Quote:
Originally Posted by Ikky Poo2
Ah, but you labeled her loony liberal in your... post... ages ago... ****, I really am harping on, amn't I? Sorry! Seriously, she's a journalist reporting a cutesy child story. That's about it. It's a bloody blog, for heaven's sake!
|
i did label her a loony liberal because this is the way she wants to be perceived, ok not as a loony, but certainly as a liberal, taken from the word liberated, which would imply that she perceives herself to be non-judgemental. but, as i also pointed out in that post, she feels the need to explain herself in the "im not racist, but..." fashion.
you are absolutely not harping on either Ikky, you are making some interesting and valid points, and normally i would dismiss this as a harmless and cutesy child story, if i was told it by my next door neighbour. yes, their attitude would raise an eyebrow, but i'd think no more of it as they are not exposing the child to the world's media to be foisted upon some sort of imaginary liberated revolutionary thinker's pedestal.
it IS a blog Ikky, and that was my point, as a journalist, her blog garners her an already captive audience over which she would have considerable influence for her cutesy child stories. i just dont see her putting up there how he came home from school today with an A in maths, no, more important to her is the fact he now identifies himself as gay.
and that might be fine for her, but when her little boy goes into school and announces to his classmates that he is gay (and chances are he will, you wouldn't believe the embarrassing stuff my child writes in his news copy that HE doesnt see as embarrassing!), chances are that some of his classmates may not take so kindly to his newly discovered sexual identity, and will we then see the same blog author write a cutesy story about how her son "suffered his first gay-bashing today!".
Quote:
I said she didn't make an issue to the child. He seems quite happy the way things were handled. Certainly no shame or guilt and i doubt he's going to be reading the blog!
|
she didnt make an issue to the child simply because she's a loony toon, and before you accuse me of labelling her, i never said i was immune from the practice either, in fact i admitted that as i am merely a human being, it's in my nature to label and assume, based on the facts presented before me, and i think it's pretty safe to say that her twisted sense of what it is to be a tolerant and liberated thinker, falls way short of general societies standards.
the child seems quite happy with the way things were handled simply because as another poster said- he received positive reinforcement for his attention seeking. he now sees that the way to get his mother's attention and affection is to announce every so often that he wants a character on a tv show to be his boyfriend. other people though that he might seek such positive reinforcement from though, may not share the same sentiments as his mother. all she said to him was "i love you too son", as she rubbed his nose.
i wanted pamela anderson to be my girlfriend back in the days of baywatch. i was rather abrubtly and rightly so told that she is just an actress in a role, playing a tv character, it's not real. its simply meant for entertainment.
as for feeling shame or guilt- why would he feel any shame or guilt if its not pointed out to him that such behaviour is not appropriate, neither is it appropriate for a child of his age and mental development to be watching a show that in an attempt to turn stereotyping on it's head, has done nothing but tried to tick every one of society's stereotypical "minority groups"-
we have the jock, we have the bad girl who feels like an outcast, we have the kid in the wheelchair (who can actually walk in real life, but best not to spoil the child's enjoyment of the show by explaining he is only acting in a role), we have the chinese girl, and of course the two-in-one combo, the overweight black girl.
as for the chances of the child reading the blog, do you remember a band called "the offspring" that had a comeback in the mid 90's with that song "pretty fly for a white guy"? i happened to be friendly with the lead singers ex-wife for a while, and their daughter, now in her 20's, has her own solo career as a singer. their daughter will still be able to read about her father's exploits on blogs, vlogs, hell, pretty much any medium you can think of, even print media.
this
wagon's woman's child will be able to do the very same thing. how many times have we heard the classic taunt uttered in the school-yard- "hey, i saw your mother on the internet last night!". now it's a case of, they really WILL be able to see this child's mother on the internet last night, and a couple of mouse clicks through her archives, or a non too resourceful throw a couple of keywords into a wayback engine- boom! "my seven year old identifies himself as gay!". that'll be an awkward one to explain to the girlfriend. already people do google and facebook searches on their potential partners, so imagine another ten years of the oh so cutesy child stories that are going to blow up in that kid's face. already i can see the epic facepalms and "awh mom!"s.
Quote:
But if you can get someone to pay you for writing about your child in a harmless unintrusive way, wouldn't you?
|
to be perfectly honest, even as i write this now, i am more than acutely aware that i have violated my child's right to privacy by posting about his personal life on an internet forum. once you reference another person, you are immediately invading their right to privacy. you have not asked their permission, and certainly if this woman can make the proud boast to the world that her child has the maturity or is at the mentally developed stage to be able to "identify himself as gay", then surely she should assume that he also has the mental capacity to grant or deny her permission to proclaim said claim to the world.
ps. you hardly think im going to see a penny from boards.ie or daft media for writing this now, do you? so the answer to that question is no, i would not take payment for invading my child's right to privacy, because to me that'd be like pimping out my child so i could collect a fat cheque to go buy myself a new laptop, enabling me to write even more cutesy child stories, thereby invading his privacy even more so i had something to write about, and if i was a journalist and getting paid by the word, hell, i'd be minted with this post alone!
Quote:
Seriously, it's like the plush pieces you read about in womens mags all the time.
|
seriously, hard to believe and all as it may be, this is the very reason i avoid most womens magazines (i say most, because the odd time i will find an interesting piece in cosmo, which my wife buys). consider this post as a futile attempt to vent my frustration at exactly these types of "vacuous bumf" attention seeking opinion pieces masquerading as articles, unworthy of any sort of recognition and devoid of any journalistic integrity. this woman has let her profession down, she has let herself down, and worst of all, she has let her son down.