you may not want anyway because the stuff that came originally with your computer would be hopelessly outdated by now.
Torqay is offline  
28-02-2012, 13:48   #4
old_aussie
Registered User
 
old_aussie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wollongong NSW Australia
Posts: 2,611
Reinstall from the recovery partition on the HDD
old_aussie is offline  
28-02-2012, 13:48   #5
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Another disc should have all the drivers you need for your sytem, however, you'd be better off to download the latest versions from the Dell support website.
Torqay is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
28-02-2012, 13:52   #6
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
CTRL + F11 at the POST screen should get you into the recovery console, from where you can restore the system to factory default. Note, this too will delete/overwrite any of your personal files and settings.
Torqay is offline  
28-02-2012, 18:12   #7
Maura74
Banned
 
Maura74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 544
Thanks everyone for helpful replies, I have got the disk posted above as well as the blue called disk drives and utilities. I am getting messages that I am not sure what to do with,

I can press F2 and that take me into set up and can go to factory settings but am scared to do this as I may lose a lot of my programms on the PC.

I will try and download the up to date drives and see what that does, I will be back no doubt as I am sure to mess it up
Maura74 is offline  
28-02-2012, 18:26   #8
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maura74 View Post
but am scared to do this as I may lose a lot of my programms on the PC.

I will try and download the up to date drives and see what that does, I will be back no doubt as I am sure to mess it up
Whether you choose restoring the system to factory default or installing XP Media Center Edition from scratch, all personal files and settings will be wiped.

Option 1 is the safer bet if you're unexperienced but you will end up with all the bloat and by now hopelessly outdated software that came originally preinstalled with your computer.

Option 2 will give you a clean system which I much prefer prefer. Installing Windows XP is no arcane science, illustrated installation guides are plenty.

Either way, you will have to backup your personal documents, photos music, etc or they will be lost.
Torqay is offline  
01-03-2012, 12:12   #9
Maura74
Banned
 
Maura74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 544
I have not lost anything as yet, I am having problems with a 'statue.msi' it keeps coming up everytime the PC is running any ideas on how where I can find this package on what disk please

I will try and solve on problme at a time hopefully.
Maura74 is offline  
Advertisement
01-03-2012, 13:13   #10
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maura74 View Post
I have not lost anything as yet, I am having problems with a 'statue.msi' it keeps coming up everytime the PC is running any ideas on how where I can find this package on what disk please
Try the driver disc for your Hewlett-Packard printer.

If you don't use this printer anymore, uninstall the drivers from the add/remove programs snap-in.

If it is already uninstalled and you don't have the disk anymore, use autoruns to disable status.msi in the startup routine.
Torqay is offline  
01-03-2012, 15:27   #11
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,791
Another way to stop this .msi issue is to remove the offending package using the Windows Installer Cleanup Util. I recommend doing this as not doing it may cause interference with other installers.

Nick
yoyo is offline  
01-03-2012, 15:55   #12
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
I recommend doing this as not doing it may cause interference with other installers.

Nick
I would not use the Installer CleanUp Utility if you have MS Office installed, Microsoft had to pull this utility because it wreaked havoc with Office installations. Quite irresponsible that major download sites still host it. There were also complaints from Corel, IIRC.

MS now offers a Fix It instead to solve installer issues.

Last edited by Torqay; 01-03-2012 at 15:59.
Torqay is offline  
01-03-2012, 16:18   #13
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqay View Post
I would not use the Installer CleanUp Utility if you have MS Office installed, Microsoft had to pull this utility because it wreaked havoc with Office installations. Quite irresponsible that major download sites still host it. There were also complaints from Corel, IIRC.

MS now offers a Fix It instead to solve installer issues.
I was always under the impression it worked for all but Office products. Maybe Corel ones as well, does FixIt actually work on all installers? I thought it was only for Office .
I've used Cleanup Util it without problems anyways, once your careful and don't delete anything your unsure about . Windows installer is a right pita though, handy for network/mass deployment but a pain for single use.

Nick
yoyo is offline  
01-03-2012, 16:31   #14
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
does FixIt actually work on all installers? I thought it was only for Office
It does.

Quote:
Automatically repair program installation issues that installing or removing program fails because of corrupted registry keys or blocked installation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
Windows installer is a right pita though, handy for network/mass deployment but a pain for single use.
I'm inclined to to put the blame on HP, their installers are pitiful. Seen them causing trouble quite a few times. Out of the blue they pop up at the system start asking for the CD.

I much prefer to extract the scanner/printer drivers and ditch the rest. Alternatively use their Universal Print Driver which covers pretty much any HP consumer product with the basics.
Torqay is offline  
Thanks from:
03-03-2012, 09:47   #15
Maura74
Banned
 
Maura74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 544
Many thanks Torqay and yoyo, I have HP printer and coral paintshop pro3, will try out what you advised over the weekend and see if that work. Will let you know if it works or not.
Maura74 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet