Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
19-02-2010, 19:54   #1
iBoards
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a perpetual state of distopia
Posts: 39
Permanet Broadband - N.Kerry = overstretched capacity

IMPORTANT INFORMATION on PERMANET BROADBAND


Permanet are having serious problems in North Kerry as of December 2009 - ongoing (Feb 19th 2010).

They currently have overstretched capacity and are negotiating for more bandwith.

Regardless of whether your on a lower 'contention' rate business package or not - you are going to be suffering.

4MB broadband package now gets around 512k-1mb at most peak times.

Permanet are completely aware of the problem but are not notifying customers unless they complain / telephone support.

Basically they are currently charging customers for broadband speeds they simply can not supply at the moment.

Check your package and your speed.

The only advice they could give us was to step down from the 4mb - 1 or 2 mb package. If we hadn't telephoned them they would happily have continued taking €65 a month from us. Customer service re-imbursed us for the over charge, but many people I imagine are unaware and are being over charged.

They 'hope' to have it fixed by the end of March. They told us in December it would be the end of January, so I don't have much faith in that claim.

We have decided to switch to Vodafone, since our exchange recently became broadband enabled. We can't get the 4mb line (max 2mb) but at least they aren't trying to sell us speed we can not avail of unlike Permanet.

Check your package and check the speed your getting www.speedtest.net

With a 4mb line, we can't even stream SD Youtube videos majority of the time. Shocking.....
iBoards is offline  
Advertisement
22-03-2010, 12:47   #2
iBoards
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a perpetual state of distopia
Posts: 39
Well they are still over stretched and speeds have not improved.

Coming close to April. Will they ever fix the damn problem.
iBoards is offline  
22-04-2010, 13:30   #3
deiced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Seems they have the issue fixed I was with ICE and I am getting the full 4mb in kerry where i was getting nothing from ice since it went down.
deiced is offline  
22-04-2010, 23:34   #4
ptdireland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 24
North Kerry broadband speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by iBoards View Post
Well they are still over stretched and speeds have not improved.

Coming close to April. Will they ever fix the damn problem.

Just came across this on the kerry broadband site. I am going to call them tomorrow. Im in North Kerry using a mixture of dsl and 3g.

"We are currently trialling speeds of up to 6mb in selected areas. We will roll this out to other areas during 2010. This will become our entry level package and will cost approx 24.99 pm with no download cap."
ptdireland is offline  
23-04-2010, 00:36   #5
Karsini
Abort, Retry, Fail?
 
Karsini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12,316
Send a message via Skype™ to Karsini
They've had this problem for about two years now. My parents, near Listowel, had to cancel their Blueface account as the connection was too unreliable.
Karsini is offline  
Advertisement
24-04-2010, 11:38   #6
Takeshi_Kovacs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kerry
Posts: 1,072
Yes , i have to say as well, Permanet have been pretty dire the last few months.
Between constant disconnects 2weekss ago, and pretty slow speed atm, i am very close to giving up on them. It is a pity because i was hoping they were just having problems upgrading network, and it would get better, but it just isn't.
And there is so little information coming from them, their website is dreadful.
Just wondering is anyone recieved this 6mb package from KBB yet. I am very interested in it, especially considering KBB seem to have good upload speeds as well, and the price is really competitive
Takeshi_Kovacs is offline  
21-10-2010, 22:58   #7
2hellr2conaght
Registered User
 
2hellr2conaght's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: kerry
Posts: 63
Hi is there any updates on permaNET? I am looking at dropping Eircom Jim down the pan and was looking for another option?

Dromin Upper
Listowel

Thanks
2hellr2conaght is offline  
21-10-2010, 23:00   #8
Karsini
Abort, Retry, Fail?
 
Karsini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12,316
Send a message via Skype™ to Karsini
A friend of mine lives in Dromin and switched to DSL a few months ago. But I know another around the Coolard area who has it and said it's fine. My parents also have it but not sure how theirs is right now.
Karsini is offline  
Thanks from:
24-10-2010, 19:40   #9
Karsini
Abort, Retry, Fail?
 
Karsini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12,316
Send a message via Skype™ to Karsini
I'm here in Kerry now, here's some tests from Permanet, this is a 1024/256 residential package.

Code:
Pinging loadbalancer.boards.ie [89.234.66.107] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=60
Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=60
Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=60
Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=60

Ping statistics for 89.234.66.107:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 27ms, Maximum = 36ms, Average = 30ms


Karsini is offline  
Advertisement
25-10-2010, 14:29   #10
Ricky91t
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,329
Permanets service has hugely improved recently.

It seems they're now putting a lot of work into giving all their customers a better QOS.

I think they may of got a bit carried away when they released their new 1mb packages and over subscribed, But since they've been planning to release permatel they've obviously had to ensure the service is stable with a low ping and stable speeds.

Thumbs up from me!

Edit - Just for the record I'm in no way connected to Permanet, I used to spend a lot of time emailing them( about services issues) and I found out why things were going wrong etc, and when it'll be fixed or upgraded.

I'd be one of the first people to complain if their service goes back to how it used to be.

Last edited by Ricky91t; 25-10-2010 at 14:32.
Ricky91t is offline  
25-09-2011, 11:32   #11
Sabrielle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 94
Does anyone know how Permanet are enforcing their download caps?
Sabrielle is offline  
11-11-2011, 14:58   #12
TheMadMan697
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 22
yes they are. But they will allow you to use a bit over before they cap your download speed. Your best to ask them directly.

btw this thread its very old. The information here is no longer true. They dont have any real problems with bandwidth at the moment as far as i know and they have just increased all their package speeds.

Last edited by TheMadMan697; 11-11-2011 at 15:01.
TheMadMan697 is offline  
26-11-2011, 02:02   #13
paulrosswhelan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to paulrosswhelan
Just got PermaNet installed about a week ago.
4mb Broadband and Phone package!
And this is what i'm getting!!!






paulrosswhelan is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet