Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

12-10-2011, 20:47   #1
yomamma

Addictions

Not sure if in right thread. Can someone give me advice if VICTORY OUTREACH IRELAND are any good for addiction problems. I was talking to a guy giving out leaflets on the street the other day. He seemed very genuine to be honest.

Can someone tell me if they are any use? Ive heard bad things about places for addictions where they are cults and people are brainwashed and hand their lives over to them. Is this place similar. The addiction in question is gambling.

Cheers!
12-10-2011, 23:18   #2
Tigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by yomamma View Post

Not sure if in right thread. Can someone give me advice if VICTORY OUTREACH IRELAND are any good for addiction problems. I was talking to a guy giving out leaflets on the street the other day. He seemed very genuine to be honest.

Can someone tell me if they are any use? Ive heard bad things about places for addictions where they are cults and people are brainwashed and hand their lives over to them. Is this place similar. The addiction in question is gambling.

Cheers!
Stop gambling. Do starting strength instead it's cheaper and will help you when the debt collectors call
I'm sorta joking but dude it's a habit nit an addiction you just need to realise that paddy power makes zillions cos suckers think that betting is a good idea without a team of actuaries and millions inthe bank
12-10-2011, 23:23   #3
Michael 09

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigger View Post
Quote:

Cheers!
Stop gambling. Do starting strength instead it's cheaper and will help you when the debt collectors call
I'm sorta joking but dude it's a habit nit an addiction you just need to realise that paddy power makes zillions cos suckers think that betting is a good idea without a team of actuaries and millions inthe bank
Harsh. He was looking for serious advice... Not cool
12-10-2011, 23:24   #4
Hanley
Because Hanley Heals...

Quote:
ARe you for f*cking real? Get the hell outta here. Would you say that to someone in real life?
(3) thanks from:
12-10-2011, 23:53   #5
yomamma

Quote:
Never thought of that ye knob head! For a compulsive Gambler its nothing got to do with winning money. No matter how much a compulsive gambler wins, its just more money to bet. Same with an alcoholic or a drug addict. All their money is wasted on the addiction even though they know its ruining their lives. Ive met people who have thrown their whole lives away people killing themselves. You hear of proffessional football players etc.. who lose everything. They already had everything, they started betting and then get sick. Most people dont but it dont matter how much is in the bank, once you have the problem you start betting to escape problems in life and then you get addicted.

Your addicted to being a retard so why do you keep being one?
(5) thanks from:
12-10-2011, 23:56   #6
RoverJames
Banned

Quote:
......... it's a habit nit an addiction .........
Habit my arse, I've know lads who killed themselves over it and many more who lost homes and families from it.
13-10-2011, 00:00   #7
COH

Quote:

Your addicted to being a retard so why do you keep being one?
lol... quality
13-10-2011, 08:44   #8
Red Cortina

Have you tried contacting Gamblers Anonymous? http://www.gamblersanonymous.ie/cont...t_details.html

They are 'not allied with any sect, denomination, politics, organisation or institution; does not wish to engage in any controversy; neither endorses nor opposes any cause.'
13-10-2011, 09:27   #9
Satanta

To answer your original question that crowd dont look to be great TBH and does strike me as a cult. There are other Centres you could go to that would be of more help. The Rutland Centre in Dublin for example. Google them and give them a ring.
13-10-2011, 10:24   #10
Brian?

Send a message via MSN to Brian?
This is not the appropriate forum for mental health issues. I need to figure outif the appropriate forum does exist so I am locking this thread for now.
Thread Closed