Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
01-09-2011, 21:24   #1
projectgtr
Registered User
 
projectgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,769
Product key but no Disk - windows 7

Hi guys just a quick question

I have a dell optiplex 780 that came with a windows 7 product key, i am awaiting a new HDD for it but when i receive it is it possible to re-install Win7? is it just as simple as downloading an iso and using the key, or i have a pre-launch copy that has been installed on my other pc is it possible to use this disk with my dells product key?

Thanks in advance
projectgtr is offline  
Advertisement
01-09-2011, 21:42   #2
JonathanAnon
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 27,071
Did you get CDs/DVDs with the computer.. That is the first place to start..
JonathanAnon is offline  
01-09-2011, 21:46   #3
vicM
Registered User
 
vicM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 298
Should be fine with an ISO, reinstalled my win7 severally with the original key,,
vicM is offline  
01-09-2011, 21:58   #4
projectgtr
Registered User
 
projectgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanAnon View Post
Did you get CDs/DVDs with the computer.. That is the first place to start..
No i did not, it was bought secondhand and came with no disks or Hdd

Quote:
Originally Posted by vicM View Post
Should be fine with an ISO, reinstalled my win7 severally with the original key,,
Would the ISO need to be win7 pro specific or would a normal ISO do the job
projectgtr is offline  
02-09-2011, 02:09   #5
Lazarus2.0
Adverts.ie Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,334
It would need to be a Dell OEM disc assuming the OS was preinstalled
Lazarus2.0 is offline  
Advertisement
02-09-2011, 02:14   #6
DjFlin
Registered User
 
DjFlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via Skype™ to DjFlin
I've a Dell Laptop. When I needed to reinstall Windows 7, I got the ISO from Microsoft. Its totally legal and safe. Just download whatever ISO matches your product key, burn/mount it, and enjoy.

http://techpp.com/2009/11/11/downloa...ownload-links/
DjFlin is online now  
02-09-2011, 15:05   #7
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjFlin View Post
I've a Dell Laptop. When I needed to reinstall Windows 7, I got the ISO from Microsoft. Its totally legal and safe. Just download whatever ISO matches your product key, burn/mount it, and enjoy.

http://techpp.com/2009/11/11/downloa...ownload-links/
I'm not sure if this still works, Dell editions of Windows 7 are OEM specific ones, they are capable of activating once they see the hardware they are installing onto.
I know Microsoft got stricter with activation as people with OEM editions of Windows 7 Home Premium were able to upgrade to ultimate using anytime Upgrade and using a legitimate but official OEM key,
Maybe this isn't a problem and it may work for OP but something to bear in mind

Nick
yoyo is offline  
02-09-2011, 17:12   #8
projectgtr
Registered User
 
projectgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,769
Thanks guys i just downloaded an iso from microsoft and i should be installing it tomorrow once i pick up a new HDD, a friend of mine used a Microsoft iso with his Dell key so fingers crossed it does the job, other wise ill have to go looking for a dell disk.
projectgtr is offline  
02-09-2011, 17:58   #9
DjFlin
Registered User
 
DjFlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via Skype™ to DjFlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
I'm not sure if this still works, Dell editions of Windows 7 are OEM specific ones, they are capable of activating once they see the hardware they are installing onto.
I know Microsoft got stricter with activation as people with OEM editions of Windows 7 Home Premium were able to upgrade to ultimate using anytime Upgrade and using a legitimate but official OEM key,
Maybe this isn't a problem and it may work for OP but something to bear in mind

Nick
I've got a Dell, and using the Microsoft ISO worked fine for me.
DjFlin is online now  
Advertisement
02-09-2011, 18:04   #10
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjFlin View Post
I've got a Dell, and using the Microsoft ISO worked fine for me.
Maybe their not as strict any more so . Strictly speaking Dell computers dont have to activate Windows, the Windows license is embedded inside the BIOs, but they must be allowing people to activate the old fashioned way without Dell media

Nick
yoyo is offline  
02-09-2011, 18:06   #11
DjFlin
Registered User
 
DjFlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via Skype™ to DjFlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
Maybe their not as strict any more so . Strictly speaking Dell computers dont have to activate Windows, the Windows license is embedded inside the BIOs, but they must be allowing people to activate the old fashioned way without Dell media

Nick
Mine may be a special case, I got my Laptop two months before Windows 7 launched, so I got a free copy of it once it did.
DjFlin is online now  
02-09-2011, 18:13   #12
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjFlin View Post
Mine may be a special case, I got my Laptop two months before Windows 7 launched, so I got a free copy of it once it did.
Actually your probably better off so, as if you got the Windows 7 upgrade you'll have a unique serial, it should work anyways if its worked for people previously. The serials printed on Dells licenses are not the official activation key for that machine, its more like a serial number.
If its doesn't activate over the net do it over the phone and explain to the microsoft customer care representitive, they should be accomodating regarding this issue

Nick
yoyo is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet