Cost to move meter boxes. - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
14-01-2010, 13:00   #1
Rev. Kitchen
Registered User
 
Rev. Kitchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,040
Cost to move meter boxes.

Hi just wondering if anyone has had experience of this before. Im looking at an extension. Pretty simplejob just an extra 2 room to the side of an 2 story house. PRoblem is the side they want to build on has the ESB & Gas meter boxes. As well as the gas boiler (inside) but the vents all come out through the wall im concerened with.

Now i know that the ESB/Board Gass have to come out and move the boxes for you but any idea how much this will cost and how big a job it is or is it basically a simple enough task.
Rev. Kitchen is offline  
Advertisement
14-01-2010, 14:10   #2
knx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rev. Kitchen View Post
Hi just wondering if anyone has had experience of this before. Im looking at an extension. Pretty simplejob just an extra 2 room to the side of an 2 story house. PRoblem is the side they want to build on has the ESB & Gas meter boxes. As well as the gas boiler (inside) but the vents all come out through the wall im concerened with.

Now i know that the ESB/Board Gass have to come out and move the boxes for you but any idea how much this will cost and how big a job it is or is it basically a simple enough task.
Speaking as an electrical contractor I can tell you that you will have to get a registered contractor to move the meter cubicle and extend or replace the tails.You will also have to redirect the ducting leading to the existing cubicle. Then a cert is issued and then the the esb will come and relocate the meter only. Not the cubicle. Also you should make sure your earth rod is not going to be under the new extension or it will need to be relocated as well. Obviously the contractor will have to be paid and the esb will charge you as well. Not sure about the gas but I would imagine it is the same situation. You'll have to get a registered contractor who can certify the work.
A call to esb and bord gais will get the ball rolling for you and clarify all of this.
knx is offline  
14-01-2010, 17:01   #3
Rev. Kitchen
Registered User
 
Rev. Kitchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by knx View Post
Speaking as an electrical contractor I can tell you that you will have to get a registered contractor to move the meter cubicle and extend or replace the tails.You will also have to redirect the ducting leading to the existing cubicle. Then a cert is issued and then the the esb will come and relocate the meter only. Not the cubicle. Also you should make sure your earth rod is not going to be under the new extension or it will need to be relocated as well. Obviously the contractor will have to be paid and the esb will charge you as well. Not sure about the gas but I would imagine it is the same situation. You'll have to get a registered contractor who can certify the work.
A call to esb and bord gais will get the ball rolling for you and clarify all of this.

Cheers, I would be getting a proper contractor to do it all right i was looking for a ball park figure so i could factor it into and costings.
Rev. Kitchen is offline  
14-01-2010, 22:53   #4
knx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 125
Plumber and electrician will factor these into their prices though.
knx is offline  
05-09-2011, 18:42   #5
NickiRose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Hi Rev Kitchen. Just a quick question. Like you we are looking at building an extension on, similar to yours, end of house, where meter is situated and will need to be moved. Roughly how much did it cost you in the end?
Thanks, Nicki.
NickiRose is offline  
Advertisement
06-09-2011, 23:45   #6
whelzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 203
I had this done recently in D7 - got ESB box moved that is. It took the ESB about 10 weeks to complete - so get your "order" in asap. Their systems are the pits! Ring throiugh 0800 number "I need box moved, have cert, etc"... your put on system 1 - it sends you an invoice within 10 days. When recieved you need to send a POXY cheque to Galway, can't use a card - thats way too modern!! Cheque clears 5 days later and your now on system 2!! Eventually you get onto a worklist - system 3 and as far as I know there is no priority. I never figured out how you are meant to get to the top...During this process you'll make numerous calls and be on hold for hours being bounced around from dept to dept. During one of these calls I got the name of the head "worklist" chap. During another call I got his mobile number. I'd ring daily (we were quite pally on the phone - Howaya John, watch the match last night etc) I quite literally begged for my box to be moved - tbh I was close to offering him cash in hand for himself if it got done....got a call one Friday - we can do it on Monday at 10am. 2 lads turned up at 11am had it done in 45 mins..

At least I'm not bitter about the whole experience .

Cost was 350 odd - can find out for sure if required.

Last edited by whelzer; 06-09-2011 at 23:46. Reason: added cost
whelzer is offline  
07-09-2011, 22:30   #7
NickiRose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Thanks Whezler, love all the systems and lists they have in place, lol, doesn't surprise me one bit. What is it about this country and red tape, why can't anything be straight forward. Jeez, better stop before I turn bitter before I even get started!!!
NickiRose is offline  
08-09-2011, 00:15   #8
nager
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 128
Got my gas meter moved about a year or so ago, from inside uinder the stairs to otside on boundry wall. It cost €650 for reconnection by Bord Gas. The plumber has to run a new supply out to the relocated box, Board Gas simply connected a new pipe - about 200mm into recolated meter.
nager is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet